We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
369 results
Traveller rating
74
127
100
47
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
127
100
47
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free parking place to sleep train station quick stop nice hotel nice staff nice breakfast winter olympics single room excellent location value for the money would stay here again art museum superior room short stay the main street norway
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 369 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2018

The hotel is right in the center of town and easy walking throughout the downtown area.The hotel is old, but management has worked hard to keep it up. There are several beautiful oil paintings on the walls of the hotel. The staff was exceptionally nice and helpful. The breakfast was good by everyday standards, but lacking behind most other hotels we stayed at in Norway. They lacked variety, choices of warm food and there was no goat's cheese. The hotel is reasonably priced and a good value for the money. I would stay here again in the future. Just work on improving the breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DanishBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HannaStenberg, Daglig leder at First Hotel Breiseth, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Hi DanishBob!

Thank you for this lovely review! :)
So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
We will certainly work on improving our breakfast buffet!

Hope to see you again soon. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile

The rooms were clean, but had seen better days. Beds comfortable. No hairdryer, no/little soap, no fridge. Nice breakfast. Staff in reception was friendly and helpfull. Free parking. Overall experience: not too bad.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Barbrolita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HannaStenberg, Daglig leder at First Hotel Breiseth, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Hi Barbrolita.

Thank you for your review!
Really glad to hear that you were satisfied with the cleaning, and the service of our staff.
Hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

This is a grand old hotel in a great location in Lillehammer. Close to the railway and bus stations and right on the edge on the town center. Great friendly staff, always helpful and efficient. The included breakfast has numerous choices to suit most tastes.
The rooms are a reasonable size but they are looking very tired.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIKEndSUE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HannaStenberg, Daglig leder at First Hotel Breiseth, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Hi MIKEndSUE!

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We highly appreciate it. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

Wonderful location with comfortable and clean rooms.Helpful staff... Very good breakfast service and Delicious waffles serving at noon....Fullfill all your needs for a short visit....Worth to stay again..

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
Thank Volkan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HannaStenberg, Daglig leder at First Hotel Breiseth, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Hi Volkan A.

Thank you for taking the time to give us this nice review.
So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Lillehammer.

Hope to see you again some time! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

I stayed at this small (89 rooms over 4 floors) hotel at the end of a trip through Norway. I arrived at the Lillehammer (pronounced "lee la hammer") train station and simply walked across the bus area and in 5 minutes was at the hotel front entrance. This hotel is centrally located in this small alpine mountain town and within walking distance is the bibliotek (library), Kunstmusuem and Storgata or main pedestrian-only street with all the shops, restaurants, drinking establishments and night life.

This is an older hotel with well-worn furniture definitely in need of updating. The room was very small but quiet with double paned windows, black out curtains, a small desk, small bed, sofabed, full length mirror and on the television there were no English language channels but a few did broadcast some programs in English with Norwegian sub-titles. There was some free on-street parking and a parking lot in the back. The hotel had a sauna in the basement and served a great buffet breakfast in the morning (Monday - Friday from 6:30 am - 9:30 am and on weekends from 8:00 am - 10:30 am). The hotel advertises a PC for guests' use but it has since been removed - I needed to check my e-mails so once I went to the library just up the street and when that was closed I asked and was able to use a PC in the lobby of the Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer a few blocks away.

Be advised that some of the rooms require taking the elevator then negotiating 8 steps to an upper level and if your suitcase is large and/or heavy this might be a problem.

This is an older hotel that is definitely in need of updating. I traveled alone and got a single room and the bed was so small (I'm over 6 feet tall) that my feet hung out over the end so if you're average height or above it would be in your best interest to reserve at least a double bed.

The hotel is in a great location between the train station and downtown Lillehammer which means a car is not needed. The room furnishings are definitely showing their age but the hotel is clean, it's in a safe area, the employees were nice and the rate was very reasonable. If looking for a place to stay I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
9  Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HannaStenberg, Daglig leder at First Hotel Breiseth, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Hi Mark O!

Thank you for this well written review!
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, that you found the hotel to be clean, that you liked the breakfast buffet, and that you felt well taken care of by our excellent staff.

We are changing our television channel system this days, and we can soon offer more English language channels.
Our beds in most of the single rooms are standard size, but we also have possibilities of upgrading to a room with bigger beds.
I am sorry about the guest computer situation - we are working on getting a new computer for our lobby area.

Thank you for recommending us - we surely hope we will see you again some time soon. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews