We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful and quiet beach

We were here on one of the hottest days this summer and spent more time in the waves and at the... read more

Reviewed 6 November 2019
phrodo
,
Oslo, Norway
Beautiful beach

Beautiful view, water is not deep - great fo kids.So many turtle nests, But its sad to see so much... read more

Reviewed 10 October 2019
Kira R
Read all 553 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Kyrenia
Jeep Safari
22 Reviews
from US$70.15
More Info
from US$67.55
More Info
from US$99.16
More Info
from US$396.64
More Info
Reviews (553)
Filter reviews
553 results
Traveller rating
273
164
68
31
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
273
164
68
31
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews turtle nests beautiful beach power station beach restaurant northern cyprus well worth a visit release volunteers lay sea waves lira
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 553 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2016

With two Vegans, one Vegetarian and nature lovers all, we HIGHLY enjoyed our time digging up the turtle nests, and then setting them free in the evening. Too bad the registration for night release can only be done on the day, they don't take reservations by email or even the day before...WELL WORTH THE TRIP THOUGH. And the beach was not crowded for swimming.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank hedva2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We actually visited by booking when the little hatchlings were going to be released. You need to be aware via the SPOT Facebook page what activities would be taking place that day and then book as soon after 12pm as possible to get a slot. We were very lucky that we did so.
We did get lost - at night two of the access roads to the beach are locked off as it is protected so you have to go to Alagadi village and take the right fork by the restaurant, sign posted Turtle Project.
The volunteers are amazing, helpful and friendly. We were shown a video of the turtles to start with and then the volunteer talked us through what would happen.
We all walked to the beach together in the dark but with flashlights. There were some mobility impaired people who were allowed to drive to the beach. However, once we got to the steps down to the sand all white lights had to be turned off so as not to confuse the turtles. There were steps down to the beach so this could be a problem if you have trouble walking.
Once on the beach, a line was drawn in the sand and we all stood behind it. We were each given a little hatchling and were able to release it to the beach - it was a very emotional experience and I have been thinking of my little turtle ever since.
Great place - run by volunteers who do a great job - recommend this but you have to be closely monitoring Facebook!

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank AbbottsEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Released baby Turtles at night time. Very informative. Charitable organisation. Good for all ages. Fully Recommend.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank darrenparker04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016

I was lucky enough to hear of turtle hatchlings being released into the sea some evenings, and managed to join one of the groups doing this.

It's free of charge, but you need to ring The Turtle Project at 12 noon to see if there are any hatchlings to be released that night. They don't know until then whether or not they will have any releases, and if they do the places fill up quickly.

On arrival we were shown a video (about 15 minutes long, I think) about turtles and the conservation project, then given a briefing about the release of the turtles. We walked (about 10 minutes; it was further than I expected) in the dark to the beach, where no white light was allowed so as to not confuse the hatchlings. A line was drawn in the sand, behind which we all had to stand. The volunteers from the Turtle Project gave each person a hatchling then we all put them down at the same time to make their way to the sea.

It was amazing to be involved so closely in this project. Souvenirs were for sale (earrings, keyrings, t-shirts, etc) and donations were received, but there was no pressure.

If you are in the area then do try to do this as I have never heard of an opportunity like this anywhere else.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank elif-now-in-norwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

We didn't stay as it was not what we expected when we arrived. Being a protected place 'Turtle Bay' was very dirty and full of rubbish. Having young children and with it being so hot we also needed to hire parasols. There are no facilities that we could see at this beach. All in all not what we expected and surprisingly dirty which is a real shame.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Shefchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews