We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic, gorgeous place of tranquility, pure...”
Meikle Logie Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Meikle Logie Cottage
Open plan living area Balcony with stunning views over Strathbraan
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Meikle Logie Cottage
Open plan living area
Balcony with stunning views over Strathbraan
Master bedroom with Kingsize bed
Kitchen aspect
View from Balcony, facing south west over Strathbraan
Front of cottage overlooking garden
Brilliant sunshine in May 2012
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
365Ruthie
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A fantastic, gorgeous place of tranquility, pure bliss....”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

A beautifully converted steading, with the most thoughtful calming decor throughout. Meikle Logie has the most amazing views over the countryside in a peaceful location. Super walks to Dunkeld (about 4 miles) along the riverside. The perfect place to chillout or for a family holiday. We even had homemade scones waiting for us, and a bottle of Rose wine in the fridge upon our arrival...fabulous!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
186337Joh...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very seclude location”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

An excellent property converted sympathetically with the rest of the area. Good walks around the area and plenty of wildlife. The property was very warm and comfortable and ideal for a peaceful break or as a base for exploring further.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and high standard of facilities etc. Welcome bottle of wine and cake on arrival
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lbw1
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Super cottage in an ideal location”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

The cottage is located a couple of miles from Dunkeld in a lovely, peaceful location. We particularly enjoyed seeing the red squirrels and woodpeckers on the birdfeeders from the living room window. There are numerous walks direct from the cottage and Rumbling Bridge and the Hermitage are only a short distance away on foot. Fishing on the Newtyle beats is also good and can easily be arranged via Fishpal. The cottage was also extremely cosy, modern and spotlessly clean. The owners are extremely friendly and made us a wonderful pear and almond tart. Our dog Brodie had a great time and celebrated her 8th birthday during our visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and tranquility
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison A
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful house, beautiful location”
Reviewed 25 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this charming steading conversion near Dunkeld. As three tired Mums wanting some rest and relaxation it was the perfect rural retreat, with gentle hill and forest walks on the doorstep, warm and welcoming accommodation (a bottle of wine and some delicious cake in the fridge) and very comfy beds! At night we sat on the balcony with our wine and watched shooting stars across the night sky. We will definitely return and wouldn't hesitate to recommend Meikle Logie Cottage to our friends and family. And next time, we'll try out some of the very tempting food on offer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and house
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalvernTr...
Malvern, England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Idyllic rural retreat with welcoming hosts”
Reviewed 11 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

My wife and I, along with our two children (aged 17 and 11) had a lovely time at Meikle Logie.

The owners, Tiffy and Colin, live in the adjoining cottage and are lovely and welcoming. They offer lots of advice but also go to great lengths to make sure that you feel like it’s your place.

We loved the fact that we were able to “share” Tiffy and Colin’s animal menagerie – chickens, dog and cat. Our youngest also had fun playing with Tiffy and Colin’s youngest daughter.

Meikle Logie was originally a barn but it has been sensitively converted to provide a contemporary level of comfort but with traditional touches. The barn is spotlessly clean and well equipped. We really liked the open plan living, dining and kitchen areas as they created a very convivial atmosphere.

For times when one of us wanted more peace and quiet, there was a lovely upstairs attic space. This was a great hit with our children. It acted as a quiet place to read for our 17 year old and a place for our 11 year old to sort out the various gem stones collected during gold panning sessions at the Highland Safari Centre in Dull (twinned with Boring, USA by the way!). There is also a telescope to observe the stars.

The approach to the barn is great – you travel up a single track road. When we used the road there would invariably be a number of pheasants nonchalantly strolling on the road. In the early morning they were joined by rabbits.

Although the cottage is definitely rural it’s only about 10 minutes into Dunkeld by car and if you are up for a walk, there’s a signed footpath to the town. It’s also easy to get to Aberfeldy.

There is a good amount of play equipment in the garden. Our youngest enjoyed bouncing on the trampoline and the zipwire was a particular hit. Whilst staying we were also lucky enough to have access to a games room which has a table tennis table amongst other things.

We stayed during an almost 100% dry 2 weeks in August (no, really!) so we didn't light the wood burner. However it looks great in the room and I’m sure it would make the place lovely and cosy.
I’m sure anyone booking Meikle Logie would be ‘over the moon’ with what it offers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Great mix of old and new
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing