We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Save
  
Ways to Experience Hamurana Springs Nature Reserve
from US$62.32
More Info
from US$107.22
More Info
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
403 results
Traveller rating
258
76
16
12
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
258
76
16
12
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clear water redwood grove lovely walk beautiful scenery ducks rotorua walks nz
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 403 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2018

I love this walk, and I don't mind paying the locals rate for it. Would i pay the full price? Probably. It is quieter than a lot of the other tourist places and the beauty is outstanding. Crystal clear water, peace and quiet - no where better for a Sunday morning stroll.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank k2512b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful hidden area. The Californian Redwoods are stunning and the peaceful riverside walk takes you to a unique hidden spring that is simple beautiful. The waters are stunning. I appreciate there has been controversy over there now being a charge to visit but this is private land and beautifully maintained which costs money so, as tourists, we were happy to pay and support this. Kani was very friendly and welcoming.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank 292nickig
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 March 2018

This is on the north side of the lake, opposite from the main town, but it's really worth visiting. You can easily spend a couple of hours strolling through this reserve, and there are also picnic tables on the secondary trail. Parking is convenient. Although in theory you can make a circle around the springs counterclockwise, the left side (by the golf course) is really not very scenic. Instead, go up to the headwaters, then comeback through the secondary trail. You can also visit nearby Okere Falls which is about 15-20 minutes away. Then come back into town and enjoy a nice meal on Eat Streat.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Vance C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

We got the recommendation to do this walk from a kiwi-friend as he said it was free of charge. As we entered we were at first surprised that it now costs 18$. But as Kani explained us, that the maori just recently got their Land back from the crown (after 100 Years) and that this is a very important place for the maoris we agreed on it and the money was totaly worth it!
Beautiful walk trought big redwood trees and along beautiful springs with astonishly clear water and dancing sand springs, just breathtaking.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank thomase399
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 March 2018

The gem of a place is amazing, this is the third time i've been here. it never ceases to amaze. The clarity of the water is something stunning, being a small walk it can be fitted in with other stuff, or it can be enjoyed for as long as you like. Yes it now costs, but so do many other things.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Early2Rise1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews