We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Succulent smoky bbq fare worth the trip”

Apiti Tavern & Eatery
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Apiti
Price range: $10 - $28
Description: Country hospitality, Family friendly. Powered sites for motorhomes (self-contained) Bar, restaurant, takeaway, function room, outdoor dining, in house catering
Restaurant details
Description: Country hospitality, Family friendly. Powered sites for motorhomes (self-contained) Bar, restaurant, takeaway, function room, outdoor dining, in house catering
Reviewed 17 July 2021

When I heard there was a tavern in the middle of nowhere which served smoky bbq food, I just had to try for myself.
The drive through the beautiful country side was worth it and I was not disappointed.
Surrounding the tavern are sculptures of moas and giant tuatara-with rustic farm machinery.Smoke was billowing from the chimney.
On entering the decor is simplistic but there are two wood burners which give you a warm welcoming feeling.
There is a casual vibe and the staff are very friendly and accommodating.
Outdoors there is undercover seating and two huge smoke bbqs fired up and ready to go.
You are spoilt for choice with the offerings on the menu all at reasonable prices.
However I was there for the smoky bbq, with that I ordered the smoky brisket hamburger with truffle sauce.
It was succulent full flavour rich and smoky the chef did it justice.Actually his awards are on display behind bar.
The fries are crispy on outside and soft inside - scrumptious.
Coffee is Arosta which is local and the barista served a good cup.
Well worth the trip and I definitely will be back for smoky ribs.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2021 via mobile

Read about the smoked meats being served here recently and thought I’d give it a go. Had the smoked brisket burger. Very very good. Saw lots of other dishes going out and all looked just as good. I’ll definitely be back to try more.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank DaveBevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 May 2021

Great food and friendly service - and an excellent log fire to warm us up on a cold night!

Everything we had was very tasty and well cooked - including the brisket, chicken and the steak.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 April 2021 via mobile

Fantastic dinner in Apiti. Beautiful smoked meats. The ribs were amazing. As was the fried chicken. And great value too.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank ChristineCP99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 March 2021

This was our first visit back to the Apiti Tavern since the new owners took over. We booked a table in advance. On arrival it was clear they were really, really busy. There were cars and Motorbikes everywhere out front. After a short wait to be serviced we were directed to our table. The customer service was great and we were informed of the delay in food delivery. It was beautiful day and we were outside and there was live music so we were entertained while we waited. The food did take a while but OMG it was worth the wait. Fantastic food, well presented and delicious.

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve2902
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Been to Apiti Tavern & Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.