We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“un propriétaire très arrangeant qui répond...”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
3 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Orival, Seine-Maritime, Haute-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Nick T
South East
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Beautiful location but sadly some issues that spolit our stay”
Reviewed 18 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
3
people found this review helpful

I want to start with some positives, the location and look of the property are wonderful for a chilled and 'off the beaten track' holiday. The cottage itself is typical Normandy and set up a fairly steep track away from the main road means some peace and quiet (note some as will come to shortly) and the gardens are lovely and well maintained meaning sitting outside and enjoying the sunsets makes for a pleasant end of the day.

The location does mean very little is in easy reach, the nearest bar/restaurant that was open when were out is around 7 miles away in Saint Saens (there is a nearer one but this was not open once when we went through) and although the golf club was an option its also a fair drive to visit if you just want to sit outside and have a coffee.

The downside of renting this particular cottage however were the issues with a mouse/mice - also the owner's view that this is just 'to be expected' due to it being a country cottage. I do not feel that mouse droppings in the oven, a nest in the bottom of the oven, many droppings all over the single bedroom beds (even the top bunk bed) and nest materials on the window sill of the bedroom are acceptable. Even if you dont mind sharing your living accommodation with rodents, watching one run around at midnight whilst your family choose to be at the other end of the building was not my idea of a relaxing time! Sadly even when buying mousetraps to catch the offending animal we were unable to do so which meant ensuring everything was washed before use, we chose not to use the oven due to the mess inside. This has been noted by a number of previous visitors.

The BBQ was very rusty and so small, barely big enough to cook for two let alone more, there was apparently another one which we never saw and was not in the garage. The door lock was a nightmare to turn (5 mins of trying required most times)

Although we did not come on holiday to watch TV, having access to one was in the details yet often we would sit for a minute at a time whilst the sky picture froze.

As mentioned earlier although not the owners fault the yapping/barking dog at the cottage next door was a constant break in the tranquility, as with the above observations, noted by many other guests in the visitors book from the past couple of years.

This was not the worst place to stay by any means but the owner needs to take feedback more seriously and act upon it not just brush it aside as seems to be the case in our experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2017
We were very sorry to hear that this visitor had his holiday ruined by a mouse getting into the property between bookings and making a nest there. We dealt with this problem as soon as it was reported and also a thorough cleaning took place before the next guests arrived. Unfortunately mice can be a feature in any country property but the important thing is to respond quickly which we did.
The door lock has now been fixed, the BBQ replaced and I have had a word with the neighbour who is extremely considerate and has said he will keep his dog in the back garden. We are very fortunate to have a key holder in the village who is there to welcome you and who is happy to sort out any problems like this a soon as she is asked.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$69
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing