We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Once in a lifetime fabulous family experience”
other traveller has booked this property
Rathellen House, Tipperary, IRELAND
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rathellen House, Tipperary, IRELAND
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Rathellen House, Tipperary, IRELAND
Rathellen House Front Hall.JPG
Rathellen House Front hall and dining room.JPG
Entrance Hall
Entrance Hall
Rathellan House drawing room (Small)
Drawing room
Drawing Room
Drawing Room
A Civil Wedding Ceremony at Rathellen House - the final preparations!
Rathellen House: Drawing room with fire place
Library
Library
Dining Room
Rathellen House Dining Room.JPG
Rathellen House Dining Room.JPG
Rathellen House Dining Room.JPG
Dining Room
Dining room
Master Bedroom with 6 foot Four Poster Bed
Master Bedroom with 6 foot Four Poster Bed
Rathellen House Bedroom 2 JPG
Bedroom 2.
The Entrance Hall mantle piece decorated for Halloween
Bedroom 2. 6 foot double bed or twin option.
Rathellen House Bedroom 3.JPG
Bedroom 5. Double Bedroom with Large Shower Ensuite
Bedroom 4. Double Bedroom with Antique French Bed and Large Shower ensuite
Rathellen House Kitchen JPG
Rathellen House Kitchen.JPG
Kitchen shelves
Kitchen pots
Kitchen pots and pans
Front door in the snow .JPG
Getting married at Rathellen House - the bride and groom in the Entrance Hall
Rathellen House
Rathellen House in the snowJPG
Front Door
Herb Garden at Rathellen House
Front Door
Ready for a walk?
Rathellen House Trifle!
Rathellen House Buffet
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Tipperary, County Tipperary

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Robert M
2 reviews
“Once in a lifetime fabulous family experience”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This house is more beautiful and impressive than pictures can capture. The 11, of us ranging in age from 14 to 72, had plenty of room to be together or be alone as we chose. Eammon made us a gourmet dinner one night, which was followed by entertainment in the living room by a talented Irish music group that Stella arranged for us. All of the accouterments deserve better than 5 stars, ie. beds, furniture, equiptment, decor, linens, dishes, etc. The rooms are large and wonderfully decorated. The kitchen is professional and equipped for a caterer. Stella and Eammon are wonderful! It is better than my review!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrietta...
Saint Helena, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful Week at Rathellen House”
Reviewed 10 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Rathellen House has all the charm and elegance of an old Georgian country house, but with new modern conveniences. We stayed at Rathellen House for a week and our stay was fantastic. We enjoyed every minute. The décor of the house with antique furniture is beautiful and the house was very clean. The house faces the beautiful Galtee Mountains, so the bedrooms have a view of the mountains. The commercial kitchen is well equipped with anything you may want, if your are planning on cooking any meals at home.
The bedrooms are very large and the ensuite bathroom in our room had a Jacuzzi tub, which was great upon arriving after the trip from Napa Valley, California. The big four poster bed was so comfortable.

The location is great! Centrally located in County Tipperary, we were able to do day trips to Waterford, Kilkenny, Cashel, Cahir and Limerick plus take scenic drives in the area of the Galtee Mountains. After exploring for the day, it was so wonderful to come back to the comfort of this elegant home.

The owners, Stella and Eamonn, live in a separate wing of the house, but were available for anything that we needed. They both were a pleasure to meet. They were very helpful in planning the rest of our trip around Ireland.

We hope to return to Ireland and to be able to stay at Rathellen House again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful home owned by lovely people”
Reviewed 27 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had an absolutely amazing weekend staying at Rathellen. We were there for a wedding at Kilshane house. The venue was only down the road so very convenient.
Stella and Eamonn are absolutely lovely. Nothing was too much trouble and they made us feel very welcome. The beds were really comfy and the rooms lovely and clean. We would recommend to anyone to stay here.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cjem
London
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A brilliant place to stay”
Reviewed 17 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We booked a week over Christmas for our family. In total there were 12 of us, 6 adults and 6 children ranging from 3 to 15 years old.

The house is set in large grounds on a very quiet road about 1 mile from the small town of Bansha and 10 miles from Tipperary. The house is huge, with 6 large double bedrooms all en suite, a large well equip kitchen and 3 large reception rooms, not to mention a stunning hall. All receptions have a large real fireplace - and most nights we ended up drinking round one of the fires. 2 of the bathrooms even had a jacuzzi.

The owners (Stella and Eamon) live in a separate wing of the house and were always there to help - they even cooked and served our Christmas dinner for a very modest fee. They have a large friendly dog, which my 5 year old daughter fell in love with.

Not only was the place spotless, but Stella and Eamon had decorated the downstairs for Christmas, including a large tree.

There are lots of local attractions to see, including mountains, forests, caves (http://www.mitchelstowncave.com/) and a stunning abbey ruins (http://irelandinruins.blogspot.co.uk/2011/06/athassel-abbey-co-tipperary.html).

It is quite rare that you see somewhere so stunning online - and when you get there it is even better. I cannot recommend this place enough - ideal for large / extended families or large groups.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSBelle
Shawnee Mission, KS
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Comfortable, elegant, welcoming hosts in a great central location”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in October 2014

Traveling in a large group requires special housing. The SIX en-suite bedrooms were well furnished, the beds comfortable and the shower pressure was outstanding. The hosts live in a separate wing of the manor so were easily reachable. As the cold air was reaching county Tipperary in October, Stella graciously had a fire in the dining room fireplace waiting for us on those chilly evenings. The kitchen had all the equipment we required (Eamonn is a professional chef) and plenty of dishes, glassware, refrigerator space. Microwave and dishwasher are there, too. And free laundry facilities.
The location is great - located in the country about a 10 minute drive to Tipperary for the large grocery stores but a smaller, convenience type store can be found 5 minutes away. We were about two hours from Dublin, one from Kilkenny, 20 minutes from the Rock of Cashel, a little over an hour each from both Cork and Waterford.
Our hosts offered touring advice for both long trips and local drives in the nearby mountains.
Besides our upstairs bedrooms, downstairs there are several living spaces so we had plenty of room. One of the best assets is a dining room table that could seat all of our group (there are more tables in the dining room, should you have yet a larger party) for our frequent family style dinners while we heard the various events of the day.
When not hosting groups such as ours, I believe that they offer the manor for events such as weddings.
I would return to this lovely home in the beautiful countryside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and furnishings
Liked least: driving in Ireland (not the hosts' fault though!) Nerve wracking narrow country lanes. Fortunately the property wasn't too far from wider roads.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$879
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing