We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
62
54
18
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
54
18
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free tea and coffee hot drinks ironing equipment lift working car park next to the hotel a city centre hotel cooked english breakfast usb ports single room breakfast included late night arrival friendly receptionist lobby area bargain price budget hotel close to the train station large tv
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

I was looking for a quick overnight stay near the airport and thought this would suffice. The room was small but clean and in reasonable condition, but there is no air con and the window only opened an inch. It felt like a tomb. Further, the walls are so thin I could hear the guy next store snoring and all the racket in the hallway sounded like it was next to my head. The drunks singing in the streets once the bar closed added to a night of misery. The hotel pics are slightly misleading; this is an older building with an attempt at a modern retrofit, which could be best described as putting lipstick on a pig. It is also a 14 minute drive from the airport, certainly not an easy walk if you attempted it. I wouldn’t return.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank JJVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistleexpress, General Manager at Thistle Express Luton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Hi,

Thank you taking time to provide us with feedback.
Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay
I believe you booked one of our single room, which are small in size and recommend that need bit more space please book double room.
We never advertise aircon on our website,as our hotel room do not have one. I take our guest feedback seriously and will take necessary action.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

Booked a weeks stay here beginning on Sunday 8th July, but ended up cancelling within 5 minsutes of waking in the room! Was offered room 609.
You can get a premier inn for a much cheaper price and it’s a better hotel!

I booked via ebookers which were very helpful in allowing me to cancel and not charge me 2 nights stay for cancelling.

The bathroom is disgusting!, the toilet is positioned for a person without a right leg or a right arm!

There was no hot water for 15 minutes in the morning and there was no water pressure!

Air conditioning was not working and the the window just opened a few centimetres.
No tea or coffee in the room, you have to go downstairs.

Not the easiest of hotels to find! Difficult to find and only a few car parking spaces.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank mintysingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistleexpress, General Manager at Thistle Express Luton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at our hotel. At the Thistle Express Luton we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a comfortable environment and I do apologise if on this occasion we failed to provide this.

We take all complaints and comments extremely seriously, and endeavour to rectify any issues in order to provide our customers with complete satisfaction.

We would welcome your feedback in greater detail so that we can understand the exact nature of your dissatisfaction with your guest room.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

Very basic hotel, but not with the same price tag. Didn't have much choice when booking a hotel for the evening due to a big event nearby, and ended up with overpriced Thistle Hotel.
Terrible parking, only 20 spaces (which it does tell you to be fair), but when you are coming up the road and telephone them to ask if they have any space - get told no - park in the very unsecure car park next to the clubs (for £8.50 per night), only to find that there is a space, but they didn't bother to look as thought it would be full!

Room very basic, no tea or coffee, you have to go to reception to make that. Room was in poor state, bathroom shelf was broken, no lock, tiles broken. No air conditioning in the rooms and window only opens about a 1cm, so if it's hot you will definitely feel it. Generally poor.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SFZ71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistleexpress, General Manager at Thistle Express Luton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at our hotel. At the Thistle Express Luton we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a comfortable environment and I do apologise if on this occasion we failed to provide this.

We take all complaints and comments extremely seriously, and endeavour to rectify any issues in order to provide our customers with complete satisfaction.
We have mentioned on all our website that we do not have Aircon in our room and about limited parking space.
We offer unlimited hot drink,our coffee is fresh brew, which is an additional benefit, however it only available at the Lobby.
Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused, and please do drop me a line should you wish to discuss further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

The worst hotel I ve ever stayed. Went in May for 3 days/ 2 nights (bank holiday). The hygiene was poor and the customer service completely unacceptable. The hotel was overbooked, the whole night people from other rooms (was there a group of people) were yelling and banging the doors, running through the corridors. Called more than three times at reception and finally went there because nobody answered. The guy at reception told me that can do nothing and to be patient. Next day, and the last one finally, I spoke with the manager, said sorry but couldn’t manage the hotel. Said than will give us refund the half of the money that we paid but 2 months later we still waiting... never go back again.

Date of stay: May 2018
1  Thank Ms_Elen_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistleexpress, General Manager at Thistle Express Luton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at our hotel. At the Thistle Express Luton we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a comfortable environment and I do apologise if on this occasion we failed to provide this.

We take all complaints and comments extremely seriously, and endeavour to rectify any issues in order to provide our customers with complete satisfaction.

We would welcome your feedback in greater detail so that we can understand the exact nature of your dissatisfaction with your guest room.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

Sorry thistle, but very basic and not that cheap for what you get. No atmosphere in the ‘bar’ if you can call it that. Small bottle of water £1. Says it all.

No tea or coffee making facilities in room, only reception area. Not great when a hundred steps up on the sixth floor. Air conditioning useless also, crucial in thirty degrees heat. Had three rooms and they were all the same.

They only take card payments. It appears that cash is no longer king, not here anyway!

All in all, won’t be returning, even if unfortunate enough to be in Luton again.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Daveboy1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistleexpress, General Manager at Thistle Express Luton, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2018

Hi,

Thank you for taking time ti provide us with feedback.
Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience you have faced during your stay.

We as a hotel do not advertise aircon in the room, as we do not provide one.
We do provide fan, which are on request.
All our beverages are in line with market pricing.
We offer all type of hot drink (Hot chocolate/ cappuccino/Latte/espresso/ coffee & Tea) complimentary.
We ensure that all our website clearly mentions that we do not take cash, so that guest do not face any problem at the time of check in.
We also offer complimentary full English breakfast.
Hope you will change our mind.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews