We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house in beautiful countryside”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Glyn Farm Granary

The Granary
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Granary
Towards the Granary View from the sitting room and master bedroom.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
The Granary
Towards the Granary
View from the sitting room and master bedroom.
The sitting room
The kitchen
The master bedroom
The bathroom to the main bedroom
The attic bedroom
Attic Stairs
The terrace
The main house
Horses and Cattle at the Glyn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hay-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Frances B
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely house in beautiful countryside”
Reviewed 25 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A warm welcome, comfortable, spacious, well-maintained and pretty accommodation with superb views over the Welsh countryside - what's not to like? We had a lovely long weekend at Glyn Farm Granary and recommend it unreservedly.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view and the quiet
Liked least: It was all perfect
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B7973QLjo...
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lucky find.”
Reviewed 5 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Having been on many self-catering holidays in the UK over the past twenty years Glyn Farm stands out as a real gem. As well as being in a lovely and quiet location with stunning views, the accommodation was extremely clean and well equipped and excellent value for money. We found Peter and Tricia, the owners, to be extremely friendly and very helpful when our car battery failed just as we were about to start out on our journey back home! We would definitely book the Granary again should we return to Hay-on Wye. Our dog would certainly like us to because he just loved it there - especially the top field where he was able to run for all he was worth!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anthk497
Matlock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, peaceful but real "living" place”
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is "on the farm", but it's not noisy. Even the Rooster was very quiet, no sleep disturbance at all! The Family, and the dogs are very very friendly and good fun, we had some really nice chats.
The location is stunning, and the view from the living room is exceptional, and there is much to explore in the area, not just lovely Hay on Wye. And there is a Woodpecker family who visit the feeders next to the living room window.
I was part working, so the Wifi was essential, as it is for all our cottage choices.
The rooms are very comfortable and huge with loads of space for at least 4 people, and there are 3 bathrooms available over the 3 floors.
We had a lovely time, the only negative is that, although the owners really try and keep out of your way, and are lovely. It's not as private as maybe we would have liked.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet and relaxing place
Liked least: Lack of privacy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CandidSam
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The perfect getaway. I can't wait to go back to this idyllic cottage with breathtaking views.”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The design of this cottage takes full advantage of its stunning location, with its spectacular view of the Radnorshire hills. We spent a fun-filled week horse riding, walking, browsing books in Haye-on-Wye and enjoying the many local hostelries, before heading home to soak up that view. The hosts could not have been more welcoming or discreet. We can't wait to go back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobandMar...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent accommodation and a warm welcome”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We would definitely like to visit this property again. It was extremely well equipped and comfortable, and the owners did everything they could to make us welcome. The views from the cottage were spectacular and there was lots of excellent walking in the area. We would certainly recommend the property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet and the views from the picture windows over the countryside
Liked least: The cottage is at the end of a long, rough driveway
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing