We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A place to unwind in real comfort”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa dos Golfinhos

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Foz do Arelho, Leiria District, Central Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
Denise H
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“A place to unwind in real comfort”
Reviewed 7 November 2012 for a stay in August 2012

This villa was a family home and it shows-It is very spacious,decorated to a very high standard, in excellent taste, the paintings and sculptures are beautiful, games and DVDs were available for the children and the kitchen is particularly well equipped.
The setting is beautiful, particularly sitting by the pool looking out to Obidos Bay.
The nearby atlantic coast is dramatic, but children are safer swimming in the lagoon in warm shallow water.There are lots of places to visit, from historic Obidos to other spectacular beaches.
Local restaurants are not within walking distance, but prices were reasonable and we were always warmly welcomed. It is cold and wet here now,but as I write this it brings it all back- a holiday to remember.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having our own private pool
Liked least: Having to drive to the nearest restaurant
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2012
Thank you for the splendid review. It's great to know that Casa dos Golfinhos lives up to the expectations of our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbc_51
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A lovely villa in a stunning location”
Reviewed 25 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Before we travelled we were sent useful information about the area and about the villa itself. There is also a box file in the villa packed with leaflets and other useful information about the area, villa and its appliances. On arrival we were met by the Agent and quickly found our bearings. Its a beautiful area with some stunning beaches and interesting places to visit. Car hire is a must to get around.
The town of Foz do Arelho is about 5 minutes drive away with a couple of small supermarkets and a very good butchers (probably just that bit far to walk but very easy drive along the lagoon). Stretching along the beach we found a lovely seafood restaurant (don't be afraid to choose fish by the kilo - we shared the sole and were not disappointed and pleasantly surprised by the price too! There were a couple of other restaurants in Foz that also served good food at reasonable prices. The beach bar right at the end of the road and onto the beach is a must to watch the sun set.
The small village of Nadadoru is less than 20 minutes walk away and we found a very traditional family restaurant (Dos Amigos) which was good food and extremely cheap! If you choose to eat in, the villa's kitchen is well equipped with plenty of pots and pans.
The villa is very spacious with a huge lounge area which opens out on to a balcony with stunning views and definitely lends itself to a g&t before dinner! The two main bedrooms also had lovely views and plenty of storage space. The bathrooms were nicely done and there was always plenty of hot water.
Although we didn't spend a great deal of time in the pool (despite the fact we were there in August - unusual weather patterns!) the pool and decking area are nicely done and there are plenty of sun loungers plus table and chairs.
The area is known for its waves and surf and therefore wind! The beach just north of Peniche is great for surfing and people watching! We bought a wind break for the beach which we left at the villa, so we advise you seek it out and take it with you, its a must!
We had a lovely holiday and would definitely recommend the villa and the area and hopefully will visit again.
Top tip - don't leave your washing on the rotary line in the evening - the garden sprinklers will get it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Surrounding area, villa and views
Liked least: Nothing really stands out - liked it all
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2012
Thanks very much for the review. It is very encouraging to receive positive comments about Casa dos Golfinhos and the surrounding area. The "top tip" is also a great piece of advice for future guests - lol! We hope to welcome you again on a future holiday to the Silver Coast of Portugal.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William T
Northampton
1 review
“Top Class”
Reviewed 12 February 2012 for a stay in September 2011

Stayed in the villa last year, sorry for late review.
The whole family really enjoyed our stay at this fabulous villa. It was approximatley 45 minute drive from the airport but the route was straight forward and directions given were excvellent.
Once there we quickly settled in and everything you need for a family stay is in the villa. It is obvious that the owners take pride in the villa and use it a lot themselves.
The loaction for us was perfect as we like quiet holidays away from ther hustle and bustle, but there are bars and restaurants not too far away and we found the local food to be reasonably priced and good quality.
You can just about walk to local supermarket but a lot easier if you have a car.

We were met on arrival by the agent with the key so no delays in getting in and settled.

Views were superb. For the more adventurous the lagoon has sports activities, but we found the kids just loved staying around the pool all day, but we did get out and explore the area and there are some lovely places to visit.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our chill out break here and would highly recommend to anyone else.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: swimming pool for kids and wonderful views
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2012
Thanks very much for the review, glad you enjoyed your stay. We do have guests who come to Casa dos Golfinhos, then return again for another holiday; this is a good indicator that we're doing something right. We're proud of the fact that the reviews we've received so far are positive.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2012 for a stay in June 2010

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location, swimming pool, nice locals.
Liked least: Nothing really !
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Jan 2012
Thanks for the review; glad you mentioned the water park which is called "Sportagua" near Peniche, just along the coast.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2011 for a stay in May 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Superb swimming pool for the family
Liked least: Difficult to find fault on anything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Jan 2012
Thanks very much. It's really encouraging to receive positive reviews. As always we strive to make sure that all guests staying at Casa dos Golfinhos have the best possible holiday experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing