We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (899)
Filter reviews
899 results
Traveller rating
330
404
112
30
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
404
112
30
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews living room train station mini kitchen nice hotel no window small balcony shower door sitting area business room opera house oslo fjord great room the upper floors akershus fortress aker brygge excellent breakfast minute walk
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 899 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

We booked a family room for the four of us and were given a huge room on the 2nd floor. On checking in, in the afternoon, we realised that the veranda door wouldn't lock, so we requested it to be fixed, or to be given a different room, for safety reasons (The verandas were adjacent). We returned to the hotel around 11pm only to find out that nothing had been done. After an hours wait at the reception, we were finally moved to two smaller rooms on different floors. Staff was polite and helpful, but the hotel was probably fully booked, so it took ages to assist us. Other than that, the hotel is centrally located, the rooms were clean and of a good size, the beds comfortable and the hanging space very small. The bathroom was very inconvenient with the shower having only a door on one side and no base, so the water was everywhere. In the bedroom there were window shades which was perfect, because the sun rises very early, but unfortunately there was no A/C and it got very hot. The view from the 11th floor was beautiful. The huge hot and cold breakfast variety was amazing.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank cakesandmore70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie S, General Manager at Thon Hotel Panorama, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear cakesandmore70,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the stay. We wish we could have assisted you quicker with the lock. Hopefully the change from a large room to two smaller ones was not too inconvenient for you. Thank you for your kind words about the cleanliness and our popular breakfast.

I hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back to Thon Hotel Panorama.

Best regards
Thon Hotel Panorama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018

This hotel was in a good location, a couple of blocks from a tram stop, in walking distance of the train station and some sights. Our room had a separate bedroom and sitting room/kitchenette. We only used the kitchenette as a place to put our luggage. There were no luggage racks and the closet was small. There was no a/c and it was hot during our visit. We often kept the doors to the balcony open. Our room (#403) was at the back of the building so it was quiet. Breakfast was good with lots of choices. My problem was with the bathroom. It was clean and there was a small shelf with room to put some of our stuff but there was no way to stop up the sink. That is inconvenient when I need to wash things and scary if I drop a contact lens while rinsing it. Also, if the shower was on much more than a trickle you had water all over the floor. That didn't bother my husband but it was a deal breaker for me. If we go back to Oslo I'll look for somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

Windows do not open in the bedroom. Apart from that, there are no blinds to block out the sun. It is more like a capsule hotel as the hallways are merely 1m wide and if both you and the neighbouring room choose to open doors at the same time, you knock into each other. Lift only fits 2 people with luggage. The toilet and shower are basically in the same space. All very, very small.
There’s no view to speak of until the 11th floor , but in summer, you won’t be able to see it until the sun sets as it beats into your blindless window all afternoon. Norway does not usually have air con , so hot rooms will stay hot until the sun sets at midnight. The owner of Thon Hotels should really think about the fact that most of the people who come from overseas are not used to sleeping with the light in their eyes and they need blackout blinds to have a decent night sleep.

We were offered an old fan and eye masks, but sleeping was still extremely uncomfortable. I feel for the receptionists who have to deal with the complaints. I for one, will be not be recommending this particular hotel to anyone.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank BSM56F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie S, General Manager at Thon Hotel Panorama, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear BSM56F

Thank you for your feedback. We have had an unusually hot summer this year. New fans are ordered for all rooms. We are sorry for not meeting your expectations this time.

We hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back next time you visit Oslo.

Best regards
Thon Hotel Panorama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

We had a pleasant few days here and thought this hotel was a great base to explore the city from. It's a short walk from the main railway station. In fact we walked everywhere. Oslo is quite compact and, if you have good weather and like to stretch the legs, you don't really need to worry about public transport.

The hotel was has a fresh and modern feel and was nice and clean. Our room was on the 11th floor, so we got some good views across to the new opera house and up the fjord. It was a spacious room, with a double aspect, so was really light and bright. We arrived in the middle of a heatwave and the temperatures were in the high 20s (centigrade) and the room didn't have air conditioning. It was warm on that first night. We kept all the windows open and net curtains closed for the rest of our stay and the room was actually fine.

The breakfast was buffet style and was very generous. There was just about everything that you could think of to eat: Fresh bread, cereals, dried fruit, fresh fruit, cured meats, cheeses, smoothies, juices. Hot items such as bacon, local spicy sausages, turkey meatballs, fried eggs, etc. etc. We had a very good feed each morning.

I would recommend this hotel and would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thrappledouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel. The hotel is located in toen centre and has Nice rooms with one Very big flaw there is No airconditioning and the window in oud room coulant be opend either. When we did complained we did get à small fan that only could circulate the hot air in the room room temperaturen about 30celsius

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank William v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie S, General Manager at Thon Hotel Panorama, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Dear William,

Thank you for giving us feedback after your visit at Thon Hotel Panorama.

We are glad you liked the room and location. This summer has been hotter than usual and unfortunately some rooms have not been as comfortable as we would like. Better fans are already ordered and we expect them soon.

We do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to us, despite of this experience!

Best regards
Thon Hotel Panorama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews