We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs improvement”
Review of Rick Stein

Rick Stein
Ranked #41 of 367 Restaurants in Poole
Price range: US$14 - US$54
Description: With stunning views across Poole Harbour as well as a more relaxed bar dining room you can enjoy a casual lunch with friends (and even the dog in the bar until 17.00) or elegant seafood dishes including Dover Sole Meuniere, Turbot Hollandaise and Fruits de Mer in the Harbour View dining room.
Restaurant details
Description: With stunning views across Poole Harbour as well as a more relaxed bar dining room you can enjoy a casual lunch with friends (and even the dog in the bar until 17.00) or elegant seafood dishes including Dover Sole Meuniere, Turbot Hollandaise and Fruits de Mer in the Harbour View dining room.
Reviewed 7 September 2021 via mobile

Booked for breakfast , the service was excellent and u can honestly say the eggs Benedict were the best I’ve tasted , but unfortunately my husband was not impressed with the breakfast , the sausage was very peppery and just not worth the money

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank MichelleR2655
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (3,139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 48 of 3,140 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2021

We booked a table for lunch during our holiday as it was our 14 year anniversary. We were placed at the back of the restaurant and by chance asked if we could move to a window seat but instead they moved us to the balcony which had the most amazing view on a hot sunny day. Food was exceptional I went all out with the Lobster which was the best I’ve ever eaten and my partner started with the sausages and oysters washed down with the muscadet as suggested on the menu - amazing. Service was faultless and everyone was really friendly 100% would recommend

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank JAW000000007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 September 2021 via mobile

Very underwhelmed & expected so much more!

I booked as we were staying in the area for 5 days, and were celebrating a belated birthday.

The waiter was unfriendly, nonchalant and unhelpful- which we were particularly surprised at.
Other members of staff were helpful & friendly- but goes to show how important a good waiter is. It certainly impacted our experience.
We asked for advise on certain menu items & he simply couldn’t be bothered to assist or elaborate on any of the detail.

I had the fish & chips, the fish was excellent but the chips were pale, oil soaked, and inedible.
My dessert was awful so I left it.
It was the strawberry / meringuep
& the fruit was soggy, resembling & tasting like tinned fruit.

The view was superb & a great table for a sunset meal.
If I owned the Restuarant, I would be very concerned about some of these reviews.
Not for us & would not return.

Date of visit: September 2021
2  Thank Julie_a_011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 September 2021 via mobile

We had a very good waiter, infact all the staff were excellent. Top marks
The food was very nice but over priced
I used the downstairs toilet which was dirty and very unpleasant.

Date of visit: September 2021
1  Thank 295deborahf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 September 2021

As a food lover I was VERY much looking forward to this visit as a big fan of Rick but I must say although a Very nice setting the food was seriously average and could only be compared to Lock Fyne which would be at less than half the price. Very good service, good desert and nice wine are the positives. Bland soup and a very weak curry considering his travels to India and Asia. I had the Dover sole not pictured at £40 which again was very under whelming along with poor breaded prawns to start. Not the seafood experience I had hoped for. :(

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank Ben1010101010101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Rick Stein also viewed

 

Been to Rick Stein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.