We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$170
Fully refundable before Thu, 25 Apr
Breakfast included
Priceline
$170
Fully refundable before Thu, 25 Apr
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
55
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
55
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful hosts open fire hot water villa david accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2019

I stopped over for 1 night and chose to have the optional dinner. It was beautiful and the conversations with David and Sue were interesting and they made us feel at home. The breakfast was amazing and so was the tour of the farm. The sheep and horses were nice and so was the dog.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Greennmman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Wonderful place to stop in in the NZ countryside. The hosts are charming and the accommodation to a good standard. We had the older house to ourselves (1895 built) with a bedroom and en-suite. Ther house has other rooms plus lounge and kitchen as well, but we dined with our hosts. Dinner and breakfast were excellent. The views around the property are awesome.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 October 2017

Spent 3 nights here, a real rustic rural retreat. Great room with good beds and facilities. Generous and welcoming hosts Sue and David. Good breakfasts and fantastic 3 course meal for dinner, and of course good wines. Great to share travel stories with Sue and David. Thoroughly recommended

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Do not be discouraged by the 10 km drive, off the Highway 1 thinking that it will lead you to nowhere!!! Surprise, surprise!!! You will find yourself welcomed by a marvellous couple, David and Sue. We arrived there unexpectedly at 7pm and Sue prepared for us a hearty meal and gave us a very cosy bedroom and a fully equipped bathroom. The table was laid with fresh flowers, candlelit and the food was delicious. The conversation was also very interesting as they are people who travelled a lot. It is so peaceful and so relaxing. We woke up to a homemade breakfast by Sue which was a good start to our day. Then we were greeted by their adorable dog, Ebb who accompanied us to the horses...It was a marvellous experience touching those beautiful mares and their fowls. By the way, Emma, the sheep came along to greet us as well. This was one of the highlights of our holiday.We recommended it to whoever visits the North Island in New Zealand.😊

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SweetSueNZ, Owner at Mairenui Rural Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2017

Thanks a million Maria! It was a surprise for us too! We really enjoyed meeting you & discovering about your country. Travel safely!
Sue & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017

I spent two iChat's at Mairenui in January 2017. I was in the Manuatu to fish, and the guide recommended it. What a terrific find. David and Susan are gracious hosts on a wonderful property high up in the region. Sue's dinners feature homemade entrees and desserts, the latter featuring fruits grown in the garden. David offers lovely wines paired with the mains, and aperitifs on the porch in the early evening are a great chance to unwind, visit with other guests and enjoy the end of the day. The room I stayed in was very comfortable, with an en suite bathroom complete with a sunken tub and plenty of hot water, which I needed after a rugged day chasing trout. This is a gem of a property, highly recommended.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bzigas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SweetSueNZ, Owner at Mairenui Rural Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2017

Thank you so much for your super review! We did enjoy having you to stay and hope that maybe we'll see you again one day.
Best wishes,
Sue & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews