We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Position perfect!”
other travellers have booked this property
View from top balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from top balcony
View leaning over lower balcony railing View from lower balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
View from top balcony
View leaning over lower balcony railing
View from lower balcony
Another balcony view
4th floor
3rd floor
The apartment is on the left, the Acropolis in the distance
The apartment is on the right hand side, just across the road from this cafe
An Athens tour bus passes by
An Athens tour bus stops to pick up only 20 metres from the apartment
The motor train picks up just 20 metres from the apartment then heads for the Plaka
One of the nearby traffic-free roads
Another nearby traffic-free street
Lots of places to enjoy a quiet lunch
Thissio metro station is 2 minutes walk away
Archaeological sites begin a minute's walk away
An excellent view of the Acropolis only 2 minutes walk from the apartment
The pedestrianised road towards the ancient Keremeikos cemetary and the Gazi night club area
Monastiraki Square
The ancient agora
The famous Sunday flea market starts just across the street
Traffic free shopping streets are around the corner
One of dozens of nearby cafe bars
Another traditional cafe bar and still no cars
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Athens, Attica

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
dace452
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Position perfect!”
Reviewed 6 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

From the very start of our booking we had great communication with Chris and felt in safe hands. The apartment is in a fabulous location very close to all the major sights and restaurants with views of the Acropolis and Temple of Hephaestos , a great plus! The area can look a little daunting as there is a lot of graffiti and as other people have said the kitchen is too small to cook in. However, we had exceptional service: we were picked up from the airport, Achilleas came the next morning to check we were ok and to show us how to get to all the sights. He had tickets ready for the 3 Islands cruise and there was lots of information for us. The apartment is clean and comfortable, lots of space and 2 great balconies, we had a fabulous time there, thanks Chris and Achilleas!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, views and customer service
Liked least: Size of the kitchen
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2015
If only we had a way of enlarging the kitchen! Thanks, Dace, for mentioning your appreciation of some of the extra things we offer to try to make our guests' stays with us more relaxing and enjoyable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuliaGo
Oxford, UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous apartment, fabulous location”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This is an amazing property. The apartment itself is great, much more spacious than it appears from the photos, enough wardrobe space, comfy sofas and bed. The kitchen is pretty small but we mainly ate out so didn't really use it much. The view from the two balconies was simply stunning - lovely view of the Temple of Hephaistos and the Acropolis (the latter from the top balcony).

The location was also great. Just a few minutes walk takes you to some excellent restaurants and the Ancient and Roman Agora. It's also handy for the metro if you want to go further afield.

Finally, the owner Achilleas and his friend Chris couldn't have been more helpful, both before we arrived and during our stay. Before we arrived, Chris emailed us lots of information about the sites which helped us to organise our trip better. Achilleas met us at the airport (for a very reasonable price), took us to the apartment, and showed us how everything worked. The guest folder was packed with information and the wifi worked well. Chris even emailed to remind us that some sites would close early on Good Friday - little things like that make a real difference!

I would highly recommend this property - in fact, we're already plannnig a return visit as soon as we can!

Julia Goddard (we were a family of four - me, my husband, and our 11 and 14 year old children)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the view - it's in a great area, with lots of restaurants and cafes, and very close to the sites
Liked least: Really, honestly can't think of anything! I would say the stairs to the apartment (it's on the 3rd and 4th floor) but without the height there wouldn't be that great view!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2015
Thank you Julia for your very kind words. Thanks especially for reinforcing our claims that we offer our guests far more than just a place to stay. We can't wait to welcome you and your family back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meyer-Bel...
Pontrieux, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location, helpful owner”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We are a couple in our 50s and 60's and we stayed in the apartment for 2 weeks. It was long enough to explore the neighbourhood and really live in the apartment. We agree with the previous reviewer who gave a great many details about the place.
It is very conveniently located within 5 minutes walk to the Acropolis and 10 minutes to Athinas street where the market is. We liked being able to walk to the Agora every morning. We also liked the 2 terrasses (one on each floor). We were not bothered by the noise of the restaurants below (but stayed in the middle of March).
The only downside of the apartment is the impracticality of the kitchen - no place to store food except in the fridge and a tiny surface space. But the advert was clear about this and there are so many interesting, inexpensive places to eat out that cooking was not really a priority.

Achilleas offered to pick us up at the airport and this was very helpful. We would recommend to other to accept this offer. Getting back to the airport using the metro however was very easy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the helpfulness of the owner
Liked least: The kitchen
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2015
Thanks for your kind comments. We really would like to expand the kitchen but unfortunately there's no way we can do so. It's worth repeating that the kitchen in the apartment is not made for team working but it's pretty well equipped for one person to prepare a simple meal. Sorry, but gourmet chefs will need to find somewhere else to stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athanasio...
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Absolutely recommended.”
Reviewed 15 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We really enjoyed our stay in this accommodation in Athens. Everything was according to description and pics. Very helpful owner and manager. They gave us plenty of tips to make our stay even more comfortable. I should here mention that the heater may not always be adequate particularly as it can get wet and windy and rather cold in Athens in the winter months.
Otherwise we greatly enjoyed our stay and due to the ideally central location we were able to take advantage of the many opportunities central Athens has to offer. All in all very practical location combined with gorgeous views. We would happily return.

Travelling group: Freunden
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2015
Thanks Athanasio for taking the time to post your comments. We're just sorry that the heating wasn't always good enough. We thought we had solved that problem but we'll keep working on it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mellison1...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Central Athens apartment with great views”
Reviewed 11 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

If I could have rated the apartment 4½ I would have but Rating above does not allow you to fine tune it.

Achilleas and Chris were very attentive re giving advice and answering queries with Achilles picking up us at the airport for a reasonable charge. If you are booking this apartment, I'd advise that you make use of Achilleas' service.

First impressions of Leokoriou and the Psyrri quarter is that it is quite run down. Lots of graffiti [we were to discover much of central Athens is defaced with warts 'n' all graffiti] and junk shops [the grinding wheels of austerity/poverty though we came to admire the thrift and recycling spirit!] but there was nothing to worry about as everyone we met was kindness itself.

The apartment on Leokoriou had many plus points. There were clear views of the Temple of Hephaestus [stunning when lit up at night] and a good view of the Acropolis and Areopagus Hill [a must place to go for stunning views of the Acropolis and large parts of Athens].

The living room and bedroom were superb - spacious and comfortable. There were balconies at both rooms and if the weather was better it would have been sheer bliss relaxing in evenings over a few glasses of wine.

To have such excellent views comes at a price - there are 3 lights of stairs to climb. Fine if you are in good nick, but if you have any health concerns you would to factor this in your decision-making.

The security for the apartment was also excellent. We always felt safe. We did experience difficulty with the key to open the communal door to the street. It didn't work until after several minutes of rising concern I jiggled the key leaving a small gap between its hilt and shaft. The door opened to great relief and I've since been told this is a fairly common condition of cut copied keys.

The upstairs bathroom was fine. The downstairs toilet was a godsend to us!

The kitchen is a cramped L-shape. There was a new fridge/freezer and a microwave. Plenty of utensils and cutlery & crockery. Though the kitchen was functional, the main trouble we experienced was with the cooker. It is a fairly old electric cooker and all the markings for the hot plates, etc, had worn away. Through trial and error we found that to turn the hot plate knobs to 3 o clock position was the only way to cook [say, bring water to boil for pasta].

The cooker is very bulky and occupies the corner of the L-shape. Frankly a Baby Belling or table top cooker would be much more suitable.

The day we arrived in Athens it was very cold and attempting to snow. That night in the living room apartment we found it difficult to heat. Reason being is the living room is open-plan to an enormous stairwell that leads to the bedroom. The stairwell is about a third of the floorspace of the apartment! That was were all the heat was going.

I can understand open plan living room when the weather is good, but when it is cold there needs to be drapes that can be pulled to keep the heat were you want it.

Talking of heat, the heater/air conditioner takes a few minutes to kick in..so be patient.

Some other tips:
*use a Clarity credit card [it offers by far the best exchange rate] to get money out of the banks and only get Euros [otherwise the Greek banks will charge for the conversion]
*Most restaurants, etc, only accept cash [no point speculating why]
*Shopping for provisions in central Athens is like finding the proverbial needle. We went to Kallithea on Green Line 3 were there is a great Lidl directly beside the station
*take the funicular railway to top of Lykavittos Hill for outstanding views of Athens [and a lovely small Greek Orthodox chapel]
*buy a one day ticket and take tram [from side of Parliament] and see the flea and street markets and, further on, beaches [don't forget the de rigueur sunglasses!]
*eat in family-run restaurants outside and see the world pass by

We really enjoyed Athens and a big thanks to Achilleas and Chris for smoothing our way. It was a city of huge contrasts
- flash prosperity [around Kolonaki] and wretched poverty [around Monastiraki]
- full of ancient wonders [Parthenon/Odeon of Atticus/Stoa of Attalos and modern architectural dreariness [low-rise white apartment buildings as far as the eye can see]
- the outstanding fish market [and not forgetting the glorious salami/feta cheese/nut shops close by against majority of shops closed on Sundays
- the craft stall glories on Sundays at Grand Promenade, Thissio, against the relentless tacky trash along Adrianou
- the kite flying and comical costumes 'clean' weekend before the Greek Orthodox Easter
- pavement cafes' people watching against the absurd price of coffee

We returned home with lots of great memories.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2015
Thanks Michael for taking the time to post such a detailed review. We thought we had solved the heating problem following an earlier review but it seems not. We'll definitely work on that and we'll look closely at your suggestion for improving the cooker.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$37
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing