We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Easter escape”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Benmore Byre

Beautiful mountain views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful mountain views
Living area Modern kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Beautiful mountain views
Living area
Modern kitchen
Open dining room
Luxury family room
Luxury double bedroom
Relax on your own deck with wiine and cheese
Luxury modern bathroom
Stunning views from the deck
Dunoon village nearby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RJMckay
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Easter escape”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

A big Thank you to the owners of Benmore Byre - Kayren & Neil for making our short break to their beautiful barn conversion so enjoyable!

We travelled to Scotland for a family escape over the Easter holiday's. Upon arrival at the barn after a very long journey we were greeted by Kayren who welcomed us & upgraded our stay to the larger barn, this was a very kind gesture & a lovely surprise!

Kayren briefly explained where things were located & how to operate the heating etc, all of which is detailed in a welcome pack upon arrival.

The facilities @ the Benmore Byre are fantastic, lots of space & home comforts! Neil has done an amazing job with the conversion of the barn whilst still keeping its original authentic feel. All areas are extremely clean & maintained to a very high standard, there's lots of fresh towels & clean linen!

The property is located amongst Kayren & Neil's working farm, so you instantly feel part of their spectacular countryside, surrounded by dramatic scenery. The location is easily accessible to many beautiful places whether exploring on foot or travelling further afield! There is a lovely decking area at the front of the barn where you can sit in the peace & tranquility observing all the seasons in one day pass by! The night sky is so clear, great for star gazing!

Kayren kindly delivered fresh farm eggs, which were delicious & enjoyed by all, again a lovely touch! The farm is very relaxed, suitable for all ages & we highly recommend it to everyone!

Congratulations Kayren & Neil upon your achievements to date & wishing you continued success! We're already looking forward to our next visit ......... Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2016
""Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Benmore Byre and the wonderful location. We look forward to you visiting again soon. Kind regards Argyll Self Catering Holidays on behalf of the owners.""
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ange4810
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“lovely hidden retreat - 5*”
Reviewed 24 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Excellent little holiday home with all the comforts you would expect, tastefully decorated in excellent high quality fittings in the most amazing location with great views, wildlife, farm animals right on your doorstep - lovely part of the world lots to do hope to be back one day - highly recommend 5*

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and location
Liked least: No scissors lol and the dressing table had a chair that you couldn't see in the mirror due to being too small
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2016
""Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Benmore Byre and the wonderful location. We look forward to you visiting again soon. Kind regards Argyll Self Catering Holidays on behalf of the owners.""
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rooster25...
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 16 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
4
people found this review helpful

What a hidden gem, a converted byre, done in very good taste, to a very high standard.
This little gem is in the middle of nowhere. It is on a working farm, but remains quiet.
It has everything you need, including stunning views.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2016
"Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Benmore Byre and the wonderful location. We look forward to you visiting again soon. Kind regards Argyll Self Catering Holidays on behalf of the owners."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Bernmore Byre is an excellent cottage we have stayed with the family for a week.It was absolutely amazing!!!The cottage itself is spacious, very clean, warm and got everything you need.It is located on the farm with absolutely amazing views and lots to explore, next to spectacular botanic gardens, beautiful lake surrounded by mountains. Amazing!!! The owners are fantastic, friendly and very helpful people who will advise you of what is the best to see while staying in the area. We would like to highly recommend this place as we are sure everyone will have the best holiday ever just as we had!!! deffinately a place worth to come back to!!! Thank you Kayren & Neil for such a warm welcoming

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2015
Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Benmore Byre Cottage. We look forward to you visiting again soon.
Kind regards
Chrissie and Iain... Argyll Self Catering Holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlennGlen...
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A true place of relaxation in scenic surrounds”
Reviewed 31 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Well we were here for Christmas Day 2014. What a fabulous place! So good we've booked again this year.
Set in a beautiful location as you travel up a private road through the amazing Botanical gardens.

We stayed in the Byre. It was clean and spacious and a type of property we have always dreamed of building. With authentic windows and solid wood flooring it is a credit to the ever so friendly ownders that cant do enough for you.
Open the double doors to the decking area where you have a different view every morning. Truly beautiful views over the hills and even better when it rains as you can watch the clouds for ever...Christmas is a fab time as you can see the snow, smell the pure air and light the modern log fire whilst having a tipple!
Kayren thank you for making us so welcome...

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2015
Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Benmore Byre. We look forward to you visiting again soon.
Kind regards
Chrissie and Iain... Argyll Self Catering Holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing