We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (613)
Filter reviews
613 results
Traveller rating
370
139
54
31
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
370
139
54
31
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews silent city duplex suite walled city of mdina private terrace historic setting within the walls hot tub unique hotel sleeping area rooftop restaurant your luggage top floor medina restaurant cooked breakfast welcome drink trattoria regis
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 613 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights and booked to have a terrace and jacuzzi. Split level room with a well appointed bathroom and walk in shower. However the principle selling point is the terrace with its panoramic views over the Maltese countryside - here you can sunbath, chill, enjoy wine and the view while watching the world slowly go back (farmers farming, tourists walking, swallows flying high and swooping). The staff were excellent at recommending local beach and a fantastic Italian restaurant in Valletta. The palace is quiet and relaxing and appears to have been here forever - the small number of rooms means that it never feels busy. There is a small gym that I used but could be described intimate. Breakfast is taken on the terrace with wonderful view of the island.
The only two problems we had were the sink fitting was broken during our entirely stay and often would come off in our hand while washing (reported) and the shower leaked from Friday to sunday. We complained on four separate occasions and each time we informed the engineer had fixed it - each time the leak got worse flooding the entire bathroom. Finally on the Saturday evening the water came down the stairs into the living area soaking the carpet. My wife patience at this point snapped and confronted management outlining her disappointment. A different engineer was commissioned and the problem resolved on Sunday. For the cost of the room this shouldn't have happened and we shouldn't have had to complain as much as we did. Having stayed at Relais & Chateau properties previously I thought the hotel might have sent chocolates or flowers as a apology for the inconvenience but nothing was fourth coming and the incident was not referenced when we checked out. A slightly disappointing end to a otherwise wonderful vacation.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank HonestTraveller1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeanpierrecassar, Public Relations Manager at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you for taking your time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you loved The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux. Your kind words have been warmly received and we hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again very soon!

Many thanks and kind regards

Jean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

The Xara Palace is perched high on the ancient bastions of Mdina with wonderful views over Malta. It was a privilege to stay in this ancient castle. Steeped in history and romance and beautifully decorated throughout with the rooms individually furnished, it has been modernised discretely to the highest standards. All of the staff deserve praise; courteous, efficient, knowledgable and very likeable. Nothing was too much or too difficult. It was a joy to stay there and I look forward to the opportunity to do so again! I would recommend the Xara Palace without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alec M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeanpierrecassar, Public Relations Manager at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Thank you for taking your time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you loved The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux. Your kind words have been warmly received and we hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again very soon!

Many thanks and kind regards

Jean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

This was our fourth visit to the hotel and each time I fear that they cannot match the previous visit in respect of service and general quality. But they do! The standards they maintain are exceptional and the hotel on this occasion was impossible to criticize. We chose a duplex on this occasion and were surprised to find such a lovely room, beautifully appointed. The staff couldn't do more for us and as usual we dined at De Mondion where our meal was probably the best we have had.

Room Tip: If you have a duplex guarantee whatever you want is on the other floor but room 4 is beautifully appointed
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter2912014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeanpierrecassar, Public Relations Manager at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Thank you for taking your time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you loved The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux. Your kind words have been warmly received and we hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again very soon!

Many thanks and kind regards

Jean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018

A stay at the Xara Palace is like living a dream. The hotel itself is beautifully furnished and decorated. The staff are all a glorious mixture of supreme efficiency and genuinely friendly and helpful personalities. The food in the De Mondion restaurant is sublime. The new menu is well thought out and the food beautifully presented.
Mdina itself is a magical place full of history and beautiful buildings.There is a sence of peace not found in many places in this manic world we now inhabit.
Mdina and The Xara Palace are an oasis of calm perfection and make the perfect destination to unwind.
On a more practical note Mdina has excellent bus routes from just outside the city walls. Malta has so many interesting places to visit one visit is never enough.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeanpierrecassar, Responsable relations publiques at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thank you for taking your time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you loved The Xara Palace Relais et Chateaux. Your kind words have been warmly received and we hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again very soon!

Many thanks and kind regards,

Jean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

Located in the wall city! A place most people just visit for the day. The days around the "city" were quite busy with lots of tourists but by the night it was deserted and was very peaceful. It was really special staying here, The hotel was beautiful and room were exceptional. The only flaw was the bathroom, which let the room down, I'm 6'1 and struggled to get under the shower, the whole bathroom was very dated. I was told at reception the bathrooms were being renovated over the next year so this may not be an issue now. I would highly recommend this place and i wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank nicholas84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeanpierrecassar, Responsable relations publiques at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thank you for taking your time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you loved your stay in our hotel. Your kind words have been warmly received and we hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again very soon!

Many thanks and kind regards,

Jean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews