We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (801)
Filter reviews
801 results
Traveller rating
476
230
63
19
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
476
230
63
19
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza restaurant great location city hall king bed christmas market rain shower squeezed orange juice this lovely hotel national theatre glass door blackout curtains good size cool hotel great bed walked everywhere train station central location
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 801 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2018

We stayed here for five nights. It’s a great hotel. Our room was on sixth floor, it was roomy, we had a rollout as there were three of us. It’s an older hotel so it has grand stairs which we ended up using rather than elevator. The five flights were good exercise given all the restaurants so close to hotel. It seems everything is close to hotel, train stations, waterfront, National art gallery, palace grounds, shopping all directions.
The hotel staff was business like, if we had a question, it was answered efficiently. Hotel was busy but staff took whatever time was necessary to help us enjoy Oslo.Breakfast is very good as well. The weather was such that we would open the top windows and got a great sleep. Its just excellent hotel. We recommend that if you want to explore Oslo, book this hotel.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank vimapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

Centrally located in Oslo this delightful hotel is elegant, charming and unique. It was built as a theatre and office block in 1917 and is now a modern boutique hotel..The restaurant Teatro serves thin, crispy pizza with very exciting and original toppings...Our breakfast was absolutely delicious...The coffee is French pressed and the homebaked breads, fresh cheeses etc, were beyond awesome.You will definitely not leave hungry. An added touch is the delightful Wine Bar. Our room was large, clean and extremely comfortable...Air Conditioning added to the comfort of the hotel experience...The staff at the hotel were very friendly, helpful and professional...When in Oslo, make this hotel your home away from home...

Room Tip: Make sure you check on air conditioned rooms...
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank brandigirl93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

Located directly at the pedestrian zone this old building was carefully renovated with very stylish rooms. Nice breakfast. Super helpful staff. Good beds, but only queen size. Has aircon and a restaurant inhouse.
A definite recommend.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank marcobuehler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

On all the factors that the management and staff can control (attitude of staff, architecture and design, food quality): five stars. On factors less under their control: two stars.

Norway has been in a summer heat wave for months now and it's oppressive. Especially when 99% of the hotels and restaurants don't have air conditioning. Really hard to be comfortable eating or sleeping when you're perspiring. We all had fans but that's only a band-aid. Any high-end hotel needs to invest in adding the Asian-style A/C units, in my opinion.

Worst issue was the club across the way in the pedestrian area of Karl Johans gate. With the heat, you have to open your windows to get a breeze but with this one club playing electronica until 3AM every night, it's literally impossible to sleep. I'm not making this up. For some reason, Oslo's permitting authorities think it's good business to allow an outdoor pop-up club to play until 3AM weekdays and weekend nights. Really poor decision that impacts many hotels and other establishments all night.

If I'm ever in Oslo again during the summer, I can promise you I won't stay anywhere near the Karl Johans gate area again.

Room Tip: During the summer: none, if that club is open. And due to the heat wave, the interior rooms get no air circulation at all.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank FreqTravBizPleas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

The location of this hotel could not be better. It's close to almost everything you want to see in Oslo.

The rooms are clean, well appointed and comfortable if you splash out on a bigger room.

The breakfasts are absolutely FANTASTIC. They are very, very good with amazing options.

There are some issues that need addressing though. We had two rooms and the first one was super hot with what felt like no ventilation and the second one was nice and cool. Most of the northern European hotels still stick to "this is Scandinavia and we don't need air conditioning" line. That may have been true a decade ago, it is no longer true. Everyone knows that including the Scandinavians. So what is the point of pretending? We visited Oslo a decade ago and sweat through an "unexpected" . heatwave and did so again on this trip. At this point, they are not unexpected, they are a fact of life. They are fully expected and the excuse no longer passes muster. Bite the bullet, put in an air conditioning system and be done with it.

Secondly, is the issue of sound proofing. There is a night club very close by and on Saturday nights it's beats continue through the wee hours as expected. Unfortunately, you can hear them at the hotel. Not very loud but enough to keep you up at night if you happen to wake.

The most important thing at a hotel is the sleep quality. If you're sweating through the night and forced to listen to repeated nightclub beats, its not hard to imagine that you will not get a good nights sleep. Put the two together, and you simply can't give this hotel a higher mark, even though I really liked the look and feel of it. A few small fixes would make it 5 stars but they have to invest to make those changes....

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank naynee m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews