We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super service”

Tomahawk Steakhouse Darlington
Ranked #4 of 294 Restaurants in Darlington
Price range: US$5 - US$75
Description: Specialist market town steak restaurant & cocktail bar. Serving the finest Himalayan salt dry-aged steaks, Wagyu and other great local meat, fish & vegetarian dishes.
Restaurant details
Description: Specialist market town steak restaurant & cocktail bar. Serving the finest Himalayan salt dry-aged steaks, Wagyu and other great local meat, fish & vegetarian dishes.
Reviewed 2 July 2022 via mobile

Beth made the visit fab, her customer services was second to none. Polite and attentative.

I will come back again

Date of visit: July 2022
Thank Cheeky27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Customer Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Tomahawk Steakhouse Darlington, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2022

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent dining experience with us and that you found the service from Beth to be super and that she ensured you had a fab visit !
We will certainly look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (765)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 765 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2022 via mobile

Visited for a special occassion and left very disappointed! The starters were miniscule which only fit on small side plates. We ordered the duck pancakes (there was only enough duck for 4 out of the 6 pancakes), the lobster mac n cheese (couldn't even taste the lobster), and crispy squid rings (if you like a load of grease you will like them).

Because it was a special occassion we ordered the wagyu beef sharing platter for mains (£135), I get that you pay for the quality of the meat, but if you like a decent size meal I wouldn't bother. The board is no bigger than a laptop tray, and everything is squeezed on it to look more, when in fact if you look closely the portions are tiny, the meats I understand being small because of the cut and quality, but they at least could increase the sides sizes, especially for £135.

Final we ordered dessert which was the star, ironic I know for a steakhouse. We ordered the kinder bueno dessert which was lovely. The final bill came to £240 for 3 of us including tip (which they add automatically but you can request it to be removed if you want) we paid it because the service was quick and friendly.

Final thoughts, would we go back? No! When you pay £240 for a 3 course meal you expect to be stuffed like a Xmas turkey the rest of the day. I starved myself all day (we went at 4) thinking we would be having this lovely slap up meal, we were eating beans on toast a few hours later just to say we had had our calorie intake for the day.

Very, very disappointed

Date of visit: June 2022
Thank Funkytown76
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Customer Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Tomahawk Steakhouse Darlington, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2022

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your Wagyu sharing board, obviously the wagyu is the most premium quality cut of beef available hence the price. We normally receive such great feedback about this dish normally, so we are sincerely sorry to hear that you were disappointed. We shall certainly pass on all your feedback to our kitchen team.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2022 via mobile

Lovely starters, beautiful chateaubriand and excellent service from Alex. Even a nice touch with the lattes

Date of visit: June 2022
Thank Adam_moses14
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Customer Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Tomahawk Steakhouse Darlington, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2022

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent dining experience with us and that you found the food to be beautiful especially the Chateaubriand and also that you received excellent service form Alex.
We will look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2022 via mobile

Food was fabulous as usual, as was the service, nothing was too much bother for our waiter Tom.
The early bird menu excellent value for money for a pre-cinema meal.

Date of visit: May 2022
Thank 2210Crystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Customer Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Tomahawk Steakhouse Darlington, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2022

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit with us and that you found the food to be fabulous as usual, and also that Tom your waiter looked after you very well !
We will look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2022 via mobile

Tom was brilliant service and really made the night special, well mannered and spot on. Thank you! The food was really lovely , we had the 3 courses for 19.95. Worth it!!

Date of visit: June 2022
Thank wa9200
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Customer Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Tomahawk Steakhouse Darlington, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2022

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such great feedback.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent meals with us and that Tom your waiter helped ensure that you were well looked after are really helped make your night special with us. We are also very pleased to hear that you found the food to be really lovely.
We will look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tomahawk Steakhouse Darlington also viewed

Darlington, County Durham
Darlington, County Durham
 
Ingleton, Darlington
 

Been to Tomahawk Steakhouse Darlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.