We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (731)
Filter reviews
731 results
Traveller rating
434
219
48
21
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
434
219
48
21
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nautical theme port wine gamla stan old town sea captain dark chocolate ship models two sinks lord nelson quaint hotel washing machine private sauna lady hamilton perfect location royal palace each evening easy walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 731 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

Great little hotel right in the heart of old town. It's walking distance to what must be hundreds of restaurants. The hotel rooms are fairly large with good amenities. The room was a bit warm when we were there, but the windows opened to let in some cooler air. The AC struggled to cool the room, but the open windows did the trick. My only negative comments are that there was no shelf in the shower to put your shampoo and soap.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MrPat4642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

The location of the hotel is great, in the heart of old town Gamla Stan, a few steps from the metro, cafes and restaurants. The hotel itself is decorated in old/marine style with a lot of details and collected items. ( if you like modern it is not the place for you) It is cosy but feels like a more wintery atmosphere.
Make sure you check which room you are getting from the hotels web site. We were first in a small double room and it was very tiny- including the bed. We upgraded later to a more normal sized room, still small by other standards. There are larger alternatives but check which one you are getting.
There was complimentary wine service in the afternoons- a nice gesture. The breakfast selection is good but it is served in a dark cellar like area, which is not enjoyable in the summer (again in winter it would be nice). The hotel has a nice Italian restaurant/bar in the courtyard which has a lovely setting and very good food.
The bathrooms are charmingly decorated, I loved the tiles. One improvement suggestion would be to put a rack or a shelf within the shower. It sounds like a very small detail but you struggle with the tiny shampoo bottles and spill them!
All in all it was a nice holiday.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank Selen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mats B, Ägare at Victory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2016

Dear Selen,

Thank you so much for your review! Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you also had time to visit out courtyard restaurant! Regarding the missing shelf in the shower it has been orderer and will be put in place any day now. We are looking forward to your next stay.
Best regards from all of us at Victory Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

Comfy beds, great location , great breakfasts. Staff kind attentive and helpful with dinner suggestions etc. Wifi not so great. Couldn't get it to work in our room despite asking many times. One other suggestion. That they remove all the elephant and rhino tusk on display. Hopefully the world is moving on and does not want to see that sort of thing. They have amazing other treasures and I'm sure the horn would not be missed by the public.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Pakiripost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mats B, Ägare at Victory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2016

Dear Pakirpost,
Thank you for your great review. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I am so sorry that you were not able to get WIFI working on your device. Our WIFI was up and running but in vey rare cases there are security settings in guests devices that causes problems to connect. I am really sorry that we were not able to help you with that.
Regarding the Scrimshaws that you thought was Elephant or Rhino tusk is actually handiworks made from byproducts from whaling, like teeths or bones from sperm whales. They were engraved by whalers during 1700 -1800.

Best regards from all of us at Victory Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016

My husband and I ended up at this hotel after the hotel we had booked and prepaid said they did not have a room for us. We could not be more happy. The ambiance, room, breakfast and service could not be better. The staff did far more than expected to make sure we were satisfied. But not only they did that for us, we noticed they did the same for the other guests. We stayed there only one night as we were catching a cruise the next day. That night they even brought a port wine with two glasses to our room - totally unexpected. The following day we woke up very early and asked the lady at front desk for a place to have coffee (their restaurant was not open yet) and she immediately got fresh coffee for us. We needed a taxi to get to the port but it was difficult because there was a Thrialon going on. Well the gentleman at front desk went far and beyond to get taxis for all the guests. Room very comfortable and clean. Bathroom very beautifully appointed and great shower. Enough said - we recommend this hotel very highly.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ileana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mats B, Ägare at Victory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2016

Dear Ileana,

Thank you so much for your kind words! We loved having you with us and we hope to see you back soon!

Best regards from all of us at Victory Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2016

The staff was great--super helpful for booking a special restaurant for our anniversary during the Midsommar holiday weekend when much was closed. Always very smiley and cheerful at the front desk.

The decor makes it feel like you are on a naval ship--each room is named after a captain and there are naval antiquities everywhere. My husband loved it. I'm more into clean Scandinavian design so it wasn't as much my cup of tea but I'm not giving it any demerits for that since that's my personal preference. I think some of the rooms could do with a bit of freshening up--we had a CD player in our room which I can't imagine is really still relevant and there were a few stains on the carpet/scuffs on the wall. Nothing major, though.

Location is great--right near everything but still manages to be quiet. I would definitely recommend but just know you feel like you're in an antique shop inside so you expect as much!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank geokate84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mats B, Ägare at Victory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2016

Dear Geokate84,
Thank you for your greta review! I am happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel, our service and our vast collection of antiques! We, just like you ,love design. The Victory Hotel is far from traditional Scandinavian design, but we love all kinds of design as long its made with love and passion!
We hope to see you back soon!

Best regards from all of us at Victory Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews