We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Farmhouse - 5 Stars”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Gharb, Island of Gozo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Glenn C
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Farmhouse - 5 Stars”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I can only apologise to Anthony for taking so long to write this review as it was promised all the way back in June. I'd like to start by echoing the sentiments of the previous two reviewers and say that both me and my girlfriend spent a wonderful 5 nights at his Farmhouse and would heartily recommend it to anyone thinking of travelling to Gozo or the surrounding area.

We were initially attracted to the property as it seemed to have a lot of the features that we craved (private pool, courtyard, en-suite rooms, roof terrace, bbq etc.) while maintaining its affordability, especially when compared to other properties in the area. Gharb itself a beautifully petite village located in the North-West of Gozo, complete with picturesque town centre and impressive Basilica that seem to be compulsory to every small hamlet across the island.

Despite its secluded location, getting to and from the Farmhouse proved to be very easy with a bus stop a few metres from the entrance which will take you into the capital Victoria, where you catch you onward connections. Locations such as San Lawrenz and the Azure window are also within a (somewhat long but ultimately enjoyable) walking distance. The bus system on Gozo is extensive, and while the service stops short of operating throughout the night getting into the swing of the transport system was an intuitive experience and was an extremely cheap and effective way of getting about (€1.50 for a days unlimited travel)

Due to flight delays Antony kindly offered to meet us at the nearby and impressive Ta Pinu basiclla and guide us to the farmhouse from there. A small amount of food and home-brewed wine was on offer to bide us over to the morning, and information was provided on local amenities such as supermarket locations, opening times and local activities/restaurants etc.

The Farmhouse itself is situated in a tight plot of land on the outer edges of the village. Nestling between alleyways and surrounding structures, it manages to use the space available to it effectively to create a warm and inviting atmospher. Upon entering the courtyard you will come across the small pool (complete with Jacuzzi function) and just enough patio space to squeeze in 2 sun loungers without tumbling into the water. Moving in to the building there is a generously sized lounge come kitchen with all the required utensils along with an oven, grill, hobs & dishwasher. An extremely tight spiral staircase (I’m 6 Foot 2 and struggled a bit) leads down into a refreshingly cool basement which has the same floor space as the room above. To be honest we didn’t use this space too much as we found that we had move than enough room for two in the rest of the property, but it was interesting nonetheless with walls decorated with sketches depicting the previous Grand Masters of the islands over the centuries.

Both the master and the twin bedroom are of good size, with small Juliet balconies overlooking the alley and pool respectively. The en-suite bathrooms complete with showers are small but just-about manageable in both rooms, and there is also a larger bathroom/shower off the lounge below located underneath the stairs. As a side note there is both overhead, ceiling mounted fans and Air conditioning in both the bedroom and the kitchen. The air-conditioning works on a coin-operated timer but perversely a 2 euro coin lasted us the entire 5 nights with the majority of the fare still left to use.

Moving up, there is another tight stone spiral staircase that leads up to the roof deck, complete with a quaint stone BBQ and outside lighting. This area was fantastic to inhabit, especially in the evenings when the BBQ was fired up and the temperature was a bit cooler.

Durring our time here we visited the majority of the island, hiring a car for one of the days from the “Kempinski San Lawrenz” hotel which is within walking distance and has a car-hire company operating within its reception area along with a spa which non-guests can use for a price.

We used the vehicle as an opportunity to explore the more far-flung areas of Gozo which would have taken too long to reach by bus; including a picturesque drive along the coast during sunset from Ramla Bay to Reqqa point. I would also heartily recommend Xlendi, Ta’Pinu, Marsalforn, the Azue Window/ The in-land sea amongst other locations. Also of note is the company “Joyride Watersports” who are based in Hondoq Bay which we used to hire a self-drive 70HP boat for a few hours to cruise around the small island Comino which is sandwiched between Gozo and its larger partner Mala. These guys were great and gave a thorough safety instruction before letting you off on your own and offered reasonable prices – you can find their contact details on their website.

Overall we rated the farmhouse very highly, and would recommend it as an excellent place for a couple to stay if you are looking for the quiet, peaceful and ultimately relaxing surroundings of Gharb and Gozo. However due to the lack of outside space and the size of pool I would only come here with children if they were still relatively young, as you may find that you would require a larger property with a bigger family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Pool, BBQ and Roof Space
Liked least: Quality of mattress could be improved.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tine K
Ghent, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable and cosy little hideway, ideal for a week of relax!”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed on the isle of Gozo for 5 days and stayed at this lovely stone farmhouse in San Pietru, on the outskirts of the village of Gharb. The reception (at 1 am at night) was superb, they bought us food and drinks to make sure we could eat something. They also arranged our transport from the airport to the house for us. The house is very well equipped and comfortable. We didn't use the living room down in the cellar because the dining room and kitchen were big enough for us both. The little pool with jaccuzzi is a great extra when coming back from a cycling tour or walk, we used it a lot. The wifi worked perfectly. The rooms are good size and comfortable. Even though it's not centrally located, we would definitely stay there again when returning to Gozo.
The only thing we could say is that terrace next to the pool is bit small but then again there's also the nice big roof terrace with nice views to make up for that.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoTP
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous and Characterful”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Gorgeous, cosy stone cottage tucked away down a tiny alley in a beautiful, peaceful hamlet just outside Gharb. The house is full of character and has been beautifully finished with old, rustic antiques and farming implements and beautiful stone work.
The basement lounge is amazing and accessed via a TINY spiral staircase.
The farmhouse kitchen and family room is welcoming, well equipped and lovely for candlelit dinners.
The bedrooms are lovely - not huge but very comfortable with lots of wardrobe space, comfy beds, nice linen, rush fly screens and gorgeous Juliette balconies. The double room has a small ensuite (water pressure very low in the shower as I think it is gravity fed) and the twin room has ensuite toilet and basin. Downstairs there is another shower room (water pressure fine in there!) Plenty of towels available.
From the first floor another tiny stone staircase leads up to a lovely roof terrace with a stone built BBQ, table and chairs. There is also picnic crockery and BBQ utensils up here and a sink so you don't have to carry everything upstairs. We tried to BBQ one night but it was very windy the week we were on the island so it proved a bit tricky!
On the ground floor there is also a small courtyard with a lovely little plunge pool with a built in jacuzzi (unheated) and a couple of sunbeds.
We took a slight gamble on this property as it is clearly new to the market and didn't have any reviews but I would DEFINITELY stay here again. The quality of the finish and attention to detail is impressive for a rental property.
The location is great - about half a mile to Gharb and St Lawrenz for the little supermarkets and a 5 min drive to the Azure Window and Inland Sea (the €4 boat trip from the inland sea, through the tunnel and then around the azure window and the coastal caves is a must). We hired a car but I did notice a bus stop in the square 50 yards from the cottage. Its a very quiet spot and the only things we really heard were the the sparrows (they can have a lot to say for themselves!), some distant gun-shots (the Maltese are big on hunting) and the mid-morning postman on his motorbike.
Tony, the owner is lovely. We met him in Gharb outside the beautiful church and showed us to the cottage. Had we been on foot, then he offered to collect us from the ferry (also very frequent and cheap). We had a lovely complementary food parcel on arrival of all the basics to tide us over and even a bottle of his homemade wine!
Eating out in Gozo and Malta is very reasonable and the food is fantastic. Italian is probably the main influence with pasta, pizza and Mediterranean herbs but there were also some fantastic north african and arabic flavours too. Look out for local specialities like ricotta, capers, rabbit, fish, pastizzi (tasty little pea pies), Kinnie ( a local soft drink), carob syrup, strawberries, prickly pears, oranges, figs, honey, bean humous, ftira bread (traditionally served with tomato paste, tuna, capers and olives) and cheesy twistees (crisps). I strongly recommend Maldonado restaurant in Victoria (about 15 mins drive) for amazing food in a stunning, stone-vaulted setting with great cocktails too (cocktails only €3.75!!).
Bring comfortable walking shoes. Gozo is a beautiful island with quaint villages and stunning coastline so its great to get out walking especially in the spring when the weather is balmy and the flowers are blooming.
Be aware that the citadel at Victoria is currently undergoing major restoration so its a bit of a building site at the moment. Its still worth a visit though to see the view from the wall. The gunpowder battery and silos are a very interesting little tour, as is the old gaol.
The Blue Lagoon and Camino are a must and the waters around the islands are crystal clear, turquoise and stunning. Sadly, sea temperatures were rather chilly in April so we didn't venture in much but I'd love to go back diving later in the season.
Some of the roads can be decidedly dodgy (think rough, farm tracks) as can the driving (driving tests are a fairly new thing in Malta!) but the Maltese people - when not behind the wheel - are amongst the loveliest I've met.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The character of the property.
Liked least: We had a few problems with the wifi, but we weren't too bothered so we didn't trouble the owner with it.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2015
Thanks very much for your nice comments. We really appreciate. Water in the double bedroom is fixed and the pressure is fine now. It is our pleasure to offer great service to our clients.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone M
Villanuova sul Clisi, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2018
Grazie Simone per questa review! Siamo molto felici che avete un bel tempo nella nostra farmhouse ed a Gozo. Saremo molto onorati se vi ritornate da noi. Saluti a tutti voi. Anthony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Luc...
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2017
Thanks very much for your review! We are glad you had a nice stay at Ta' Sant' Antnin farmhouse. We would be pleased to have you again!
Best wishes,
Anthony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing