We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Fabulous”
other travellers have booked this property
Ruskin Lodge, surrounded by nature
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ruskin Lodge, surrounded by nature
New (2018) kitchen with induction hob, steam oven, dishwasher and quality pots, pans and utensils. Living room with new leather sofas, large TV, stove-style electric heater and picture frame windows.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Ruskin Lodge, surrounded by nature
New (2018) kitchen with induction hob, steam oven, dishwasher and quality pots, pans and utensils.
Living room with new leather sofas, large TV, stove-style electric heater and picture frame windows.
Bedroom 1: Master bedroom with king-sized bed, wardrobe, chest of drawers & wash hand basin.
Bedroom 2: With king-sized bed, wardrobe & chest of drawers.
Bedroom 3: Can be made into a twin, double or study. Wardrobe, chest of drawers, bunting optional!
The kitchen has an alcove dining area suitable for 6.
View from the kitchen.
Bathroom with bath, electric shower & super-soft hotel quality towels.
Covered and gated veranda to take in the surroundings
Big enough for 6, cosy enough for 2!
Red squirrels are regular visitors to the veranda - so long as there are some nuts out!
There is plenty of space to play.
Your pinic spot in front of the lodge.
The Holy Loch is just 5 minutes drive away
Boats on the Holy Loch
Argyll Forest surrounds you
View towards the lodge from Benmore Botanic Gardens
Ruskin Lodge is an idyllic escape
A nice spot to rest your head!
Fishing in Argyll - Picture Credit : Paul Tomkins / VisitScotland
Nature is everywhere!
Local seafood! Seafood platter by Ben Brown via Flickr
Glen Massan is just a 10 minute drive away.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Alastair1...
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous”
Reviewed 6 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Having looked for a lodge over several weeks we couldn't believe how lucky we were with Ruskin Lodge. The lodge is spotless and well equipped with everything you need for a relaxing and very comfortable stay. The internet was great too which is always an added bonus. The lodge was in an excellent location making wonderful base to springboard to adventures every day. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything........it is a fantastic package
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review our lodge! I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and felt it was comfortable and relaxing: exactly what holidays should be about. I do hope we see you again so for another break.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R
1 review
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Comfortable cabin,everything you would need for a weeks stay even electric blankets for the cool evenings.

Around the cabin excellent walks and drives with breathtaking scenary, would not hesitate to recommend this cabin for a break.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2015
What a lovely review and I'm delighted you got to explore the area. Autumn is spectacular and the local walks really showcase the trees and wildlife of Argyll. Thank you for taking the time to review the lodge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
47mrso
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wish we could have stayed longer.”
Reviewed 8 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We spend a delightful weekend at Ruskin Lodge. Red squirrels appeared within ten minutes of our arrival! The lodge is comfy, clean and cosy - the towels are better than the ones we have at home. Wonderful walking/running straight from the front door to Puck's Glen, Benmore and Kilmun arboretum. A short drive takes you to lovely Loch Eck. We picked brambles, marvelled at the fabulous trees and wished we could have stayed longer.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review and I'm delighted you got to see some of the special local wildlife! The lodge is in a great location and it sounds like you made the most of the area - come back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matalaman
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Log cabin near Benmore botanic gardens.”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Superb log cabin in a quiet location within walking distance of Benmore botanic gardens (BIG trees) and Puck's Glen, an excellent walk not to be attempted in flip-flops! Capable of sleeping six in two doubles and a twin bedroom, I think that it would be a bit tight for six (especially if all adults). One shower/ bathroom might cause a hold up as everyone performed their ablutions in the morning. It was, however, excellent for a smaller group. An outdoor picnic table is available as is a plastic dining table on the veranda. However, dining indoors for six would be a cozy affair. Electricity is not included in the initial price so budget around £6 per day. Books, games and DVD's are available but, if you want a particular film, take it with you. I intend to return in order to visit Benmore in the spring when the rhododendrons are in flower. I am 62 and fairly fit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed.
Liked least: The bathroom ... but it was fine for a smaller group.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review the lodge and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and your visits to Benmore gardens and Puck's Glen in particular. I look forwards to welcoming you back in spring time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J0hn_C713
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best holiday in ages”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

absolutely fantastic, beautiful lodge ,stunning location, great for touring the Cowal peninsula. need a car to get around but the driving is that beautiful you forget your driving. we travelled as far as Oban and as short as Dunoon, the whole Scotland experience was amazing. we will be definitely returning, can't thank the owners enough Fantastic.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review - delighted you had a good holiday and got to explore the area so thoroughly!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing