We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely shepherds hut with a great view!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Buxton, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DayTrip63...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely shepherds hut with a great view!”
Reviewed 10 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The hut was pretty, cosy and clean with beautiful views, perfect for our weekend getaway! We loved using the log fire and the hut had everything we needed. We would definitely recommend and would love to stay again in future! There is also lots to do within a short drive. Thanks Joanne! We didn't want to leave!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lkay73
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 10 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Had a peaceful perfect night away with everything we needed and more. Joanne was great and even left us a fab welcome pack. Couldn't believe a small space could be so well equiped. We wanted for nothing. Log burner was amazing. We were so warm and cosy in February. Definitely be going again...

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily R
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small and well equipped”
Reviewed 7 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. The shepherd's hut had everything you might need and the welcome hamper was a lovely touch. It snowed when we were there and Joanne made sure we had everything we needed. The log burner was very effective at keeping us toasty! All in all a lovely place to stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
therealde...
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing hideaway”
Reviewed 15 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and my partner visited here at the beginning of December. It was a beautiful night and we were amazed by the little touches the owner puts in the hut to welcome you. The log burner was well used and made the hut very cosy. Thank you and we will be returning

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collettee...
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very cosy, unique experience. Wouldn't hesitate to book again, thanks Joanne!”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Joanne was present upon arrival to show us everything and was a very warm and welcoming host. She gave us clear instructions on how to use everything and went above and beyond on every aspect, including leaving a little hamper with essentials like fresh eggs and bread. After that she showed us where her and her husband were staying if we needed anything and left us to settle in. She appeared very laid back and trusted us to lock up etc. upon departure and nothing seemed too much trouble.

The hut contained everything we needed and more including an electric hob, kettle, heater, and even hot water bottles which came handy as it was freezing during the night! The toilet and shower facilities were also absolutely spotless.

The location was ideal, as the surroundings were very peaceful yet close to Buxton Town Centre (about 10 mins approx.) I would say look hard for the sign on your way down as it’s quite faded. When you come to it (it’s hung on a tree next to a small building and some car parking spaces) make sure to bare right at the tree, as we went completely past it and struggled to turn around.

The hut itself was like a tardis! My partner is over 6 ft and he didn't have any problems during our stay. We are quite a young couple and thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are confident the hut is suitable for all ages. All in all, an amazing stay and even though it was raining we both slept amazing. Thanks for your hospitality, Joanne.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hut location and additional touches
Liked least: Outdoor toilet, which was expected.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing