We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
KiwiFia
New Zealand

A great place to relax and unwind

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Jan 2022via mobile
We had a fantastic stay at Hiwinui recently. We enjoyed spending time relaxing on the deck overlooking the lawn and lake, before relaxing in the secluded spa. Our room was lovely with an amazing bathroom (large spa bath, large shower, double vanity). Our breakfast was beautifully cooked and well presented. We came away feeling rested and relaxed. We’d love to go back again.
Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $180
  • Hotels.com
8.3 km from Hiwinui Country Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
IMG
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $130
  • Hotels.com
8.0 km from Hiwinui Country Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front entrance
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $172
  • Hotels.com
8.6 km from Hiwinui Country Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $143
  • Hotels.com
8.8 km from Hiwinui Country Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
Welcome to Alpha Motor Inn
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $154
  • Booking.com
9.2 km from Hiwinui Country Estate
Free parking
Romantic package
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $223
  • Hotels.com
10.2 km from Hiwinui Country Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
One Bedroom Suite
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $196
  • Hotels.com
10.2 km from Hiwinui Country Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $140
  • Hotels.com
10.1 km from Hiwinui Country Estate
Studio
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $183
  • Hotels.com
10.3 km from Hiwinui Country Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
16.4 km from Hiwinui Country Estate
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Ashhurst
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
16
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
16
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sheep farm property spa lodge hosts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2022 via mobile

Stunning location and great hosts. Very close to town but with a very remote feel. Loved it!
Central to many other attractions including hiking and dining.
This is a working dairy farm but when at the estate you really feel hidden from the world.

Room tip: Everything you need is here but bring extra if you think you need.
Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Global05263991969
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 April 2021 via mobile

We stayed four nights here during the week while on business in Palmerston North. A home away from home, beautiful surrounds, comfortable bed with lovely linen and Nespresso tea and coffee making in your room. Jan and David are very friendly and welcomed us into their lodge like old friends. They have an extensive library and fascinating Scottish colonial settler family history that they shared with us. There is also a massage room and day spa so be mindful that others will be using the property while you are there but we were lucky to have the place to ourselves for two of the four days. Next time we will come back in the weekend and enjoy using the day spa facilities.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank silvercloudtour
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 August 2020 via mobile

We only had the opportunity to spend one night here, however we were looked after so well by Jan and David.

The spa treatments were very relaxing, well appointed bedroom with en-suite and private outdoor area. The late night out door spa pool experience complete with open fire and candles was tres romantic. Breakfast was lovely. A very nice overall experience and a great chat with the ‘Hiwinui Stud’ 😉.

Would 100% recommend to the discerning traveler. Very personal treatment.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank AngelaFaye74
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

Had a visit here on a weekend getaway. Staff are just so lovely. The service was wonderful and we were treated fabulous. Highly recommend. Thanks Julie and girls. I will be telling my friends to visit.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mummydearest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 November 2016

This is the place to go if you want to unwind and be totally spoilt, the food was superb, the wine delightful and the treatments out of this world,I tried everything and loved the treatments.
Two nights of sleeping on a wonderful bed and wonderful treatments I felt refreshed and renewed

Room tip: This is an exclusive retreat so the perfect place to go with another couple to take time out from a busy life
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews