We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wee gem”
other travellers have booked this property
First Floor Flat with Private Entrance nestled below Hay Castle walls
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
First Floor Flat with Private Entrance nestled below Hay Castle walls
Cosy Living Room with Double Sofa Bed Double Bedroom with Skylight
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
First Floor Flat with Private Entrance nestled below Hay Castle walls
Cosy Living Room with Double Sofa Bed
Double Bedroom with Skylight
Open Plan Kitchen / Living / Dining Room
Shower-Room, Basin and Toilet
Comments from our first Holiday Let.
Tan-Y-Mur is attached to the ancient Hay Castle walls.
Glasbury to Hay-on-Wye Canoe trip along the River Wye.
Llangorse Lake - A short drive away. A hidden gem for stargazing!
Llangorse Lake - A short drive away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hay-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Patricia...
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wee gem”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for three nights during the Festival and thoroughly enjoyed. We found it to be very comfortable, clean and cosy. A charming place. Great location...convenient to the town yet quiet. We had no problem with the parking (and that was when Hay is at its busiest) just across the road and the owner could not have been more helpful.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gillian D
North Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Weekend spoilt by poor communication from owner”
Reviewed 11 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We booked this property twelve months in advance as we wanted to be based in Hay during the festival. The nightly rates at this time are understandably significantly higher than at any other time of year. As our weekend approached I sent two messages to the owner, one asking about parking during the festival, the other advising that our two adult daughters were joining us.
Neither received a reply.
Eight days before arrival, we still had no contact from the owner - by this time I had requested additional contact details from TripAdvisor, but none of these elicited a response. I had an anxious sleepless night as we had begun to believe the rental was a sham. Of course we had lots of festival tickets and felt very let down.
Thankfully, I thought of messaging another reviewer and they gave us a different contact number which did get a response.
The arrival instructions we then received were fine, but we could have benefited if our question regarding parking had been answered.
All of this spoiled the anticipation of our holiday and could have been easily avoided if the owner had cared to respond to my messages and had sent joining instructions. For this reason I would not recommend the property. Oh, and my deposit was only refunded after I asked for it back - so watch out for that too.
This aside, it is a very good central location in Hay (with no noise other than the birds on the roof at dawn, which had a charm of its own) and is a compact property, very clean with everything as per the owner's photographs. The double bed was very comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Terrible customer service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2015
Firstly, I am glad the Apartment met your satisfaction. You are correct, as you had booked a year in advance our owner contact details had changed so we did not receive the communications from you until you had the additional ones. Once we did, we immediately answered all of your questions on numerous occasions which we assumed you were happy with until reading the review. Finally Tripadvisor/Holidaylettings now handle deposits and we did not realise that, as you booked so far in advance it was before they had implemented this system meaning we had to return the deposit. When we were made aware the full deposit was returned within 24 hours. Kind Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Sue C
1 review
“Compact and convenient”
Reviewed 16 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Close to town centre, but quiet. Had everything we needed. Warm and comfortable. Clean.
Easy access with key safe.
Main car park not clear about 24 hour parking; we didn`t realise our fee only ran until 8am the next day, so had parking fines of £25 each.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: convenient position
Liked least: having to use main car park
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$81
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing