We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Save
  
Ways to Experience Hamurana Springs Nature Reserve
from US$62.32
More Info
from US$107.22
More Info
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
403 results
Traveller rating
258
76
16
12
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
258
76
16
12
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clear water redwood grove lovely walk beautiful scenery ducks rotorua walks nz
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 403 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2019

Yes it is expensive at 18$ pp, but we spent a wonderful 2 hours wandering around the walks which are just so beautiful. The Spring is mesmerising and the waters do clear and lovely, I think these springs are more beautiful and extensive than those in Golden Bay ( S Island), which admittedly are free, but you can't picnic there, you can here! Clean toilets. Plenty of parking. Signage need some attention as we didn't find it easily. I appreciate is is expensive, especially for families. Perhaps thee could be more reductions for families and locals? As a tourist I thought it was good value for money.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank DrMaggieBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 February 2019 via mobile

This place is very beautiful but the price is exaggerated ! We payed 18 NZD per adult for a 30 minutes walk in a forest and near a creek... I will really disappointed ! There are so many free walks in NZ so I advice you not to go there.

Date of experience: February 2019
4  Thank voyagerenphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 February 2019 via mobile

I visited this several times when I was younger and it was fantastic - when it used to be free.

Since being returned to Ngati Rangiwewehi in a 2015 Waitangi Treaty Settlement, they now charge a ridiculous $18 per person. The tracks and walkways are already there, so there's no justification for such a steep price for maintenance. Even the locals discount of $30 for a family is too much. Locals should be free.

I certainly won't be back as long as the tariff remains. There's so many free walks and other paid attractions that offer better value for money.

Date of experience: February 2019
7  Thank stut254
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 February 2019 via mobile

$54 for 3 of us. I did this walk many times when it was free. I agree a maintenance charge is needed but it is a half hour park walk! Not unlike many other beautiful NZ park walks that are free and it should be around $5 p.p. I have seen so many bad feedbacks sive it became paid that I hope they listen and reduce that price to something more in line with whats on offer.

Date of experience: February 2019
4  Thank Ann7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 February 2019

Apart from the $18 per person entry fee, this is a beautiful nature walk. The redwood trees are great (even though at about a hundred years old they are youngsters). The clarity of the water is outstanding.
This is a very restful walk through the trees.
But the price is just silly.

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank LXdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews