We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
8
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 8 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2017

Do you want to test yourself for frost resistance? Then go straight to Snowland - a real ice city. Everything here is made of transparent ice: a restaurant where only mulled wine and reindeer skin can save from the cold. A hotel where the most desperate only can stop for the night. An entire arctic nightclub. In addition, in Snowland you can not only admire the ice sculptures, but even make the same yourself

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Amazing place to visit! We had a nice welcome drink (cognac) in ice cups. The meal was very good. Reindeer burgers and potatoes. And the dessert is a nice combination of blueberries and cream.

You can stay for 1 hour inside the place, so its a quick and good meal.

The ice sculptures are remarkable.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Anderson N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017

What can I say? This is a one night-only stay for a very good reason. The staff is cordial and helpful. It is a beautiful property. There is only one problem with it and of course, that is why you want to go! You are sleeping in a real ice/snow igloo. It is COLD! Your room consists of bed(s) and some illumination. That is all. Your luggage, smarter than you are, is kept somewhere warm. No nightstand, no dresser or bathroom, no TV. It is just you, a heating pad and pillow, and the best sleeping bag in the world. Stay inside and you will sleep just fine. It is not comfortable, it is COLD. Did I mention that it is COLD? The night we stayed there, it was 18 degrees INSIDE the room. I understand that it can get MUCH colder, but that is really irrelevant once you are inside the sleeping bag. Be sure to take your potty break before you go to bed. Getting out of the sleeping bag and getting your shoes and other clothing on in order to walk back into the main building in the middle of the night is no walk in the park.

But you get to say that you survived the night in an igloo! How cool is that?

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank provoshane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2009

We got married at Snowland on 27 Dec 2008 and had a truly wonderful exerience. We did not know what to expect as we hadn't seen any pictures of the venue but it really did not dissapoint.

The venue is a ice structure that resembles the white dome buildings on StarWars - but is absolutly fantastic. When you walk inside you will be mezmorised by the beauty of it and it was really the icing on the cake for our fairytale wedding.

From the ice structures to the twinkling lights in the ceiling of the dome to the ice altar and reindeer pelts and luminated walls the venue is just simply magical

The ceremony is short and sweet - but your guests will thank you for i reckon it is colder inside than it is out. Our guests were pleased for the warmth provided by the hand warmers we provided as favours as they walked in to the venue. We said our own vows and had my Mum read a poem and the the officiant did his bit - all in all it took about 15 mins.

I advise buying some lambs wool insole for your shoes - my feet were toasty warm but the male members of my wedding party had cold toes. I also advise on some shoes with grips for the men as most of my party resembled Bambi on Ice - they were wearing dress shoes. I wore some georgian boots with a heel and didn't slip once.

I booked my whole 7 day stay in Lapland over Christmas 2008 on my own using OPODO and the web to find a suitable lodge for my 8 guests, we stayed at Niemalan Talo - it was just beautiful. I stayed well clear of the tour operators who were charing about £1000 each for a 4 day stay over the same period. All in all we paid about £470 each for the week.

The wedding was organised over the internet with a company called FINTRAVEL who were impecable. Raoule - my Wedding Planner was an absolute gem and i can't thank him enough for making the ideas in my head become a reality.

The photographer was good and english speaking and we had the CD of all our photos before we left Lapland 2 Days later.

The Wedding DVD was done by a company called Lapland Memories LTD and i was nervous at first about seeing the finished product as is any vain woman - but the DVD is 1st class and it arrived in time for us to show it at our wedding reception in the UK, 7 days later.

If you have read this far down my review i hope that i have helped you decide to have your wedding here - it is magical.

If you would like any other info on what we did - like our wedding night in the ice cabin at the Artic Circle or Santa Village then get in touch.

I have added some pictures but if you would like to see our DVD please feel free to message me and i will send you the link.

Enjoy X

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
35  Thank Cezy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews