We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (624)
Filter reviews
624 results
Traveller rating
358
155
59
26
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
358
155
59
26
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop bargrand experiencethe room service menuindoor poolfabulous locationparliament buildingupgraded roomonly stayed one nightfabulous breakfastcentral locationhuge selectionair conditioningthe heart of the cityroom was largeroyal castlepublic areasyour luggage
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 624 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2018

We really enjoyed our stay at the Grand Hotel Oslo. Everyone was so helpful and accommodating. They helped us with finding restaurants, planning our day, and using the public transportation.Our room was clean and very comfortable. The air conditioning was a huge plus considering the heatwave too. One of the only hotels we stayed at on our Scandinavia tour that had air conditioning! The breakfast buffet was a highlight as well. Huge selection and open early enough so that we could actually eat before leaving for our flight!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omtk, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Hotel Oslo By Scandic, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Grace M,

So wonderful to see that you had a great stay, just as it should be.


We hope to see you again soon.


Kind regards,

Ole K

Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

Enjoyed our stay at this central location in Oslo. The highlight of our stay was the fabulous breakfast offering where the presentation and selection was exceptional. We did not have the same rave review for our meal in the Palm Restaurant or the room service. In these cases the food was average and the price was high.

The staff, the location, the public rooms and the breakfast get very high marks. The room was pleasant but, as another reviewer mentioned, you need to have a map to find your room. Keep that mental map in your head for your entire stay or you'll get lost for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omtk, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Hotel Oslo By Scandic, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Patricia,

Thank you for reviewing us!

We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We will take your comments regarding the "map" of the building to further improvement.

Kind regards,

Ole K

Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

The toiletries are nice - L’Occitane. The location is good. The staff were friendly and helpful. That’s the end of the good stuff.

The hotel itself is tired, with a clear lack of attention to detail throughout. Lots of small details are not great, for example in the room window handles had been removed to prevent the window being used (presumably), while this is a functional approach it doesn’t lend to the aesthetic. Similarly the furniture is cheap and tired (eg the chipboard cupboards and drawer in the bathroom). In the bathroom the shower head fitting could not hold up the weight of the shower head so when showering it would constantly slide down the pole. There are lots of signs of where work has been done, eg painted over cables on the surface of walls.

The electric sockets provided were generally in inconvenient places, eg at floor level below the desk rather than at desk height, or just a single socket next to the headboard of the bed on one side only.

There are no concessions to the modern world we live in, such as providing USB sockets for charging devices, something which is now commonplace in hotels. Also, no speaker for the television in the bathroom.

The room I had was next to a road with traffic and building works ongoing. The windows do not keep out noise effectively and so any vehicle going past could be heard clearly, and any larger or more noisy vehicle would wake me, as did the builders when they started work early in the morning. The curtains also could not fully block the light out, and so light pollution was an issue.

Unlike many hotels which will provide a complementary bottle of water, snack, ... there is nothing like this here. Just some basic tea and coffee making stuff and a minibar of (even by Norwegian standards) very expensive drinks, a packet of crisps, and a bar of Valhorona chocolate.

All of the above would not warrant the one star rating, though would suggest that the hotel was not worth the amount it charges and is best avoided.

What nails the one star rating (a first for me) is that the mattress was so broken that after a few hours of trying to sleep on it my back was in so much pain I had to get up. I tried Ibuprofen and returning to bed but to no good. After about another hour of pain and not sleeping I put the a blanket on the floor and slept there. The floor, though cold, was vastly better for my back than the mattress and I finally got a couple of hours sleep.

On its own you might think that the mattress was a one-off issue. I think though VG in the light of the general malaise to the place that it is probably just another symptom of a lack of care. I did give some feedback on checking out about the mattress and the staff member was suitably apologetic, but frankly that doesn’t make up for this horrific night.

Best to avoid this hotel.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank NeilRobbins_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omtk, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Hotel Oslo By Scandic, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear NeilRobbins_UK,

We truly apologize for your experience, this is truly not how we want our guests to experience the hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback. We have discussed all the issues with our team. I would appreciate if you could contact me, so that we can find an appropriate compensation.

Kind regards,

Ole K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

Fantastic location for Oslo sightseeing and relaxation. You will not be disappointed with its sorroundings. Don't miss the King's palace (Summers only), Natural History Museum and the Fjord Cruise. Hotel is situated in the middle of a nicely-busy city center in close proximity to everything you'd ever need as a tourist (with or without children).

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nageshdanturti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omtk, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Hotel Oslo By Scandic, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Nageshdanturti,

Thank you for reviewing us.

Your review is essential for our improvement.

Kind regards,

Ole K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018

Because we travel with a (small) dog, we probably got the worst room in the building: tiny, badly in need of redecoration, at the end of the last corridor... and there are a lot of corridors and steps up and down, a bit of a maze. The carpet in the common areas was not very clean, and room service tray's were left in corridors from 8 at night until 9 in the morning. The location is good, it's right in the centre. Dog costs us around 50 euro per night extra, which is a ridiculous amount for using the vacuum cleaner one extra time... Tiny bathroom, large TV, extremely soft beds, not very comfortable at all.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sosthen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omtk, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Hotel Oslo By Scandic, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Sosthen.

First of all I would like to apologize for your experience.

Your comments are essential for our improvement.

We will like to invite you back again, so we can change your experience of Grand Hotel Oslo.

Kind regards,

Ole K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews