We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“GENUINE CUSTOMER SERVICE from people who care”
other travellers have booked this property
The ideal location in the heart of the Peak District for friends and family to get  together.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The ideal location in the heart of the Peak District for friends and family to get  together.
The master bedroom with its imposing oak beams,romantically decorated for that special get away. Watch the sun setting  as it disappears over the stunning  Derbyshire countryside .
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
The ideal location in the heart of the Peak District for friends and family to get  together.
The master bedroom with its imposing oak beams,romantically decorated for that special get away.
Watch the sun setting  as it disappears over the stunning  Derbyshire countryside .
Relax in our inviting hot tub 'Go on you know you want too' Stay...Play...Enjoy..!
Relax on the decking with a glass of wine overlooking the ponds.
Stunning oak beams and exposed limestone walls.
Our second superb double bedroom.
Our third bedroom  has two twin beds which can be a king size on request
Relax on our luxurious leather sofas in front of a real fire
One of the Stunning views over Buxton and the surrounding countryside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Buxton, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Claudia L
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, shame about the owners treatment towards us.”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We went as a group of seven women in our twenties to celebrate our friends birthday.
The owner was accommodating enough to let us in 45 minutes early so we could set up banners and balloons etc for her.
The property itself is in a beautiful location, with parking enough for two cars.
The property was immaculate, very well looked after and you can tell that care has gone into it. We were provided with enough towels for each of us and then 4 extra for the hot tub as you can only have 4 people in at a time which meant we were reusing each others towels as we took turns.
The speaker set up doesnt work unfortunately but we managed to set our own up, it just meant the music didnt reach the hot tub outside.
The log burner is a lovely touch but we only had enough for one evening, there are shops only a 10 minute drive though if you want to go and buy more.
The only thing that let this property and weekend down was the owner.
She turned up without notifying us on the Sunday afternoon while we were cooking dinner and in the hot tub which felt intrusive. She came and tested the hot tub water although she'd already shown us how to clean it.
We felt as though if it were a family holiday she wouldnt have turned up unannounced. She also turned the heating off when she saw it was on during the day, it's the middle of February and we were cold a lot of the weekend so again, this made us feel uncomfortable.
When we left we also received a call accusing us of stealing towels, resulting in an argument with her. Which she later text to say she'd found. Again, I feel as though this would never happen if it had been a family holiday.
Overall, it's a lovely property, in a beautiful location but we wouldn't recommend it as being accused of stealing and being checked up on is offensive and intrusive.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Bailey Flatt Barn and the overall rating you gave us .
We can only apologise for you feeling aggrieved by the way you feel you were treated and can assure you this was not our intention.
With the property having the added benefit of the use of its own private hot tub this needs periodically monitoring with chemicals added to keep the water in pristine condition and to stop bacteria forming, these chemicals are toxic and harmful undiluted and need to be added in a measured dose this was the reason for our visit to the barn on Sunday and also a courtesy call to see if everything was satisfactory which every guest who stays with us receives and has never had any problem with. The tablet and chemical we ask to be added by our guests is already highly diluted and is only a daily water conditioner and not a cleaning agent there for if not checked the water would quickly deteriorate,after being given permission to enter to our barn to gain access to the store room. The heating being on constant this soon warms the barn to a comfortable temperature and with the bedroom window being open assuming this had been reached so returned it to timed.
The barn is provided with seven sets of towels for guest to use and four towels for use in the hot tub , some of which had been mislaid upon inquiring if any had accidentally been taken could they be returned.

Again we can only apologise if you feel aggrieved.

Regards Steve and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jemStockp...
Sunrise Beach, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“GENUINE CUSTOMER SERVICE from people who care”
Reviewed 18 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Due to bad weather in the USA and a missed flight, we could not see our December booking through but I HAD to get on here to share with anyone considering Bailey Flatt Barn just how glad I am that we found this place. The owners are very understanding and seemed to genuinely care about our plight! Now that we have rescheduled our trip I am looking forward EVEN MORE to experiencing this cottage. And I WILL review it fully once we do get there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WootyMcFa...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful property in a great location”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We booked Bailey Flatt Barn for my wife's 40th birthday. Sue met us on arrival and gave us a tour of the property and guided us through the use of the hot tub. The property itself is in immaculate condition and obviously very well looked after. Many of the features of the original barn are retained and are combined with a modern interior. The wood burning fires made for a very cosy night on a cold November evening.

Everything we needed for the 3 day stay was provided and the welcome pack is a really nice touch. We even received a text informing us of a local event taking place in Buxton that weekend.

The family really enjoyed the hot tub which was very clean and easy to use. My wife spent most of the weekend in there.

There are some nice local walks and we managed to find our first geocache during the weekend.

Overall we were really impressed and would definitely consider returning again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Real fires and hot tub
Liked least: Walk from the hot tub to the barn
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2013
Thank you for our first review
So glad you enjoyed your stay ,and look forward to meeting you or your friends in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing