We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Salzburger Altstadt
from US$20.20
More Info
from US$29.90
More Info
from US$69.43
More Info
from US$65.78
More Info
Reviews (8,886)
Filter reviews
8,886 results
Traveller rating
6,286
2,203
323
49
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
6,286
2,203
323
49
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town beautiful city lots of shops walk around christmas market mozart's birthplace salzach river on foot walking tour mirabell gardens salzburg card sound of music tour altstadt architecture tourists castle austria
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 8,886 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A beautiful historical city center. The only diffect is that looks a museum, in the evening there is few real life.

Date of experience: August 2021
1  Thank Baciccia_Riou
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 July 2021 via mobile

A great baroque city with spectacular buildings. It is a shame that the atmosphere is so cheap and touristy. Could be so much nicer.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank 107adriany
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 May 2021

If Venice is a "Pearl of the Adriatic", Salzburg is a "Pearl of the Alps"! I did not plan to write a review about Salzburg Altstadt (Old Town), because there are almost 9,000 of them on Trip Advisor, but when I opened them - I saw that most are 3-4 line remarks, only a few are larger, and this does not do a justice to such a wonderful place!
So, here are a few more tips if you plan to visit:
- Since I made a comparison, it is as walkable as Venice, and the concentration of culture is incredible for such a compact town.
- I can see many people visit Salzburg as a day-trip, but this makes sense if you are only the history buff (the ancient fortress, old streets and churches).
If you are also a fan of Mozart and classical music, you need an additional day, and if you are a fan of "Sounds of Music" - you need one more day for the experience related to the film.
- Once you there - visually you are basically in the 18th century, like a Time Machine, pretty cool (if you go to Steingasse at night, it will be like you are in 15th or 14th century)! The collection of the iron trade signs in front of the Getreidegasse stores is maybe the best you can see (they even have persuaded McDonalds to make one!))
- At the same time, don't forget that Salzburg is much more than Getreidegasse with it's shops: some people say Salzburg is not "authentic" anymore, but it is only if you don't step off the tourist routes.
- By the same reason the best authentic meals you will most likely find not in the Altstadt, but away. My best food experience there was on the north bank of Salzach River, in the New Town, and I discovered that Salzburger Schnitzel is better than Wiener Schnitzel (they put mushrooms inside the meat ; )
- What I didn't realize before I came - is how Salzburg is beautifully located at the foothills of the Alps: the panorama from the Hohensalzburg Fortress is magnificent, especially on a sunny day! And it's weird to see from above how no one really wanted to build a home next to the town's executioner's little house - you will see it well standing still alone close to the hill on the south side.
- That's why I also recommend a walk on top of the hill from the Fortress to the Modern Art museum - you will take great photos and can have a beer with the view! But count a couple of hours for this.
- The Cathedral (Dom) is truly magnificent (inside), and I believe when they say it is "the best baroque church north of the Alps". The architecture ensemble inside is very harmonious because they built it fast. The spirit of Mozart, who used to work there every Sunday, helps to enjoy the atmosphere. You are not allowed to come and not like Mozart! ))
- If you come in winter, Salzburg is reasonably good base for skiing: there are many ski resorts within 1,5 hours of driving. But remember that during the blizzards you must be careful and the wheel chains on cars sometimes are required by law!
- the underground garage is the best option for a car: it's a little more expensive, but VERY conveniently located.
- So: great fortress, great (classical) music, great schnitzel and schnapps, great skiing - what else do you need?

Date of experience: June 2020
10  Thank VadA_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 May 2021

The old town with its old historical buildings and great architecture is very beautiful. On both sides of the Salzach there are countless squares, small alleys, as well as shops, cafés and restaurants for every taste.
Everything can be easily reached on foot. Comfortable and relaxed, most things can be easily integrated into a tour of the old town in 2-5 days.

But not only during the day, also in the evening, when it is dark and lit, it is wonderful. A walk along the Salzach. There are many benches that invite you to linger. Music. Nice people. Very worthwhile.

You also have a great view of Salzburg and the mountains when you go to the fortress "Hohensalzburg". There you can also go to one of the restaurants / cafés and enjoy the view over Salzburg.

Definitely worth a visit. In addition, there are tons of other sights, nature and many other cities in the "nearby vicinity".

Date of experience: July 2020
1  Thank Moonamuslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 March 2021

We briefly visited Salzburg in 2019 and dearly wanted to return for a longer visit. However, while we are fully vaccinated, due to the muddling around by the EU with vaccines we are now making plans to visit UK. Such a pity...

Date of experience: March 2021
1  Thank J5226ONrobertg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews