We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“WOW! Christian has put together a great place to...”
other travellers have booked this property
Variations in red and brown with a touch of white
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Variations in red and brown with a touch of white
The Kurrentgasse, our building on the back King size bed in the shabby-chic bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Variations in red and brown with a touch of white
The Kurrentgasse, our building on the back
King size bed in the shabby-chic bedroom
Reading chair bu the window and dresser
Single bed in the shabby bedroom
Elegant reflections
Extra bed in the living-room, Altdeutsch Tabernacle
HD TV with extensive movie library
my personal collection of 50's soviet cameras
Separate mattresses, sheets and covers
Scarlet bedroom with twin Altdeutsch closets
Baroque corner with a Biedermeier zest
Two-bed bedroom. The left one can be deployed as king-size double
Biedermeier desk and Art-Déco lamp, bed deployed as a double (can also be prepared as a single bed)
Original Biedermeier desk and Gruenderzeit chair in the double bedroom
Original Jugendstil lamp
Table for 8, original Biedermeier display cabinet in the back!
Biedermeier vitrine with red ans white wine glasses
Entrance with dining room
Kitchen with espressso machine, washer-dryer
Fridge with freezer, blender and all you need to prepare a great meal!
Breakfast corner with Italian Espresso machine
Bathroom with walk-in shower and big shower head for a 'rain-like' feeling
Floorplan
Our building, the flat is on the 2nd floor; note the Grimm bakery , the oldest in Vienna
See how cute the back of the building is, squeezed but neat! from there access to Tuchlauben street
The entrance of the building; other access (elevator) without any steps available
Looking at the Kurrentgasse from the living room window
Our buiding on the right, Judenplatz on the back
3 minutes walk: Stefansdom, Stefansplatz, St-Stephens cathedral
1 minute walk: Museum Judenplatz
1 minute walk:Judenplatz Holocaust Memorial
Across the street: Mozart was our neighbor in 1783
1 minute walk: the Clock museum, Uhrenmuseum
3 minutes walk: the Vermahlungsbrunnen, Hoher Markt square
3 minutes walk the Roman Museum, Hoher Markt square.
4 minutes walk: the beautiful and famous Anker Uhr, Hoher Markt square
3 minutes walk: St-Stephen's Cathedral, and Fiaker station
4 minutes walk: Karntnerstrasse shopping street
2 minutes walk: Am Graben shopping street
3 minutes walk: the famous cafe Hawelka, Dorotheergasse
2 minutes walk: Meinl am Graben, most exclusive grocery store in central Europe for your shopping!
2 minutes walk: the Artis International cinema, with all current films in English
2 minutes walk: Kohlmarkt shopping street, entrance to Imperial Palace  staight ahead
10 minutes walk: the main University building on the Ring street
12 minutes walk: the impressive Votiv church
10 minutes walk: the parliament on the Ring street
5 minutes walk: the Freyung square with the Easter market.Also here Christmas market and more ..
5 minutes walk: the Freyung square: Bio-farmer's market every week
8 minutes walk: the Volksgarten (Hofburg gardens) between the Hofburg and the Burgtheater
8 minutes walk: Theseus temple in the Volksgarten (Hofburg gardens)
9 minutes walk: Rathaus, City hall on the Ring street. Christmas market, Eistraum .. on Rathausplatz
8 minutes walk: Burgtheater, the most famous and praised theater in Austria
8 minutes walk: National library (Nationabibliothek), Neue Burg (Hofburg), Ephesos Museum etc.
5 minutes walk: the famous Cafe Central on Herrengasse
1 minute walk: Billa grocery store with smal detergent/hygiene sector on top of all foods
2 minutes walk: the Mohren pharmacy, very helpful staff
2 minutes walk: Hartlauer electronics/battery/photo shop on the Wipplingerstrasse
1 minute walk: restaurant in the Ledererhof courtyard, on the way from Judenplatz to Am Hof square
2 minutes walk: Le Cru/Comptoir de Champagne; guess what you can drink there! On Petersplatz
2 minutes walk: the very cosy and classy cafe on the first floor of Meinl, Graben street
View from the sitting area of the Meinl cafe over the Graben pedestrian street
1 minute walk: traditional Cafe Markusplatz on Tuchlauben
1 minute walk: bank with exchange and ATMs, corner Wipplingerstr./Hoher Markt square
1 minute walk: Radatz prepared foods on the Wipplingerstrasse
1 minute walk: dry cleaner on Tuchlauben street
30 seconds walk: the very good Ella's restaurant on the Judenplatz
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 9
Vienna

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
KPB17
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WOW! Christian has put together a great place to stay, centrally located with access anywhere.”
Reviewed 28 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Don't bring a car, just yourselves and your stuff! He has set up a wonderful apartment within a great location. If you are looking for an apartment with superb amenities, then you have found it. He is a great host, always available and prompt with reply.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yellowshe...
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent facilities and great location”
Reviewed 5 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My family of 6, including 5 and 6yo children stayed here. Facilities were great with cable TV and a fully equipped AV system. The kitchen was unusually well equipped and we could certainly have stayed much longer. The location of the apartment was excellent, only 2-300m from the shopping malls and Stephansplatz, with a great gourmet grocer nearby. Also very good restaurants in the vicinity. Living directly over a fantastic bakery made breakfast so easy. We had a problem with the hot water system leaking however Ruth came straight away to assess the issue and it did not recur.
Communication before and during our stay was excellent and I was very reassured that I had made the right choice in booking this apartment even before we stayed here. Christian greeted us on arrival and was extremely helpful in pointing out the nearby amenities. I would certainly recommend this apartment to others and will stay here next time we are in Vienna!
The only improvement I could think of would be the availability of a safety deposit box for passports etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: only one toilet
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mytebelle
brownsville or
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful apartment perfectly located to Old Town”
Reviewed 23 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

This apartment really gives you the experience of being in Old Town Vienna, is on a pedestrian road and located above Grimm Bakery where we had breakfast each morning. It is very comfortable and roomy and is within walking distance of many historic sights near St. Stephans Cathedral. The pictures online are truly what the apartment is, very nice. The landlord is wonderful, responds to emails immediately and offers suggestions of what to see in the area. We booked a transfer from the airport and had no problem locating the apartment. It is a very expensive area for shopping but with so many things to see, who needs to shop?!
I recommend this apartment to anyone visiting central Vienna, you will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the ambience of the apartment.
Liked least: We could not get the dryer to work.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2014
Thank you for a perfect review!
The dryer does work, but I'll make sure to explain its function more clearly to future guests. We also always welcome a call or email during the stay of our guests with any questions they may have.
Hope to see you again soon!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Reviewed 23 June 2013 for a stay in March 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hawkeye
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful Apartment in a Beautiful City!”
Reviewed 8 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012
4
people found this review helpful

This apartment is a beautifully situated flat right in the heart of Vienna. It is located on a charming, quiet street (Kurrentgasse) right on the doorsteps of Judenplatz. Like others have already posted, this flat is literally a 5 minute walk from Stephansdom Cathedral in the center of the old city. The U-Bahn station (Stephansplatz) is easily accessed right outside the cathedral where you will have access to all other parts of the City.

The Grimm Bakery is right downstairs from the flat, where fresh rolls were bought daily for breakfast during our stay. Also, the closest mini-supermarket (Billa) is a 5 minute walk across Judenplatz (very convenient for picking up breakfast items to start the day’s adventures). We found this flat exceptionally comfortable for our family of 5 (it can easily accommodate 3 additional people in the flat with the beds that were in the apartment). Getting an apartment for a larger group is much more economical than seeking a hotel for our stay as most hotel rooms can only accommodate 2 (at most 3) adults.

The amenities of the apartment were as described on the TripAdvisor website, (including free WI-FI in the apartment) all in excellent working order. The dishwasher and clothes washer/dryer combo in the apartment was a great advantage, especially for refreshing our clothing during our week long stay. There is an English guide in the apartment that explains how to operate the amenities of the apartment, including the clothes washer/dryer appliance (the settings on the dial are in German). All were easily operated using the guide.

Another great feature of the apartment was the owner’s inclusion of several recent movies that are accessed through the flat’s entertainment center. This was a welcome, relaxing activity with the family that we took advantage of many nights after long days of sightseeing.

There is only one bathroom in the flat and it is spread across 2 rooms with the toilet being in one room (a bit tight, but manageable), and the shower/wash sink in the other (plenty of room there).

I want to point out that as beautiful and wonderful as the apartment was, the real gem of this stay was the owner, Christian, who willingly and gladly answered all of our pre-trip questions. He provides the renter a very detailed access guide to the apartment, which explains how to get to the flat by driving, taxi, S-Bahn, U-Bahn, etc. This guide assured complete confidence in getting to the apartment in whatever mode of transportation the renter chooses (we took the economical route of the S-Bahn/U-Bahn combination). Christian obtains your arrival information and is there waiting for you in the apartment to show you up. Once there, he gladly explains all the features of the apartment and goes over how to operate the entertainment center, how to access the internet, and gives you tips/suggestions of things to do and economical places to obtain fresh baked goods and coffee. Also, Christian provided us with the use of a cell phone (there is no phone in the apartment) so that we would be able to contact him if we needed to for any reason, as well as make local (Vienna) calls during our stay. The stay in this apartment was one of the best experiences we had during all our travels, and we will certainly rent again from Christian in one of his 3 apartments when we return to Vienna.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and amenities of the apartment
Liked least: Toilet room was a bit tight, but manageable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$172
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing