We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Dog Lover

Colonial charmer with the loveliest hosts

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Mar 2024
Wow....so much history in this place. Felt like staying in a museum. Matt set up a lovely fire for us on arrival. His wife Leonie keeps the place super clean. Sue and Dave are the loveliest couple we met at breakfast. She even catered for my gluten free diet. If you want to escape the hassle and bassle this is your retreat!
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$146
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $146
  • Lol.travel
45.9 km from Mairenui Rural Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
56.5 km from Mairenui Rural Retreat
Free parking
Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
62.3 km from Mairenui Rural Retreat
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
61.9 km from Mairenui Rural Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
19.4 km from Mairenui Rural Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Large open plan kitchen and dining areas, with mountain views
Contact accommodation for availability.
62.3 km from Mairenui Rural Retreat
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
65.8 km from Mairenui Rural Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
61.6 km from Mairenui Rural Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
19.3 km from Mairenui Rural Retreat
Free parking
Room service
Contact accommodation for availability.
40.7 km from Mairenui Rural Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Rangiwahia
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
55
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
55
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful hosts open fire hot water villa david accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2024

Sue & David made me most welcome and comfortable. They are a very interesting couple and conversation around the dining table with them and other guests was most enjoyable as were the meals.
The scenery surrounding the property is just amazing.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Marian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 June 2023 via mobile

My wife and I stayed on a freezing frosty night. We found the accommodation functional and warm with all we required.
David and Sue are wonderful hosts, the meals and conversations were most enjoyable and it was enlightening to learn so much history about the area.

Room tip: Best to arrive in daylight hours
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 January 2022

We stayed here for a birthday celebration, taking up almost all of the facility, so this review is a reflection of a variety of opinions.
Firstly, the various 'locations' are in three distinct areas with the local road intersecting them. If you are staying as a couple then this probabily won't matter, but for us it came as a surprise and meant a bit of coming and going for some in our group.
The villa is definatly "old School' and may come as a bit of a shock to some. Even though we were here in summer the nights were cool/cold. We had to light the fire both nights....Yes an open fire that you have to work at.....comes as a surprise to those who are used to a heat pump.
The ceiling are very high and the windows small. meaning it is dark in there, even when it's bright sunlight outside.
We also had some un-invited guests, of the fury, long tailed variety. Our fault no doubt for leaving food out, but country life!!! (and this is not imagined as we saw them).
The other property is 'quirky' at best. I can imagine some people not being comfortable in there at all, as the sleeping areas have open spaces so private conversations, aren't. Also, for those of us who stayed there, hot water would have been nice.....there was none!
You probabily think that we didn't enjoy our time here, well that's wrong. Far from it, we loved being away from everything and stepping back in time to when houses like this were the norm. But if you think you'd miss your mod con's then perhaps this isn't the spot for you.

Date of stay: January 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank merlin a
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 April 2021 via mobile

Awesome weekend stay at The Retreat. Amazing funky place. Had everything we needed. And amazing views especially waking up in the queen room. Cosy with the fire also. We had breakfast on Sunday which was delicious and plentiful including homemade jams and muesli. Sue and David are wonderful friendly hosts. We'll be back.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank ChristineCP99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 February 2020

We stayed with David and Sue two nights, in the homestead over the road. A delightfully quaint villa, still furnished in the original way, we had the whole building to ourselves, and loved it. The bed was comfortable, the setting beautiful, and breakfast in the main farmhouse each morning was tasty, varied and stylishly presented. Sue's evening meal was also lovely, with drinks included, and they are very pleasant hosts to dine with.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews