We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
13
10
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
10
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssecurity codewalking distancesmskettleparkingbed
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights in Wilhelmsen House. The rooms were not very big, but comfortable and clean. The system of room codes rather than keys was brilliant. The downstairs lounge area and amazing cafe on the ground floor were a big plus. The location, walking distance to two supermarkets, a mall, the train station and central Tønsberg, was all we could ask for. The trek up the hill to the hotel with luggage in the snow was a bit of an ordeal, to keep in kind if travelling in the winter.
The room was not brightly lit, which at first surprised us, but actually added to the coziness. Brighter reading lights in bed were of course available.
The kitchen was well-enough equipped, with two hot plates, a kettle, fridge, sink, two pots, a pan, and all the utensils you’ll need. The fridge was quiet and did not disturb us at night. A coat hook was broken and one of the cupboard hinges as well, but we’d recommend this lovely, modern hotel in a refurbished historic building in beautiful Tønsberg.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank when-V-and-I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anette A, Daglig leder at Wilhelmsen House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Thank you so much for taking time to comment your stay at our accomodation in Tønsberg.
I'm glad you liked the automated code system that we have on our doors to make it easier for you to check in and out of our house.
Welcome back next time you visit Tønsberg!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

Only stayed one night en route to Oslo as we flew into Torp late.
Security code for access sent by SMS as it is unmanned. Despite this we felt very safe.
Very clean and enough facilities for short trips.
The bakery opposite the lobby was a great way to start the day. Only a 10 minute walk to the station which has a newsagent and a cafe.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank linds61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anette A, Daglig leder at Wilhelmsen House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Thank you so much for spending time to rate us!
Welcome back on your next trip to Norway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Nice and close to the train station and buses, less than a 10 minute walk to the hotel which was handy since we had our suitcases. The idea of sending the code over email was a great idea as we arrived late and would've missed any check in times, the room wasn't very spacious, however was clean comfortable and homely and a lovely bathroom. Supermarket and petrol station very close by and in walkable distance too.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank riokoko99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anette A, Daglig leder at Wilhelmsen House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear riokoko99,

Thank you so much for rating us!
We're glad you appreciated our easy check-in as well as the short distance to bus and train.

Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

The sms system of notifying us our security code worked very well especially as we arrived after midnight. At first we didn't understand the "system" of how to open the door - there is a flat handle/panel near the door, not on the door, when gently pulled triggers an automatic door opener/closer. The room was of a good size, was very clean and the shower had great water pressure. An added bonus was the tiny refrigerator in the wardrobe and a kettle for tea making. There is free wifi. Our hotel had a good view over the district.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Antonina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anette A, Daglig leder at Wilhelmsen House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Antonina,

Thank you so much for spending time to rate us.
We're glad you liked the way our system works.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

We were two adults and two kids so we chose the family room.
There was a combined kitchen and living room, bathroom and a separate bedroom. The sofa in the living room acted as a twin bed which was nice for the kids.
We arrived in the middle of the night and had some trouble finding the entrance to the parking, also a pin code for the doors was quite interesting and worked very well.
The only downside was the "stove watchdog" that suddenly decided to go off in the morning, luckily we were already awake. It took a major part of the day for the janitor to fix it, but eventually they managed to shut it up. Glad we were out of the room the majority of the day.
Pretty nice with a small kitchen where you can cook your own food if you want to, will definitively consider to stay here if we are going back to Tønsberg some time.
The hotel does not have a reception so you'll have to call a mobile number if you need anything.
The location is just beside the hospital, but that did not bother us during the stay.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kjetil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anette A, Daglig leder at Wilhelmsen House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Kjetil,

Thank you so much for rating us!
We're happy to read that you appreciated the familiyroom.
We apologize for the "stove guard", and we can inform you that we've got new ones in all rooms with minikitchen to avoid this problem in the future.
We hope you'll come back to visit us next time you're in Tønsberg.

Since we're a no-reception accomodation you'll be able to e-mail us as well as call us duing your stay, and we'll do all we can to help you during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews