We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of THE OLD OLIVE MILL

Beautiful secret garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful secret garden
Old Olive Mill Entrance Entrance and stairs to mezzanine master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Beautiful secret garden
Old Olive Mill Entrance
Entrance and stairs to mezzanine master bedroom
Fully fitted kitchen and dining area
beautiful farmhouse kitchen
Lounge with open kitchen and dinning area
Cosy lounge with seating for all
TV, DVD, CD & Surround Sound
Cosy Log Burner For The Winter
Desk area
Day bed for afternoon siesta
View of the villa
Pool with aqua jet endless swimming machine
Relaxing area to watch the children playing!
Private garden - safe for the children to play
Jacuzzi to chill out
barbecue area with seating for 8 guests
Barbecue area
Barbecue area
Gas barbecue for alfresco dining
Window looking into garden
Beautiful bougainvillea
Shade under the orange trees
Shady sun bathing area under the orange trees
Garden
Mezzanine master king size bedroom
Sky light in master bedroom for star gazing
Master bedroom with Juliet balcony
Down stairs king size annexe bedroom with ensuite bathroom
Down stairs king size annexe bedroom
Upstairs king size annexe bedroom with ensuite and balcony
Upstairs king size bedroom with ensuite and balcony
Ensuite bathroom with shower
Relaxing Corner!
All day sun on the roof terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Pathfinde...
1 review
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 19 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

As everyone else has said, the Old Olive Mill is every bit as comfortable and lovely as it appears in the photos. John, who lives next door, takes care of the villa for the owners, and he and his family were of tremendous help throughout our trip, in dealing with our little adversities like parking tickets, dead batteries, a night time pharmacy run, printing boarding passes, etc., etc. Maroulas is a traditional small village with fascinating, Venetian and Turkish architecture, and a marvelous view of the Aegean Sea far below. There are several tavernas- Mylopetra, Taverna Katrina, Taverna Fantastico- all of which serve flood that is fresh from their gardens and flocks, and is uniformly delicious, The people of Maroulas could not have been nicer or friendlier. If you are looking for a peaceful and serene holiday to rest up from the stress of modern life, I highly recommend Maroulas and the Old Olive Mill.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennyhu20...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to relax”
Reviewed 21 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The Old Olive Mill is stunning - beautifully converted and decorated whilst keeping all the character of the building. It was even better than we had expected and I can't rate this place highly enough. Jill and Mark (the owners) happened to be staying in the village when we arrived and were extremely welcoming and friendly. The village is beautiful, rustic and authentic and all the locals we met were really friendly. We have two children (5&6 yrs) and the Olive Mill was ideal for them too. The living space and bedrooms are all very spacious and the outside area is beautiful, perfect for relaxing and BBQing. We tried three of the local tavernas and I would recommend them all. We hope to go back and visit the Old Olive Mill again one day. Perfect holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike F
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 2 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Our second stay at The Old Olive Mill was even better than the previous. A beautiful building in a superb setting. The village of Maroulas is idyllic and an excellent base for exploring Crete. I can't recommend the villa highly enough

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison R
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent property, good location and lived up to good reviews”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Well appointed, spacious and characterful property and worked well for 2 families. A good plunge pool although too small for swimming, but excellent beaches 20 minute drive away. Many places of local interest, cultural and active although car essential but all within relatively easy driving distance. Good choices of places to eat both within village and in local area and easy to self cater and use local shops.
Excellent choice for both younger and older children and enough to entice a return visit.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy O
Eton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a beautiful place to stay, this place has it all- stunning views and wonderful local places to eat and drink. The hosts were so friendly and the accommodation was faultless in its rustic charm. We can’t wait to book a return visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Every thing was made easy, we could just relax from the start
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing