We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A really nice cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Rear Elevation
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rear Elevation
Front Elevation Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Rear Elevation
Front Elevation
Living Room
Kitchen/Living Room
Kitchen.
Dining room.
Sitting room.
Double bedroom.
Twin bedroom.
Approaching the house from Ballater.
Salmon leaping at the Falls of Feugh, Banchory.
Walks for ALL the family !
Burn O'Vat, Muir of Dinnet Nature Reserve.
Harry Potter's steam train over Glenfinnan Viaduct.
Spectacular Dunnottar Castle, Stonehaven.
Pretty Stonehaven harbour.
Balmoral Castle.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ballater, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Holly043L...
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A really nice cottage”
Reviewed 24 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here February half term. The cottage is very nice, super clean, warm and comfortable. We had a brilliant week. We came mainly to ski at Glenshee which is fantastic but found that we loved Ballater - there are lots of nice walks nearby, including a great off road path into town - bike hire which is brilliant value, great shops and cafes. Such a nice place. The arrangements for getting in and leaving were easy and smooth. Would stay here again. If I was going to suggest one improvement I'd say a better sofa in the kitchen living area would be nice.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2015
We are very pleased that you had a good time and enjoyed Ballater.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanandPa...
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Perfect Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed 11 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

All these really good reviews and we wont have any space to book further weeks!! (Me being selfish). We have stayed in cottages on the Western side of the Scottish Highlands and in the Aviemore and Braemar area over the last 10 years or so but this one easily out does them all. Right from the booking stage both Gavin and Sue the owners were superb in their communication and we were very lucky to get an extra few days over the original week booked. The owners themselves greeted us on our arrival and showed us round what can only be described as a cottage of two halves, firstly we had the new extension which had been added which allowed for wonderful views with ceiling to floor windows/doors, good size TV, great kitchen with kitchen bar and every appliance and supplies you would expect in a good kitchen. Plentiful seating area with low ceiling , bathroom and welcoming hallway. The when had the 2nd half which was the original part of the cottage with a nice big dining area, hallway and cosy living room with an extremely effective log fire (logs provided).

Upstairs was spacious with a double bedroom and twin bedroom, well decorated,clean and very homely ..both with a fantastic view of the River Dee and wonderful pine tree countryside beyond. Bathroom with walk in shower was well presented, the shower was fantastic!

As I stated at the start, this was the best cottage we have frequented in Scotland with owners who clearly know how a true holiday cottage should be presented, full marks to them for their vision ..if you are lucky enough to stay there..treat as they do...like their home!! We look forward to visiting Aberdeen cottage again in the Autumn.

Thank you Gavin & Sue for an absolutely wonderful (snowy) week

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Going Home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words. It was indeed a pleasure to meet you too. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the cottage. We look forward to hearing from you with your dates for your next holiday. Gavin and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeenHiker...
Bath
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
“Faultless. Recommended without hesitation.”
Reviewed 24 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The short story is that I loved staying at this cottage and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a holiday cottage near Ballater.
The longer story is that I have been to Ballater many times over the past few years and really good quality holiday homes near to Ballater are hard to find. This cottage has it all - it is large and spacious, very well equiped, has plenty of parking, great views, is within 5 minutes of central Ballater, yet in attractive countryside, and is perfectly clean and tidy. I can't think of anything that I did not like. I suspect that at the moment this is the best holiday cottage available within easy driving distance of Ballater. The owners were very helpful and informative, and the key pick-up etc was very easy indeed. The new extension is exceptionally well-done and provides lots of light, yet cosy space. Actually I wouldn't mind being there now! I especially liked the river view.
I can also highly recommend Ballater and the immediate region. It is the most beautiful part of Scotland that I have ever visited. The stretch of the Dee and the nearby Glens are wonderful. And Balmoral is just down the road. Ballater now has a number of very nice restaurants and a charming little high street.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very large and spacious.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2014
Wow ! Thanks for a fantastic review ! We can't think of anything else to say other than " come back again " !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona P
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Aberdeen Cottage was a delight. Very comfortable and the new extension really opens it up into a bright big kitchen/living area with a lovely view. Ideal location. Very picturesque from both sides of the house. Lots to see and do in the area. We look forward to another visit some time in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bright open homely feel of the cottage.
Liked least: Double bed. We are used to a King size. Just nit picking now.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2014
So pleased you liked it and enjoyed your stay - we look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milliesmu...
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Superb first class cottage..absolutely Perfect!!!!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Our stay at Aberdeen cottage exceeded our expectations, beautiful immaculate holiday home with everything we could possibly wish for. Gavin & Sue were excellent from the get go and made the booking so pleasant with great communications. I would not hesitate to rec'mend this gorgeous house to anyone. The large fenced garden had the most spectacular views and I spent most of my mornings sat outside taking in the scenery. The cottage is located close to the village but with the feeling of complete privacy. Gavin & Sue thought of everything right down to a little welcome pack which was such a nice touch. My only regret is that we had to leave....I can say in all honesty this was one of the nicest relaxing holidays I have ever had..Thank you so much Gavin & Sue.xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I totally loved everything about the cottage...beautiful
Liked least: Having to come home!!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the cottage and had a lovely holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing