We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Museum of Reconstruction for Finnmark and Northern Troms
Save
Review Highlights
Informative and well equipped

Although a small museum, I was surprised about the good way of displaying ancient history of the... read more

Reviewed 29 July 2018
Pierre S
,
Tananger, Norway
via mobile
interesting museum

This was an interesting museum to visit and to see how Hammerfest was affected during the war and... read more

Reviewed 28 July 2018
claireym50
,
Helston, United Kingdom
Read all 48 reviews
  
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
23
23
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
23
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ww ii german occupation wonderful view well worth a visit film tower childhood footage exhibits region history post hardships policy text germans information
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2017

As my mother grew up in Northern Troms and was only 9 years old when the Germans chased her family off their farm and burnt it down, this was a heart-wrenching journey through her childhood. Simple but "real" exhibits, informative text and a good movie helped make this a memorable experience about the North Norwegians who were refugees in their own country less than 75 years ago. Don't miss the "tower", where you get a good view of Hammerfest.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank JornBerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris W, Kundeansvarlig at Museum of Reconstruction for Finnmark and Northern Troms, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Hei Jørn.
Thank you very much for your visit and for recommending us here on tripadvisor.
You're always welcome back to our museum.
Very best
Doris and the rest of the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

The Museum of Reconstruction for Finnmark and North Troms aims to convey the poignancy of the dramatic events of WW11.
It is a treasure house of stories. GO SEE!

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank PTM_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris W, Kundeansvarlig at Museum of Reconstruction for Finnmark and Northern Troms, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear Paddy,
thank you very much for your visit and for recommending our museum.
We appreaciate you leaving a review on tripadvisor and gladly welcome you back whenever you are around.
Very best
Doris and the rest of the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

We had a few hours to spend in port and walked up to the local church was all that was left standing after the Germans retreated during the war. On the way we passed the museum of Reconstructon for Finnmark and North Troms.It was an absorbing look into the difficulties the Norwegions encountered both during the hardships of war and the ten years or so after. The relics and exhibits were outstanding and I would recommend it for a 90 minute visit. It also has a great tower with lift, from which you get a fine view of the town

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank Jandmb255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris W, Guest Relations Manager at Museum of Reconstruction for Finnmark and Northern Troms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear Jandmb255060,

thank you very much for your visit and your kind review of our museum.

We are happy to read that the Museum Of Reconstruction fulfilled its purpose to absorbing its visitors into the hirstory of Finnmark and North-Troms. It's always pleasant to read that our visitors get their value out of their visit and feel that they've actually learned something.

Your are always most welcome back to Hammerfest and to our museum.
Very best wishes from Northern Norway,

Doris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

We really enjoyed the museum but after the first few months exhibits everything was exclusively in Norwegian! Small explanations in other languages would have helped our understanding of the Norwegian trials during WWII.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank ronniev687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris W, Guest Relations Manager at Museum of Reconstruction for Finnmark and Northern Troms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear ronniev687.

Thank you very much for your visit and your review.

It is great to read that you enjoyed your visit with us and found our exhibition interesting.

I am very sorry to hear that you obviously werent given our brochure in English, which usually helps our visitors understand the exhibition even though they don't speak Norwegian.

Also, we are currently working on getting more languages into our exhibition to make it more accessible and easier to understand for our foreign guests.

Whenever your path leads you back to Hammerfest, you are most welcome to visit our Museum again - and please ask us at the front desk, we will certainly give our very best to make your next visit even better.

Thank you again for your visit!
Very best wishes from Northern norway,

Doris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

A great deal of information can be found in this museum. Although much of the text is in Norwegian, there are 'prompt sheets' in various languages located around the build. Well worth a visit

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris W, Guest Relations Manager at Museum of Reconstruction for Finnmark and Northern Troms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear David,

thank you so much for your visit and your review of our museum. It's always great to read that our guests had a good time with us and recommend the Museum Of Reconstruction to other travellers.

You are always most welcome to return to Hammerfest and to our museum.

Very best
Doris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews