We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“brilliant time had by all”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Knossos Estate

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
92 reviews
Pool
The kiosk
The playground
Panoramic views
Barbecue
Wheelchair ramp
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 92 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Norwegian first
Swedish first
Any
English first
pauline m
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“brilliant time had by all”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

we stayed at knossos villa 13th to 20th sept 2013 on arrival we was in awe it is a beautiful villa we were greeted by helen the manager who proceded to tell us aboat the villas facilities which was very informantive we was introduced to manos the villas caretaker and was told anything we needed manos was there 24 - 7 there was 11 of us and 1 baby there was plenty of space and we never felt cramped the garden and pool area was lovely also bbq and childrens play area manos could not be more helpful and his wife maria one night cooked us all a meal at very reasonable price we all had a fantastic time and would love to return one day

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2013
Hello Alan,
I would like to thank you for booking and staying in Knossos Estate, as well as for your favorable review.
I am really very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your holiday in our villa. It gives me great safisfaction to know that not only the facilities but also the personnel of the villa lived up to your expectations.
I will send your greetings to Helen, Manos and Maria.
Of course I would be very happy to welcome you again in our villa.
Best regards,
the owner
Dr Nikolaos Sertedakis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashley_en...
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 11 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

What an amazing holiday. I travelled with 15 others to Knossos Estate for our friends wedding down in the Old Port of Rethmynom.
On arrival at the villa we were greeted by Helena the owner who gave us a brief but insightful welcome to the villa and provide some information into the area. We were also introduced to Manos the villa caretaker.
The villa is stunning, the website doesn't do it justice. The pool and the surrounding area was perfect for sunbathing, relaxing and having fun with it getting sun all day. The town and beaches were only a 5 min taxi ride away (7/8euro between 4 of us) and a small cafe/shop was only a 5 min walk away ideal for the basics during the day. I was cheaper to eat out in the local town then cook for ourselves.
We were spoilt by Manos. Whenever we required supplies (soft drinks, beer etc) we were able to ask him and he delivered 30 minutes later. For lunch the villa had details of a local takeaway that was reasonably priced and delivered for free. One evening Manos and his wife cooked us an amazing BBQ with a selection of meats and greek dishes.

As I mentioned before the website doesn't do the villa justice. With only a short ride to town, the local shop and also what is offered via Manos this really does add to the experience of staying at Knossos Estate.

A most for any large groups of friends looking for a chilled out holiday with the option of some lively nights down in the town.

Never going to forget my week here, thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool area and service provided by the caretaker
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2013
Hello Ashley

I am really happy to hear that you and your guests had a lovely stay in our villa,our greetings to everyone and we really hope to see you and your guests again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edimitri
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect place for families”
Reviewed 27 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
4
people found this review helpful

We had a fantastic time at Knossos Estate. The villa is well appointed and large enough for our party of 12. We were traveling with four young children who loved the pool. Helen (owner) was a fantastic host and could not do enough for us. The town of Rethymno is lovely and had great restaurants (ask Helen for recommendations). The beach is not within walking distance, but you would need a hire car if you are staying here so that is not a problem. We had a great time and would recommend it to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool and view
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2013
Hello Ashley

I am really happy to hear that you and your guests had a lovely stay in our villa,our greetings to everyone and we really hope to see you and your guests again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good, but needs to be upfront about distance to the beach”
Reviewed 17 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
6
people found this review helpful

The villa is large and well appointed, with kitchens and living rooms on both floors, so they can be split into two flats or just used as extra amenities. Cold and hot water comes from a filtration machine, which saves time, money and inconvenience. The maid comes most days, and her husband is often onsite and can get you beers etc which are in a storeroom. The views are also great, with mountains to the rear and the ocean and town to the front. There’s a small general store at the end of the road selling a weird combination unhealthy pastries, cat food, groceries and expensive booze. We did most of our shopping in Carrefour in town.

Its location means you’ll need a car or prepare to stump up 8 euros a time to go to the town. As you can see on Google Maps, it’s simply not 1 km from the beach as advertised on its website. As the crow flies it’s 2.5km, but you can’t walk or drive that way so it’s a minimum of 7km to what looks like an EU-funded beach in the town, with its catering infrastructure, consistent paving, incongruous palm trees and imported sand.

There are nice beaches with food and loungers 20 km to the west, and a lovely cove with a taverna at about 15km. It’s a longer schlep to the East, but that part’s probably best done by boat from Bali. I’d recommend getting a catamaran for the skipper’s local knowledge.

The villa is technically close to a taverna, but visiting it requires crossing a busy motorway junction which is sketchy enough by car, let alone foot. Cretans are famously appalling drivers and we saw many accidents and near-misses relating to people coming in hot off the motorway and not coming to a stop until the nose of their car was halfway across a perpendicular lane of traffic, so think twice before venturing out on the roads in or on insubstantial vehicles. This is relevant to the villa because you will need to budget for transport. Even though we had a minibus, we used 3 cabs a minimum of once a day for 7 days because it’s nice to have a drink, so that’s more than 170 Euros.

There are actually two villas at the estate, no more than 10 metres apart, so you may have company in the evenings, but we experienced no issues with this – it’s just a little disappointing because you were expecting something else.

We got a briefing when we first arrived, which was half useful and half sales pitch. My favourite was a "special offer" for us of nails done for 5 Euro which, when we got there, was on an a-frame sign outside as the standard rate. If I'd add anything, it'd be shop in Carrefour, head West to the nicer beaches, tour the East by boat, consider a day in the mountains South, seek out the last restaurant to the West in the strip in front of the Fortrezza, don't expect the cashpoints to necessarily be working, get two hire cars for larger groups and try the Rose if you want a reasonable drop of wine.

I'd also mention that the town is 75-90 minutes drive from Heraklion airport, so don't contemplate a late flight without factoring this in. Many of the smaller shops do stay open pretty late, but this would be pushing it. You also need to allow lots of time for Greek bureaucracy at the airport - you queue to compulsorily check in, then queue to x-ray your hold luggage, then queue to have your passport checked, then queue for security, then queue at the gate then queue to get on the plane. The whole thing's a waste of about two hours that you could have spent buying food, beer and perfume but they've really not figured out how to run an efficient and profitable operation. As everywhere, the airport is hopelessly overstaffed but does nothing fast or well.

People seem pretty desperate for cash in Crete at the moment. Political instability and worldwide economic meltdown has led to a dearth of tourists just when it needs the most cash inputting. Whilst it’s easy to see that there’s a lot of overstaffing, which means staff often loaf lazily around when they could usefully be serving you, fundamentally the experiences we enjoyed were the ones which exceeded our expectations, and the disappointments came from being fed some BS intended to mask a negative aspect of the service. This villa achieved both.

All in all, it’s a great construction and they try hard to compensate, but they need to be upfront about its hidden costs in terms of time, money and amenity to avoid bad reviews.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well appointed, good maid/pool boy service
Liked least: Advertised as 1km from beach, actually 7km minimum and by busy road
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2012
Hello Sophie Young & Chris

I am really happy to hear that you liked the Villa and that you were very thankful in many occasions in your review, that you were able to be assisted with buying your booze for you and your guests, because the truth is that you were all drunk everyday. I just want to inform the people that are going to read this review for the type of quality that you had.The Villa is classified in the 5* Villas and it is worth over 1 million euro so i believe you and your friends were able to live a dream holiday considering the money you paid was next to nothing.As for Crete having an economic crisis like you stated, i thought you should know that Crete is # 1 Island in tourism for over 15 years and everyone loves the people , beach and service they get, that's why they keep coming back. As for the beach in Rethymno Crete it is the biggest and longest sandy beach in Europe.As for the Villa it is completely private with a swimming pool 100m2 big which you normally dont find even in a hotel. As for the distance Rethymno is a 20-25 minute walk away, the reason you never used your minibus or walked was because you were always drunk.As for the house keeping the lady she had to come in everyday and clean and after you and your group left i had 4 ladies cleaning the house and the booze from everywhere.I am sorry i wasn't able to assist you and your group when you told me you want to be a bit notty and you are looking for some cocaine and heavy drugs. My husband is a doctor and i am a business lady we dont associate with things like that, sorry if disappointed you, but we are against drugs.So maybe Greece is not the best destination for you and your friends.I am sorry i had to say the truth but you left me with no other choice, but i am sure it wont bother you because you seem to be vey proud of the lifestyle you have. We prefer more natural products here in Greece like olive oil ,fresh oranges and a glass of Cretan wine with dinner. My Greetings to everyone from Sunny Crete.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggansko...
Hofors, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing