We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent...!”
Review of Grotto Tavern

Grotto Tavern
Ranked #8 of 66 Restaurants in Rabat
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Situated in the charming village of Rabat, opposite St Paul's Church, The Grotto Tavern Restaurant boasts a typical Maltese house of character, which has been transformed into a lovely restaurant retaining original Maltese features and an interconnecting cellar featuring a 2000 year old cave. The Grotto Tavern's kitchen brigade have and continue to satisfy the palate of a multinational clientele with sublime cuisine, bringing together the finest seasonal produce with innovation, finesse and expertise to bring forth tantalising dishes. The Grotto Tavern Restaurant guarantees a discreet and an impeccably attentive service allowing patrons the time to savour and enjoy the cuisine and the company.
Reviewed 3 May 2018

The ambience, the decor, the staff, the food... everything about this restaurant is just wow. It's been a while since i visited a genuinely good restaurant... and this one really hit the excellent mark for us.
Highly recommended if you're looking for an intimate and quite evening with really good food. Will definitely visit again soon!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marsi228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan P, Manager at Grotto Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted with your comments and positive feedback and greatly anticipate your return!

Best Regards,
Kathleen Pearson
Marketing and Events
Grotto Tavern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

Even if we arrived late we had no problem getting served. My husband had the rabbit that was very, very nice and crisp. I had the fish soup, to be honest not what I expected but it was a great surprise! Lovely!

Thank Gabri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan P, Manager at Grotto Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted with your comments and positive feedback and greatly anticipate your return!

Best Regards,
Kathleen Pearson
Marketing and Events
Grotto Tavern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

Cannot say enough about this amazing restaurant! It’s tucked away in a private but not too private lower ground level but still has plenty of natural light coming in from the street above. The decor is so so cute and the menu was adorable! Very clean and very attentive staff. We ordered the Maltese taste platter which was phenomenal with their house made sausage, sundried tomatoes, bread, goat cheese, and surprisingly good pickled onion among other things. We also ordered the orange octopus which was sooo tasty as well. For sure worth a visit if in Mdina or Rabat!!

Thank Capriana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan P, Manager at Grotto Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted with your comments and positive feedback and greatly anticipate your return!

Best Regards,
Kathleen Pearson
Marketing and Events
Grotto Tavern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

The sampler plate was a generous serving of sausages, pickled onions, picked beans, olives, fresh cheese, sun dried tomatoes and bread. The two of us shared that and a dish of orange octopus. It made for the perfect lunch. We loved the authentic flavors of the sampler. It was unlike anything we've had in any other country.

The service is excellent. The atmosphere colorful and pleasing to the eye.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ahling33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan P, Manager at Grotto Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted with your comments and positive feedback and greatly anticipate your return!

Best Regards,
Kathleen Pearson
Marketing and Events
Grotto Tavern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

I haven't written a review before but the food here was so good that I felt I had to share!

The staff were friendly and very helpful, offering alternatives when they didn't have the wine we asked for- it was Delicious :)

The ravioli was gorgeous and just the right amount. I would highly recommend the cannoli for desert as well. We definitely didn't plan on eating so much but it was so nice!

Definitely recommend for an evening out.

Thank robyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan P, Manager at Grotto Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted with your comments and positive feedback and greatly anticipate your return!

Best Regards,
Kathleen Pearson
Marketing and Events
Grotto Tavern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grotto Tavern also viewed

 
Rabat, Island of Malta
Rabat, Island of Malta
 
Mdina, Island of Malta
Rabat, Island of Malta
 

Been to Grotto Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing