We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Even better than anticipated”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of River Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Scarborough, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DeeGeeEmm
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Even better than anticipated”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

River Cottage is a perfect location for a family celebration such as ours. Very comfortable in all rooms and extremely well equipped. As such the effort that goes into a self catering celebration is made so much easier. The open plan downstairs area is lovely leading into a large garden and private patio area. The BBQ as pictured is superb.

Secure and ample parking; tolerant too of a pet dog.

We would have no qualms about recommending River Cottage for accommodation at any time of the year. Andrew and Tracey who own the cottage are welcoming and helpful all adding to a great stay.

Only caveat would be if you want night life and convenient bright lights, while Scarborough is not far away there is nothing in East Ayton other than the pub and what appears to be a lovely fish restaurant.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley C
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb, perfect for our Care Home residents!”
Reviewed 6 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Stunning location and spacious.
holiday of a lifetime for our care home residents.
made to feel very welcome.
Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: spacious, lovely grounds
Liked least: could be better lighting at night particularly en route to patio area
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise B
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a lovely long weekend at River Cottage. The house was wonderful - spacious, well presented, excellent condition and more than enough space to accommodate our family. The owners were very welcoming, and the welcome pack was gratefully appreciated and not expected for such a short break. The weather was nice, and managed to explore a few of the local attractions. Our little girl loved watching the chickens and trying to spot a fish or two in the river. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy H
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“EXCELLENT STAY IN A BEAUTIFUL WELL EQUIPPED COTTAGE”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have just stayed for a week in this delightful 4 bedroomed cottage. The owners had left us a baggette loaf, butter and a bottle of wine for our arrival. A nice touch that was greatly appreciated. Its the little extras like this that made this a perfect place to stay.
Location was perfect, in the countryside but within 10 minutes drive into Scarborough so a relaxing week was had by all.
The cottage was four bedroomed (one bedroom downstairs for use by our disabled mum) and with a lovely kitchen and living area. Outside we frequently made use of the outdoor BBQ due to an exceptionally hot week of sunny weather.
I can not fault our stay here and will certainly recommend to friends and family.
A big thank you to our hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phill C
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Just back from a week long break in this fantastic cottage. Very quiet and peaceful location yet we found it to be the perfect base for trips to York, Flamingo Land and the coastline.
The garden is a wonderful place to relax on a sunny evening and the cottage is very well equipped and comfortable. For added convenience a petrol station / off licence, pub, chip shop and fish restaurant are just a short and pleasant walk from the cottage.
Highly recommended!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing