We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our 3rd visit - great time had by humans and...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Orchard Farm Lodge

Spacious 4 bedroom, 4 * holiday home with private secure parking and electric gates.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious 4 bedroom, 4 * holiday home with private secure parking and electric gates.
Large familly bathroom, free standing bath, walk in shower, wood floor with period features Master bedroom with en-suit and walk in wardrobe, queen size bed, Egyptian cotton, antique furniture
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Spacious 4 bedroom, 4 * holiday home with private secure parking and electric gates.
Large familly bathroom, free standing bath, walk in shower, wood floor with period features
Master bedroom with en-suit and walk in wardrobe, queen size bed, Egyptian cotton, antique furniture
Large kitchen diner, oak cupboards with quality leather corner sofa.
Seperate dining room with seating for 8, great for Christmas!
Double room with fitted wardrobes and sink+occasional sofa bed
Twin single room, views towards Lincolnshire Wolds
Belfast sinks and decorative Aga
Luxury leather seating for 9, wooden floor, 42'' T.V, DVD, cosy wood burning stove with oa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Skegness, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Annie P
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Our 3rd visit - great time had by humans and horses”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Have just come back off our 3rd holiday with Jamie.

The house is great for the group of us who stay. We walk in now and the house feels like our own home. This year we had a problem with the hob, but I went and found Mick who came straight away to fix it. The house is always clean, warm and the welcome pack from Abby and Joyce is always a highlight as we walk in. We do tend to live in the kitchen area rather than use the living room. The only issue we have every year is when are we all going to have a soak in the amazing bath, which after a ride on the beach is most welcome.

Jamie and everyone on the yard are so helpful. This year we had a couple of horses with lost shoes and Jamie arranged for his fairer, who was visiting, to put new shoes on so we could enjoy the rest of the holiday. In a previous year we had a problem with a flat tyre on our 7.5 tonne lorry as we were about to go home and Mick was so amazing in helping us getting it fixed, including popping off to his neighbour to get a part that we were missing.

The riding around the green lanes and the beach are great, lots of opportunities for nice canters. The best part of that beach is that even when its high tide you can still ride on the sand. The indoor and outdoor schools can be used too (when Jamie isn't using them) if you want a change from hacking out.

Hints if bringing your horses:
1) to get to the beach don't go down the main road (although you can with no problem) , turn off at Maiden lane. Also note although you ride on the roads through the village everyone is used to horses and are polite and will slow down as they pass you. See Mick for this route to ride to get to the beach.
2) if you get onto the beach at Chapel Point, turn right and ride towards Chapel and there is a "ship" on the beach who will serve drinks in plastic glasses if you need a refreshment before heading back.

We can't wait to stay next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large bath in the main bathroom
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henry312
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A large, clean house in a pleasant village and near great beaches”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I agree with the earlier reviews on this house. There are some minor niggles but they are easily outweighed by the lovely house. We never managed to meet Jamie the owner and the following comments are partly to help him make some minor improvements.
The door to the lounge was sticking badly and needed a very hard thump by the door handle to open. The ornaments at the front of the house were attractive but did make parking more than two cars difficult. However, with care, we did park 4 large cars.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2015
Thanks so much for your review, it's very kind of you. Abby and i are so pleased you like the house. All the best, Jamie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsMakewe...
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“lovely house, great location”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We (4 adults + 3 kids) stayed for 3 nights (sat - Tues) in February. The house is large with gated access. The kitchen was large with breakfast bar and corner sofa. The dining room large. Conservatory was too cold for us as during winter but would be lovely if you are staying in the summer months. Living room was cosy with wood burner which we used - logs and firelighters available from local garage. Upstairs the bedrooms were well turned out. Towels and bedding all clean and fresh. Only a few minor maintenance issues stopped this house getting 5 stars. Dishwasher although not listed as feature in description could be fixed and a great asset as I found we were constantly washing up as we ate in rather than go out. The shower flow in cubicles was fast meaning the shower tray filling with water - we were a bit worried we might flood the place! But it was fine. The toilet flush in the family bathroom was crazy so make sure you put the lid down before flushing or you'll get an avalanche of water! The dado rail up the stairs had come away slightly so needs fixing back but didn't affect our stay. The drive could do with less orniments which would give more space for parking. And we would have liked WiFi to stream entertainment on the iPads.
The welcome pack of milk, tea,coffee, etc plus fruit basket and wine was a nice unexpected touch and appreciated after a long drive. Hand wash by each sink too.
All in all an excellent base for anyone wanting to go to Skegness or surrounding areas. The stables behind owned by the same proprietor as the house were great for our girls to have a pony ride around the local area. They also offer more advanced lessons.
Would highly recommend and most likely will stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2015
Thanks so much for the review. We really appreciate it. All the best, Jamie and Abby.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kizziegog
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful house”
Reviewed 31 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The house was beautiful ,very clean and spacious , quiet and warm as we went in January . We will recommend the house to friends and family , we hope to hire orchard farm lodge again as we love the Coast thsnyou

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2015
Thanks for your very kind comments. It really means allot to Abby and myself.All the best, Jamie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mickmort
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Large roomy house, minor maintenance issues.”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Plus side...Large house with plenty of room. Really warm with good facilities and parking.
Down side ...electric gates don,t work.garage light doesn't work . Tap and shower handles loose. An instruction folder for facilities etc would be helpful.
Would recommend with reservations

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing