We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm, welcoming, amazing!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Courtyard from the air
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Courtyard from the air
Maison Cachee Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
The Courtyard from the air
Maison Cachee Garden
Doorway between Master bedroom and second bedroom
pool Area
heated pool in the evening
View from kitchen window
Play Area
View from pool
view from play area
Table D'hote available
Breakfast available
spring at ste catherine
Rouillac 3 mins away by car
easy bike hire available
Sign to say you are here
Amphitheatre 5 mins away
Courtyard from a distance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rouillac, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Coventryp...
Coventry
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm, welcoming, amazing!”
Reviewed 27 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We came on holiday to The Courtyard at the beginning of August as return visitors this year. Everyone has their reasons as you will see from the reviews, but for us it was the feeling of being somewhere warm, welcoming and beautiful, with amazing people!
We drove through the night via the tunnel (there are other quicker ways such as flying or the new quick TGV service, but our young family comes with a carful of luggage) and spent the day in Poitier before the final drive to St Catherine. Within minutes of the car doors opening, our son and daughter had made friends with the other families' children and headed off to play!
The gites are clean and very well appointed with every piece of equipment you could ever need (stairgates, cots, childrens toys, well equipped kitchens, dishwashers, even Tassimo machines!) The arrival dinner is extremely welcoming after the long drive and gives a taste of what's to come.
Our kids LOVE the two dogs Suzy and Lyla, and had a great time feeding and watching the chickens roam through the yard. The swimming pool and play area were a big hit, and it was hard to keep the kids away from them!
In terms of activities, chocolate making is a must, as is the horse riding and crafts. 90 mins drive will get you to the seaside and the amazing zoo situated on the coast. Although a reasonable drive, we thoroughly recommend it. Angouleme and Cognac are close, and pretty towns to visit and look round.
Of course, the holiday wouldn't be complete without sampling Steph's amazing cooking. My wife is dairy and gluten free, and Steph didn't disappoint, going out of her way to make sure we were catered for! The children get their food first, then head off to do a number of activities after dinner.
We've spoken about the children, but equally important for any family is how Steph and Charlie look after the adults. They have a way of making sure the children are occupied so the adults can get on with the important task of relaxing with some good food, drink and a bit of socialising! On a family holiday the adults are just as important as the kids. We spent most evenings of our week on the terrace chatting to Charlie, Steph and the other families long after the children had gone to bed, and for us this made our week. To sit on the terrace watching the sun go down and chatting about non child related subjects was bliss!
Our week was capped off when adults and children all jumped in the pool at once (search for the photo on this page). The children even got certificates to say what they enjoyed best during their week- a really nice touch.
Sorry for the long review, but its hard to do the Courtyard justice any other way. You have to experience it to believe it- We promise you won't be disappointed!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2017
Thank you for your lovely words! We look forward to welcoming you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lollwilli...
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great escape!”
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed for a week, fantastic escape into real France! The cottage was full of character, done out tastefully and the kids love their room with the big sofa, toys and DVD player for chill out time. The hosted evenings were AMAZING! So relaxing and Stephanie's food was fantastic! She recommended lots of fun activities which we all really enjoyed! Could have stayed longer!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
A real pleasure to host you all! I look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schmallee...
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful French retreat with excellent hospitality!”
Reviewed 22 July 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed in Maison Caché for the most part of April-July 2017 and had an absolutely splendid time! Everything was beyond what we imagined it would be when we booked. Stephanie, Charlie and Finn were excellent, warm, helpful hosts providing us with endless toys and activity suggestions for our kids, some of the most delicious food and wine anyone could ask for, and a really relaxing, fun home away from home experience! The location was a great place for sightseeing and exploring the rest of the Charente, including Cognac, Jarnac, Angoulême, and lovely beaches on the Atlantic coast. The Courtyard was a relaxing retreat with everything you needed, including heated pool and all the home comforts on your return from a day out! Beds were super comfy and cleanliness gets top marks!

We would whole-heartedly recommend The Courtyard of Sainte Catherine to anyone, and we hope to return again, next time bringing our friends with us! ;)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2017
It was an absolute delight to be home from home for your little family and a genuine pleaseure to be part of your lives for a while. I look forward to your returning and seeing your lovely boys grow up. Thank you for your kind words. x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ugm1pa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful family friendly retreat in rural France”
Reviewed 20 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had a truly wonderful week at the Courtyard. With 2 small children to look after it was brilliant to stay somewhere so well equipped to handle them. It made the whole experience so much easier and more enjoyable. Our hosts Steph and Charlie were incredible. On arriving (despite being a little early) we had a glass of rose placed in our hands and a colouring book placed in our daughter's. They were so helpful and despite a couple of days of average weather there was loads for the little ones to do to keep them occupied. Our daughters loved the arts and crafts and the pool and play areas were fantastic. Also we were blown away by Steph's food - it is high end restaurant quality - utterly delicious, beautifully presented and delivered to your door. In summary we can't recommend this place highly enough - we look forward to returning!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2017
It was a pleasure to host you all and hope to do so again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley B
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our first family holiday with our baby ”
Reviewed 1 July 2017 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed in Cache(2016) amazing owners, they go out of their way through and through to make your holiday the best holiday possible.

Our accommodation was perfect for us, so clean and tidy, Steph changed our towels for us which was a lovely surprise to get fresh ones. She popped in now and then to check all was ok and did we need anything. Taking any requests for food for the nights we are with her and Charlie.
Our baby had a lovely cot, all the linen needed and even a brand new changing mat.

We had the welcome food on arrival which was delicious and such a treat after our journey. Left us wanting more of Stephanie's fab cooking!!

We ate with Steph and Charlie on the days that Steph cooks for her guests. The food was outstanding, fresh, full of flavour and any requirements met.
The company of the other guests, Steph and Charlie meant the adults could chit chat and the children play together around us.

Steph also cooked for the children and again she would meet all their requirements with ease! She's amazing in every way.

The views surrounding the Courtyard are stunning and peaceful.
We did the choc.makinf and pony riding the children really enjoyed them.
It was really helpful to be able to talk to Steph about where to go, where to eat etc knowing she'd have you in the best hands possible.
I really can't wait to be able to revisit and our boys can't either.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2017
Thankyou for your kind words it really was a pleasure to host you and I look forward to welcoming you and your lovely boys again !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing