We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food”

Old Iceland Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 575 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Steakhouse, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: We are a family run restaurant with Icelandic home cooking. Our specialty is on seafood and Icelandic lamb. We also offer a choice of three or a five course set menu OPENING HOURS: Lunch: 11:30 - 16:15, Dinner: 17:00 - 22:00
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wonderful food and charming little place. Service was very attentive. Definitely try the Oven Baked Ling- it was amazing!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank travelmom68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 36 of 2,126 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We wanted to have dinner there, after reading all the great stuff on tripadvisor. Unfortunately we didn‘t get to the stage of getting any food. We got a table near the door which was open, after asking if they could close it because we were getting cold we were told that the wouldn‘t do it so people outside could see that the restaurant was open. Well that was readon enough to find something warm and cosy.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Kahlan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Þorsteinn G, Owner at Old Iceland Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest.
Thank you for writing a review about us. The door to the restaurant should never stand open. Its as simple as that. We are sorry for this misunderstanding and if you were told something else it is wrong and we are truly sorry about that.
We hope to see you again in the warm and cosy atmosphere we strive to provide to our guests.

Hope you are well.
Best wishes, Thorsteinn Gudmundsson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We liked this place so much that we had to go back for our last meal in Iceland! The service is great, drinks were on point and the food!!!! OMG ... the food is something to remember. Highly recommend it and will definitely go back!!!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank evilmarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2018 via mobile

This is by far one of the best restaurants we have eaten in and that is a high bar since everyplace we have been has had great food.

Make sure you make a reservation unless you don’t mind waiting 20-30 minutes. Reservations are accepted between 17:00-18:00 otherwise it’s 1st come.

We had the three course meal and accommodation was made for gluten sensitive. The lamb was out of this world, our wait person and the rest of the staff were friendly and made sure everything was perfect.

We found the combination of tastes delightful. Hidden gem all the way!

Date of visit: November 2018
2  Thank 518lisaannd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2018 via mobile

This restaurant had hands down the best cod I’ve ever had. I’m not sure what sauce they used, but it was phenomenal, and I wish I could go back and order it again. It came with garlic mashed potatoes which were also tasty. A little pricey, but the cod was so good it was worth it. Cute inside, good service.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 593betsys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Iceland Restaurant also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Old Iceland Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing