We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just simply excellent !”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Les Lindonniers

Spacious gîte, private heated pool & gardens; peaceful setting; stunning views!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious gîte, private heated pool & gardens; peaceful setting; stunning views!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Spacious gîte, private heated pool & gardens; peaceful setting; stunning views!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Brossac, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris J
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just simply excellent !”
Reviewed 8 March 2018 for a stay in August 2017

A superb, chilled-out, relaxed stay at Les Lindonniers. We had a fantastic fortnight basically chilling by the pool (night-time water polo sessions with the kids under the stars have to be done !) eating a constant flow of delicious cakes and bread produced by Philip and simply mooching about quiet corners of France enjoying the experience. It was just brilliant.
The gîte is lovely, very spacious and well equipped and Philip & Laura are the most wonderful hosts, nothing is too much trouble with great advice about things to see and places to go and some great recommendations on places to eat.

Cannot recommend a stay here enough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2018
We are very pleased that your stay with us was so enjoyable and we couldn't agree more with you about swimming under the Charente skies at night. Thank you for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobpawsey...
Marlborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“LAURA & PHILIP - THANKS”
Reviewed 3 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Set in the country, surrounded by vineyards.
Within easy driving distance of the well known places like Cognac, Angouleme, Royan & Bordeaux, it's also worth visiting Aubeterre sur Dronne and St. Emilion.
But, when the sun shines, swim in the pool, go for a walk, feed the horses & experience Laura & Philip's generous hospitality in their splendid gite.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2018
We are so glad you had a wonderful time here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill B
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A truly wonderful place for a holiday.”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

From the minute we arrived at this marvellous property, we were made to feel welcome. Philip and Laura are the perfect hosts.
We travelled with four kids and the property is a fine size and accommodated us easily. Three bedrooms, two with double beds and one with 3 single beds was perfect and nice and cool on an evening. The living room is huge with 3 sofas and a dining table. HD TV with all the UK channels and wifi. A door leads from here to the peaceful patio round the back.
Kitchen has everything you need. Good sized freezer and fridge, dishwasher and washing machine etc and another dining table.
2 bathrooms both with showers make up the inside.
Outside is a fantastic decked area with a brilliant charcoal barbecue that was used every night. We also ate every meal outside during the two weeks due to the fabulous weather. Next to the decking is a great 8m x 4m pool.
Now, if all that sounds great, it just gets better. As a family we love the countryside and the property is situated in the middle of 20 odd acres of land and there are some wonderful walks. The meadows here are some of the best I have ever seen, teeming with wildlife and flowers. We saw deer, rabbits and birds of prey. I enjoy taking photos of butterflies and there are in abundance here including the swallowtail, clouded yellow, graylings etc.
There are also some great villages and places to visit within a short drive, two good supermarkets in Chalais and a well stocked Spar five minutes away in Brossac.
The owners own three of the friendliest dogs you will ever meet and my two youngest lads used to take them out for walks. They also have three horses and rare breed chickens.
Philip is a mine of information and a lovely chap just to spend the time of day with and in his spare time masquerades as a baker of the finest order. We sampled two of his rye loaves, scones, a Victoria sponge and a chocolate cake in our fortnight!
Thanks again for a very special, relaxing holiday. This place is a gem. Already looking forward to seeing you again next year!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2018
We are so glad that you all had such a great time here and that you found so much to enjoy. Since your visit the kitchen has been replaced but all everything else is unchanged.
Looking forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryonhols
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Splendid, Sunny, Spacious & Secluded Escape! (with surprises)”
Reviewed 31 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

With Laura and Philip's spot on directions we arrived into Les Lindonniers at dusk to a warm welcome and the first view of our home for the next fortnight. A delicious meal and indulgent chocolate mousse was waiting for us and very much appreciated.

The gite was perfect for us and our 3 boys. It looked good in the photos but they don't prepare you for the amount of space! It was well equipped, clean and stayed very cool. The swimming pool outside was a key feature we were looking for and it didn't disappoint; plenty of room to relax, swim or as the older boys discovered, to play volleyball. The mix of shade and open outside was perfect and the barbecue/fire was perfect for the evenings (the sunset and big skies don't disappoint either!).

A small tip for tennis players. There are 2 great courts in Brossac (10 mins away). Very quiet. Simply pop into the Pharmacy there to settle up and collect the key.

During our stay Laura and Philip were the perfect hosts, on hand to provide advice on nearby facilities & activities or simply to show us around their land (don't pass that up!). Some great surprises too including unexpected deliveries of Philip's delicious sunflower bread and perfect scones!

But.....we can't spoil all the surprises of our idyllic fortnight. You'll have to go there and seek out the rest yourself!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2017
Dear Sarah, Brian, Callum, Anya and Iona, for taking the trouble to write such a full review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your holiday so much,
Thank you for being such lovely guests!
Laura and Philip
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rejuvenation & Hospitality in Charentevenation & Hospitality in Charente”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Our week at Les Lindonniers was more special than we could have anticipated! Description & photos here are representative, little more needs saying about basic features (all the comforts of home), but we were struck by the gîte's flexibility, inside & out. For the two of us, the kitchen area was a cozy center of operations but the separate large living room & dining area are ideal for groups, multi-generational families or those that could benefit from separate spaces in which to recharge. Also noteworthy is the presence of outdoor areas positioned to catch every sunbeam. If relaxing is called for, nothing tops lazing by the sparkling pool; more active groups will enjoy exploring the large property, meeting & learning about its animals, enjoying the shade of the namesake trees. Level inside, the gîte is afforded access from the outside & pool area by 1 - 2 steps or well-constructed ramps, if needed. Our only access concern was directly resolved without hesitation, evidence of the owners' dedication to making guests feel valued. The large property is home to a few well-tended horses, beautiful chickens, geese, as well as sweet dogs who were an endearing part of our stay. We enjoyed strolls with elder statesdog, Max, watching with him as wild rabbits cavorted in the field and falcons hunted in the distance; he seemed proud to show us 'his' unusually lovely chickens. Phillip, too, shared with us an infectious enthusiasm & vast knowledge about the Hamburgs he breeds. It was a struggle to tear ourselves away, but we enjoyed close proximity to picturesque villages such as Aubeterre & marchés at Chalais & Riberac for a quick soaking up of local colour; within 1-1/2 hour drives, the larger Angoulême, Bergerac, and Bordeaux each have something special to offer (we were surprised in particular by the number of accessible winery tours in Saint-Emilion, only an hour away). But the real magic of Les Lindonniers lies with owners Phillip & Laura. Their hospitality knew no bounds. From a cold welcoming refreshment after our long journey to freshly-baked surprises, we felt spoiled the entire stay. In the past, we avoided resident owner accommodations, fearing our desire for privacy would be compromised. Laura & Phillip struck a perfect balance, staying occupied with their own endeavours lovingly tending the property & animals, while never seeming put-out by our endless curiosity about French country life or local flora & fauna. We were delighted when they accepted invitations to join us for spectacular sunsets; time flew by in their company. This gîte met our special needs and is superb for active groups of all ages as well as empty-nesters like ourselves just seeking rejuvenation. While it's accessible for most wheelchair users, it's good to check with the owners about your individual needs. I feel certain any barrier to your enjoyment of this corner of paradise can find a solution in their warm hearts & capable hands. We whole-heartedly recommend a stay at Les Lindonniers, for the charm of the gîte itself and even more so, its owners!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners and their personal touch
Liked least: Having to say goodbye
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write such a thoughtful and comprehensive review. We are so pleased that your stay so enjoyable and relaxing. We look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing