We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Nikki L

Total Tranquility

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Oct 2016
This was possibly the highlight of my holiday coming here, we only stayed one night and i didn't want to leave the next morning, the house has so much character and was warm and cosy, loved that it had a record player and some really cool records to listen to, What an awesome place to come and stay, i'll definately be back for a much longer visit next time. :)
Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Contact accommodation for availability.
56.5 km from Mairenui Rural Retreat
Free parking
Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
62.3 km from Mairenui Rural Retreat
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
61.9 km from Mairenui Rural Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
19.4 km from Mairenui Rural Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Large open plan kitchen and dining areas, with mountain views
Contact accommodation for availability.
62.3 km from Mairenui Rural Retreat
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
65.8 km from Mairenui Rural Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
61.6 km from Mairenui Rural Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
62.2 km from Mairenui Rural Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
19.3 km from Mairenui Rural Retreat
Free parking
Room service
Contact accommodation for availability.
40.7 km from Mairenui Rural Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Rangiwahia
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
55
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
55
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful hosts open fire hot water villa david accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile


People who prefer nature to busy cities will enjoy alot.
Plenty of outdoors activities even pétanque ...
Sue is a wonderful cook, she likes french food, good cheese etc ... and David always offers some good wine during dinner .
Just love The place ❗️❗️❗️
Sue And David are my friends since my First stay at Mairenui, 1997 I guess ... I came back three times, sent friends of me ...
Always a great stay ✨✨✨

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 952martinem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

Was awe by the interior of the Villa upon checking in. Comes with around 4 rooms which can sleep up to 10 people easily.

I was drowned by the rustic and serenity of the 100 years old Villa and the surrounding. Despite isolated from the outside world, the villa is well equipped with kitchenette and heater. Throughout our stay, we didn't spot any insect despite being in the wild.

The house is decorated with some historical photos that depict the awesome age of this house.

Will definitely come back again during summary as there is no farm activities during winter season.

Oh yah Pls expect no mobile reception in that area.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ray X
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 March 2016

We stayed at Mairenui Villa for 3 nights to get away and have a "nothing to do at all" break. The Villa was just the break we needed. It was beautiful and idyllic. Sue greeted us on arrival and walked us through the restored Villa. My husband and I had a lovely few days sitting on the verandah gazing across the farms and hills, listening to the birds and the sheep and the horses. Well recommended get away. Thanks Sue and David you will see us again

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mikencass
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 February 2016

We stayed at Mairenui for a night, and we remember it fondly.

We were a couple, so we stayed in the suite attached to the main homestead where David & Sue live. The place is a huge farm, with horses, sheep, dogs, and gardens that they've maintained for decades, with care that reflects in the beautiful landscape.

We were treated with such warmth and hospitality, in such a beautiful place, with such friendly hosts, that we treasure the stay. Thanks David & Sue!

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RamblingRahul
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

Our third visit in 10 years and made to feel like old friends! Relaxed and informal, yet the food has to be the best in the north island, with lively company and conversation. With their natural hospitality, we will have to try one of David and Sue's French adventures one day.

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 421bobh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews