We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
12
2
0
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
2
0
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews traditional village the owner mountains accommodation fridge
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

My wife and I chose to stay in the villa on the advice of a Greek friend who had stayed there the previous year. It was the best experience of many great experiences in Greece. Manolis and his wife Maria were wonderful hosts. The villa was traditional made modern and very beautiful. The view from the mountains was wonderful. It is a steep drive to the village of Anatoli, which had been mostly deserted during the 1960's as people moved to the coast for work but is now being restored although there are a number of old houses still deserted which makes for a wonderful atmosphere. The first night Manolis barbecued lamb and pork chops with salad and homemade raki. Breakfast was yoghurt and homemade granola bread and jams with fresh squeezed orange juice-wonderful. After breakfast my wife and I drove to the coast for some beach time. That evening Maria made a moussaka to die for. The baking tray was so heavy Manolis strained to lift it. After dinner, several friends of the family joined as and one of them, Adonis, brought his guitar which he has been playing for 60 years and treated us to traditional Greek music. Maria taught my wife and I traditional Greek dancing. Manolis speaks some English but Maria speaks none. Despite this we laughed and seemed to understand each other. We felt very special and privileged to be a part of this evening and to feel part of their group. All in all I cannot recommend this more highly.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank starmaker10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The positives:
Nice and super clean rooms, fully equipped, decorated with care.
Great view from the balcony.
Friendly owner.
Bicycles available upon rquest
Nice scenery in this quiet, nearly deserted, village and the forests around it.

The negatives:
According to our booking, breakfast in the room was included. However instead of a breakfast we found in our room a few oranges and a couple of pears, slices of guda cheese and ham, 2 cups of Fage yoghurts, a pack of toast bread, a few portions of butter and honey and a bag with Greek coffee powder. We thought that the variety and the quantity were rather limited for a 3 nights' stay of 4 persons, especially if you think that we should drive more than 12 km until we found a place where we could buy some proper bread and additional food.
The area around the hotel is very quiet and "green". But the options you have for everyday shopping and eating are amazingly limited. The village is deserted, there is not even a little store or a taverna. The closest other village is 10 km difficult driving away but even there don't expect to find much more.

In general, be prepared for all the positives and negatives of staying in such a remote place

Room Tip: Come with a lot of supplies as there is nothing in the area around the hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Giorgos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

If you want to experience the Greek culture, you have to come here to stay for a night. The food is tremendous and the hosts are so friendly. The pictures on trip advisor show just how nice this place is. The views are also wonderful.

The family run villas are completed in 5-star quality. It was such a relaxing place to stay, I wish I could have stayed there longer. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grepthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

On our third holiday in Crete we thought we might like to try a quiet inland village that is still not too var inland for a refreshing dip on a beach after a day of visiting and touring. Anatoli meets this requirement, twenty minutes' drive from Ierapetra and Mirtos on the South coast and the Libyan Sea in sight, plenty of walks in the mountains, within driving range to Lasithi, etc. So the location was going to be OK. The big asset of our five days in Anatoli proved to be the accommodation at Diktynna Villas, though.
The traditional house (we were in 'Gaia'), an old house, beautifuilly rebuilt by the owner, was equipped with all you may need on a shorter or longer stay. the quality of all furnishings was striking: high quality furniture, kitchen equipment, TV, DVD-player, sound equipments, Wi-Fi, etc. Nothing left to be wished there.
As for the human factor: we choose not to speak of "service", but rather prefer to describe our experience at Diktynna villas as cordial hospitality taken to a highly professional level: from a warm welcome by the owner and his wife to thoughtful attention for all you need or like (option for dinner on the evening of arrival, invitation for a drink, a couple of Meze sponaneously offered while you are having a drink on the verandah, a plateful of fruit, etc). All of this is managed without the slightest intrusion on the calm and privacy you seek. The lack of fluent English - or any Greek from our part - in communication was very much made up for by a warm presence (and by the assistance of the student daughter who happened to be there while we stayed).
The rooms in Gaia are spacious and well furnished, rather dark, to keep the sun out. The apartment has two verandahs with splendid sea view, which is handy when you have to consider the heat of the sun or the force of the sea winds.
When - on leaving - we were almost pressed into stating what we thought could be improved, we were almost at a loss to say anything.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Remy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We were planning for a bit of a treat when we booked at Diktyan Villas and we were not to be disappointed. Though the place was a bit tricky to find in this cozy village, once we got to there we discovered the fabulous owners had taken every step to make sure we felt welcome.

To start, our kitchen was fully stocked with every conceivable thing you would need to cook your own meals. Moreover, they had even been kind enough to load the freezer with ice, place a fresh watermelon in the fridge, and on the dining table sat plates of local almonds, raisins, peanuts, delicious apricots, and a pretty pitcher of raki!

Upstairs we were amazed to find the comfiest bed we had in all our travels of Crete flanked by a beautiful fireplace and with wonderful views of the village and down the mountain over the Libyan sea. If this were not enough, they had been also so thoughtful to have placed a smaller refrigerator in the bedroom for convenience and to have stocked the upstairs bathroom with a full line of Hermes bath products. Lastly, they had also placed some sun loungers on the roof so we could enjoy the peace while stargazing at night or get in some sunbathing with a good book during the day.

The best was yet to come though as we were invited to their taverna for a drink after we unpacked. Instead of a quiet drink we were invited to join the owners and their friends on the terrace where we were treated to true Greek hospitality. Out came plates of mezedhes heaped with local veggies and roasted meats all washed down with seemingly bottomless carafes of a wine one of their guests had made himself. While we could not speak much Greek and their level of English was limited at times, we pieced together some great conversations and ended up laughing well into the night. We were embarrassed to find when we checked out that the owners refused to accept a penny for anything we had consumed during our stay and true to Greek hospitality rebuffed any such offer with a hand gesture and a smile.

In sum, my only regret is that we could not have stayed here for a week to have spent more time in this wonderful place. It feels comforting to know that places like this still exist in the world when I could be taken back to the quaint villages of my childhood without all the worries of modern world. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a good base to explore the region whether you are interested in hiking along the beautiful mountains or just driving up and down the southern coast to relax on the many nearby beaches.

Note: when arriving, park in the main square by the church and walk down a series of steps (down, then take a right down a pedestrian street, then your first left) and you will see signs for the place.

Room Tip: rooms really vary depending on what type of group you are...talk to the owners before arrival and they will make sure that you have the time of your life!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Confused_ExpatHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews