We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$170
Fully refundable before Thu, 25 Apr
Breakfast included
Priceline
$170
Fully refundable before Thu, 25 Apr
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
55
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
55
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful hosts open fire hot water villa david accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2019

Arrived from Tauranga late on a stormy afternoon to a warm welcome and shown our already heated, with all facilities, room looking out on pasture, cattle and waving bushland.
Drinks at 7-30 and a beautiful dinner accompanied by stimulating conversation with host and hostess Sue and David Sweet. We have done travel plus plus and must recomend Sue and David's "Rural Retreat" as one of the most comfortable facilities experienced, We will certainly hope we will be seeing more of Sue and Daid's Mairenui Rural Retreat

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Neville L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 April 2019

We stopped here for a night on our way to Wellington. It made for a magical evening with our 3 kids. We saw the sheep getting sheered, met the new foals, and fed Flossy the sheep. David gave us a tour in his vintage land rover around the area. Sue made us a beautiful breakfast in the morning and we had a wonderful time chatting with them about the history of the farm and their own travel experiences. This was a special experience for all 5 of us!

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank misha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 January 2019

I stopped over for 1 night and chose to have the optional dinner. It was beautiful and the conversations with David and Sue were interesting and they made us feel at home. The breakfast was amazing and so was the tour of the farm. The sheep and horses were nice and so was the dog.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Greennmman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Wonderful place to stop in in the NZ countryside. The hosts are charming and the accommodation to a good standard. We had the older house to ourselves (1895 built) with a bedroom and en-suite. Ther house has other rooms plus lounge and kitchen as well, but we dined with our hosts. Dinner and breakfast were excellent. The views around the property are awesome.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 October 2017

Spent 3 nights here, a real rustic rural retreat. Great room with good beds and facilities. Generous and welcoming hosts Sue and David. Good breakfasts and fantastic 3 course meal for dinner, and of course good wines. Great to share travel stories with Sue and David. Thoroughly recommended

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews