We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
55
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
55
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful hosts open fire hot water villa david accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Do not be discouraged by the 10 km drive, off the Highway 1 thinking that it will lead you to nowhere!!! Surprise, surprise!!! You will find yourself welcomed by a marvellous couple, David and Sue. We arrived there unexpectedly at 7pm and Sue prepared for us a hearty meal and gave us a very cosy bedroom and a fully equipped bathroom. The table was laid with fresh flowers, candlelit and the food was delicious. The conversation was also very interesting as they are people who travelled a lot. It is so peaceful and so relaxing. We woke up to a homemade breakfast by Sue which was a good start to our day. Then we were greeted by their adorable dog, Ebb who accompanied us to the horses...It was a marvellous experience touching those beautiful mares and their fowls. By the way, Emma, the sheep came along to greet us as well. This was one of the highlights of our holiday.We recommended it to whoever visits the North Island in New Zealand.😊

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SweetSueNZ, Owner at Mairenui Rural Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2017

Thanks a million Maria! It was a surprise for us too! We really enjoyed meeting you & discovering about your country. Travel safely!
Sue & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017

I spent two iChat's at Mairenui in January 2017. I was in the Manuatu to fish, and the guide recommended it. What a terrific find. David and Susan are gracious hosts on a wonderful property high up in the region. Sue's dinners feature homemade entrees and desserts, the latter featuring fruits grown in the garden. David offers lovely wines paired with the mains, and aperitifs on the porch in the early evening are a great chance to unwind, visit with other guests and enjoy the end of the day. The room I stayed in was very comfortable, with an en suite bathroom complete with a sunken tub and plenty of hot water, which I needed after a rugged day chasing trout. This is a gem of a property, highly recommended.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bzigas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SweetSueNZ, Owner at Mairenui Rural Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2017

Thank you so much for your super review! We did enjoy having you to stay and hope that maybe we'll see you again one day.
Best wishes,
Sue & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

This was possibly the highlight of my holiday coming here, we only stayed one night and i didn't want to leave the next morning, the house has so much character and was warm and cosy, loved that it had a record player and some really cool records to listen to, What an awesome place to come and stay, i'll definately be back for a much longer visit next time. :)

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 648nikkil
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile


People who prefer nature to busy cities will enjoy alot.
Plenty of outdoors activities even pétanque ...
Sue is a wonderful cook, she likes french food, good cheese etc ... and David always offers some good wine during dinner .
Just love The place ❗️❗️❗️
Sue And David are my friends since my First stay at Mairenui, 1997 I guess ... I came back three times, sent friends of me ...
Always a great stay ✨✨✨

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 952martinem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

Was awe by the interior of the Villa upon checking in. Comes with around 4 rooms which can sleep up to 10 people easily.

I was drowned by the rustic and serenity of the 100 years old Villa and the surrounding. Despite isolated from the outside world, the villa is well equipped with kitchenette and heater. Throughout our stay, we didn't spot any insect despite being in the wild.

The house is decorated with some historical photos that depict the awesome age of this house.

Will definitely come back again during summary as there is no farm activities during winter season.

Oh yah Pls expect no mobile reception in that area.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ray X
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews