We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming, Historic Home in an Excellent Location”
other travellers have booked this property
Romantic bedroom with antique colourful tiles & traditional Maltese balcony.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Romantic bedroom with antique colourful tiles & traditional Maltese balcony.
The traditional enclosed balcony, a view of street life in the capital city. Kitchen/dining room in cellar with crossed stone arches.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Romantic bedroom with antique colourful tiles & traditional Maltese balcony.
The traditional enclosed balcony, a view of street life in the capital city.
Kitchen/dining room in cellar with crossed stone arches.
This gives you an idea of the House layout on 3 floors.
Plenty of reading material in the bedroom's library
A good night's sleep in the comfortable king size bed.
Selection of DVDs in TV room for an evening in.
Street entrance to Valletta G-House.
Valletta as seen from the sea, across the harbour.
Detail of Renzo Piano's exciting new parliament building in Valletta.
British history - Have tea in Queen Victoria Square in Valletta.
Plenty of knights of St John history in Valletta.
Discover Valletta on foot. Some great examples of architecture.
St John's CoCathedral in Valletta where Caravaggio's 'Beheading of St John' is.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Valletta, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
IllinoisT...
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Charming, Historic Home in an Excellent Location”
Reviewed 3 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Valletta G-House is a charming, historic home in an excellent location for sightseeing in Valletta. The house is well-appointed and just as it appears in photographs. The kitchen was outfitted with everything we needed, and we REALLY appreciated the welcome basket after a long day of travel. The owners are very responsive and easy to reach by text, which is reassuring.

I want to give special praise for the airport pickup. We missed our flight from London to Valletta, so instead of arriving early in the afternoon, we arrived at 12:40 am the next day. We were so relieved to see Salah waiting for us in the airport. He was friendly and helpful, and we engaged him for our drive back to the airport.

The location is very good for sightseeing, just a ten minute walk from major sights such as St. John's Co-Cathedral and the Grand Master's Palace. The Malta Experience is right around the corner, and there are plenty of good restaurants nearby.

Now for the downsides. The bathroom is on the lower level, two flights down from the bedroom. The ceilings are very low downstairs, so beware if you are tall! I should note, though, that these things are disclosed on the website and when booking, so you know exactly what to expect.

Why four "stars" instead of five? The luggage storage situation, which I have discussed with the owners, is incredibly frustrating. You cannot leave your luggage after 10 am, and the only place to check bags in Valletta is about a mile away, uphill. Moreover, their hours for storage are limited. We found it very stressful having to deal with luggage storage on our last day in Valletta. I have been reassured that the owners are re-considering the luggage storage situation.

That said, Valletta G-House is a special property worth a stay in Malta.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2018
Thank you for the lovely review. Whenever we have guests checking in on the same day that guests are checking out, we try to accommodate both with their luggage storage requirements, but when a clash of timing occurs, the people checking in take priority, because it is essentially their day :) We currently already provide an alternative for luggage storage, which is is a few meters away from the house but we are now looking at a closer alternative to accommodate guests further. Thank you for the suggestion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindao310
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Charming!”
Reviewed 10 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

The G house is charming, elegant and quirky. The location is amazing. A steady climb up Republic or Mercanti Streets in to the Center of town where all the shops, restaurants and tourist attractions are located. A quick walk in the other direction takes you to The Malta Experience attraction, which I highly recommend. The little shop around the corner, appears tiny but it just keeps going back. You will find most things you will need. They had the best strawberries, the size of plums! I did not meet the owners in person. I did not need to. Alison and I communicated by text and she was very attentive and responsive. Kudos to their driver Salah who picked me up at airport. He was charming. The only negative comment I have is that there is construction going on across the street. On a couple of days they were loading construction debris and it was a bit noisy. Of course this is totally outside the owners control. Would definitely recommend!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2018
Thank you Linda it was a pleasure to host you. You should come back soon as we've been assured that the construction across the road is nearing completion :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine...
1 review
“Perfect stay at this gem of a house!:)”
Reviewed 27 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

I stayed at the Valletta G House for a few days following a business trip. I wanted to stay over for vacation to experience Valletta. The house is so pretty and superbly furnished reflecting the historic character of the surrounding Valletta. It is also very well maintained and clean. The location of the house was perfect just metres away from all the historic and cultural sites, as well as restaurants, and also the sea! The owner who personally came to meet me was very kind and provided me with great tips on places to visit, shops, etc. I really recommend this place for anyone looking for a truly authentic and comfortable experience in Valletta.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2018
Thank you Claudine for the lovely words. It was a pleasure to host you and we're glad to know that the house and beloved Valletta provided a much needed respite from your busy business trip.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha...
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 8 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

The Valletta G-house is everything it’s advertised to be.What’s advertised is exactly what you get - a good bite of history, a real experience for Valletta and Malta, in a setting that’s so genuine, with attention to detail, but took our breath away. To top it all, Suzanne and Alison are the kind of hosts that we like - always there for you when you need them but absolutely not intrusive. Throughout our stay they were at the end of the line and very responsive through messages and calls. They recommended restaurants, put us in touch with a great taxi driver, and even arranged our airport transfer. Absolutely stress-free.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2018
Hey Samantha, you're so very welcome. We're thrilled to see that your stay with us is one that you will cherish. Come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylviagri...
Nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We ❤️ It!”
Reviewed 8 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We have recently returned from a fabulous little trip to malta which was made truly special by the g-house team.
We were met personally at the airport by their meet and greet staff and shown some sights en route. We arrived at the g-house and were totally enchanted on stepping into this gem of a property! It is small but of perfect proportions for a dreamy romantic stay for two! The owners gave us a call soon after we arrived to ask if we needed anything and repeatedly asked us to call them if we had any requests during their stay. In fact, I did ask for a recommendations to celebrate a special night with my partner and they gave us an ace recommendation for a night that we shall not forget! I would wholeheartedly recommend this bijoux house to any couple wanting to stay in and explore the island from beautiful Valletta. It is wonderful!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2018
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that our recommendations worked out well for you. We'd love to host you again one day, so give us a shout if you ever return to Malta on holiday. Thanks once again for being such great guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing