We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
39
95
72
21
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
95
72
21
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dining room city centre cold cuts usual choice centrally located hotel double bed wide selection excellent view fritters breakfast selection eggs nice hotel baked beans train station lobby style interior
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2018

Friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast. Room okay, but could need an update as it's very old and worn. On a bad side the cleaning staff could have added more rolls of toilet paper. Half a roll for a family of four is not enough, and you always find that out when it is too late.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank Roarxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018 via mobile

Dignified hotel
Offers umbrellas
Glutenfree options at breakfast
Had the suit, large apartment with porch
Two separate bedrooms
Lot of selection for breakfast
Bar and lobby
Nice, helpfull staff
Late check-in

Carpet om floors

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank 475maritab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christer S, Daglig leder at Thon Hotel Hoyers, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Drar Marita B.
Thank You for taking time to review our Hotel.
Welcome back to us next time You visit Skien.
Best regards
Christer L. Sørensen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

This hotel has a lovely old world feel to it that we found quite charming and interesting. Of course the rooms were slightly old fashioned but they were clean and practical and also very warm with a comfy bed. The breakfast was outstanding and had a large variety of local fare that we enjoyed a lot. The location was in a great spot in the city and we enjoyed walking to the water front nearby. We came in winter and believe it is even nicer in the summer.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank 264brigittep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christer S, Daglig leder at Thon Hotel Hoyers, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Brigitte P.
Thank You for Reviewing our Hotel and four Your Nice Feedback.
I strongly recommend visiting Skien also in the Summer. Skien is the starting point of the "Telemark Kanal" a nice historic journey in antique boats in over 100 year old locks from Skien to Dalen.
Hope to see You again i Skien soon
Christer L. Sørensen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Nice hotel with good service and helpful employees. Breakfast is with lot of choices and also diner is well organized. Even late arrival can have diner in the hotel. Dry cleaning is available and at arrival as Thon member you receive free bottle of water.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no
Thank pvdwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christer S, Daglig leder at Thon Hotel Hoyers, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear Guest.
Thank You for choosing Thon Hotel Høyers for Your stay here in Skien.
We would also like to thank You for Your nice review of our Hotel. I will bring this on to our staff.
Best wishes
Christer L. Sørensen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

The hotel is charming and historic. It is within walking distance to many restaurants. The breakfast is the best I've had from a hotel. The lobby is beautifully decorated, and the room was comfortable and cozy.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank loriannmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christer S, Daglig leder at Thon Hotel Hoyers, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear Loriannmin.
Thank You for Your nive review of our hotel and Skien City.
Welcome back to us next time You visit Skien and Telemark
Best Wishes
Christer L. Sørensen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews