We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect, restful comfortable and quiet”
other travellers have booked this property
A wood burner warms this spacious lounge which dates back to the 1550's
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A wood burner warms this spacious lounge which dates back to the 1550's
The super king-size bed sits centre stage in this light and airy master bedroom. Relax on the chaise lounge that folds out into a comfortable double bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
A wood burner warms this spacious lounge which dates back to the 1550's
The super king-size bed sits centre stage in this light and airy master bedroom.
Relax on the chaise lounge that folds out into a comfortable double bed
SIt and read or watch the world go by in our original sixties hanging chair.
The super king-size bed sits centre stage in this light and airy master bedroom.
Super deep three seat sofa will help you unwind.
Cook with local produce sourced from our local independent stores.
Light and airy, clean and well equipped kitchen retains an original cottage feel.
Attention to detail helps make your stay an interesting one.
Antique romantic cabinet over the stairs leading to the kitchen.
Cosy up in the winter months with our wood burning stove.
The cabinet contains essential oil bottles sourced in the local market.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hay-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
G3351EKte...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect, restful comfortable and quiet”
Reviewed 10 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

The Pavement Palace was the perfect place for a few restful and restorative days after a hectic few months. It's so quiet there! Whilst being right in the centre of everything in Hay....literally a few steps away from all the lovely bookshops and cafes.
The wonderfully comfortable bed deserves a special mention, haven't slept so well in ages!
Many thanks James.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie298
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The perfect place (palace) to stay in Hay”
Reviewed 22 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Booked by my sister as a birthday gift - we were so pleased. The owner, James, was great at communicating prior to our visit and during our stay checked on how we were coping with the snowy weather - much appreciated.
We loved the history of the apartment - the approach through the passageway, the beautiful Tudor sitting room. Each room is thoughtfully appointed with every convenience and decorated with taste and style. Importantly, we felt immediately comfortable - it was a real home from home. We loved being in such a central (yet peaceful) location.
Stating the obvious...a historical town like Hay was not built with cars in mind. The immediate town centre has some short stay parking bays and a small stay car park. After unloading, we moved our car to the main town car park, long stay, opposite the tourist information centre, £3.20 per day 8am - 6.00pm then free overnight. It's a short 5 minute walk away and was a better option for us (the riverside car park does not permit overnight parking).
In summary: a really wonderful apartment and unreservedly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayocum21
California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Picture Perfect”
Reviewed 30 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Everything you need and nothing you don’t. The pavement palace is what you’re looking for in the little town of Hay. It is perfectly located literally feet from the center of town. Lovely pubs, beautiful books, artisan wares and local markets... they’re all right here.
The apartment is perfect for two, and could accommodate a family of three as well. It is tastefully decorated, with modern amenities and a warm, rustic charm. A wood-burning stove and central heat, you’re well prepared for the cold nights. A comfy, if firm, king-sized bed with a 1/2 bath ensuite, as well as a full bath downstairs, ensures that you have convenient and complete access. There’s a nice television in the lounge, but we never needed it. Too many books and cups of tea to entertain us. Parking is a slight challenge, but easily solved. By far, one of the best accommodations we’ve ever enjoyed. It is picture perfect.
Winter visitors should note that many restaurants (and some shops) are closed on Sundays and Mondays (some are only open Thurs-Sat), and most close by 5pm. But if you plan well, you’ll find a must-visit town without a lot of tourists. It’s like a fairytale.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKLover
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect and Cosy for a winter break”
Reviewed 24 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Pavement Palace is a little gem tucked away down a little passageway in the centre of Hay-on-Wye. We stayed for 2 nights in December and fell totally in love with it. The owner, James, is a great host and very friendly and helpful.

The apartment is beautifully decorated and full of rustic charm. The huge sofa and woodburner are wonderful to come back to after spending hours in the many independent bookshops. We didn't want to leave.

For some good food, I recommend Tomatitos Tapas Bar, bus, friendly with delicious tapas.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Feb 2018
Thank you SKLover for your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonJH_C...
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely flat, ideally located”
Reviewed 7 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This beautiful flat retains charming period features whilst being sympathetically refurbished and modern in the ways that count. It's right in the centre of Hay-on-Wye and couldn't be more convenient for browsing the local shops and restaurants - always with the option of popping back for a rest or a cuppa!
My wife and I stayed for two nights mid-week and would definitely come again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2017
Thanks for kind review Jason
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing