We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantanstic Home Away From Home!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
In the shadows of Acropolis.. The front door of the house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
In the shadows of Acropolis..
The front door of the house
A view of the roof garden
The sitting area of the roof garden
Another view of the roof garden
The main entrance of the house
The living room
A view of the living room looking at the main entrance of the house
A view of the living room looking at the main entrance of the house
Another view of the living room
Another view of the living room
The kitchen
The first bedroom in the main floor
Another view of the first bedroom in the main floor
The second bedroom in the main floor
Another view of the second bedroom in the main floor
The main floor bathroom
Another view of the main floor bathroom
The main floor WC
The upstairs bedroom
Another view of the upstairs bedroom
Another view of the upstairs bedroom
The upstairs bathroom
The upstairs bathroom with jacuzzi
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Athens, Attica

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
FG671
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantanstic Home Away From Home!!!”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

My family of six stayed here and we loved it! The owner Aris ensured everything we needed was available and was more than ready to assist us for anything we may have required. The rooms were spacious with full beds and the kitchen was fully stocked with appliances and dishes and the balcony was large enough for a small party! There was a full selection of books or DVDs for entertainment if needed. The home is situated almost center mass of all major sites making it easy to get around for site seeing. There is a convenient walk area with a bunch of restaurants and stores for shopping a short walk from the house as well. The key to this excellent home is its owner Aris. He coordinated for a taxi to pick us up and return us to the airport and on our first night (despite arriving later due to flights), he took us out to a local restaurant for a traditional Greek dinner that was delicious and affordable. The food was fantastic and he educated us on Greek cuisine and traditions for eating so we were better prepared when we ventured on our own. He even served as a tour guide giving us detailed histories on the sites we planned on visiting! Aris also gifted us with a bottle of Greek wine and had a bowl of fruits waiting for us in case we needed to eat prior to going to dinner. He was always available when we needed him which was fantastic when we had questions on how to get around. I would highly recommend him and the Acropolis Griffin House to anyone visiting Athens, Greece! We will definitely stay there on any return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of the home, the owner, and the fully stocked ammenities for our use.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompouswi...
Alstonville, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“'Greek Magic' - Wonderful Griffin House in Athens”
Reviewed 23 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

This unique property, situated at the foot of the Acropolis and near the Plaka, provided a wonderful 'home away from home' for our travel weary family. Aris, our host, organized our transport from Athens Airport, then welcomed us to Athens and 'Griffin House' like old friends. The welcome basket of Greek red wine made us feel so welcomed! He provided a tour of the house, showing us the facilities and how to use them, then whipped us off for a walking tour of the neighbourhood, providing expert advice on where to buy the best bread, yoghurt and honey (delicious!). Then off to a local taverna overlooking the illuminated Parthenon, where Aris taught us how to 'eat Greek' and why Greece is the cradle of western civilization. To say that the owner provides good customer service is an understatement. Aris' hospitality, advice and warm welcome is unique and an absolute bonus to the wonderful accommodation. Aris introduced us to the wide range of Greek vegetarian dishes, a great relief for our 3 vegetarian daughters! The listing and the photos provide a true reflection of this quality property which easily accommodated our family of 5. The house has been completely renovated and contains beautiful painted glass features and fragile objet d' art. There are stairs at the front entrance and a narrow winding staircase to the main bedroom. For this reason the property may not be suitable for families with very young children. We were amazed at how well located Griffin House is, only a short walk to the Plaka, the Acropolis, the Acropolis Museum, the metro station and many of the key archaeological sites in Athens. As well as a myriad of restaurants, bars and cafes, a supermarket, artisan bakery, fruit shop and specialist deli are only a few minutes walk away. A guided tour of the acropolis was well worthwhile, as was the 'hop on, hop off' bus tour of Athens (the bus stop is just round the corner!). We greatly enjoyed our visit to the National Archaeological Museum, the Temple of Olympian Zeus, The Agora and wandering the cafes and shops in the cobblestone lanes of The Plaka. The local people are warm, friendly and very welcoming. The food is unbelievably good and very reasonably priced. Whatever you do, don't miss the thyme honey from the island of Tinos. It's expensive, but you'll never forget the experience!
We have fallen in love with Athens and Greece. This was in no small measure due to the wonderful Griffin House and very special hospitality provided by Aris.
We will be back and would recommend this property most highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome, guidance, advice & hospitality of Aris (owner)
Liked least: Everything was great!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dinky_don...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great House, Great Location, Great Host”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Five of us (4 adults and 1 child) stayed in the Griffin House for 8 nights over New Year. We had a fantastic time in Athens and I would thoroughly recommend staying at the Griffin House. The house is in a great location and it is situated in a quiet street, very close to the Acropolis and other major sights, as well as being near to a number of restaurants and cafes and also the metro station and tour bus stop. The old (pedestrianized) area of Plaka is very handy too. The house was lovely and, very comfortable with plenty space for all of us. The standard of accommodation and amenities would beat many 4 star hotels. There is a fantastic roof terrace which we watched the fireworks on Hogmanay from. Last but not least, Aris (the owner) is an excellent and enthusiastic host and he is keen to make sure you have a great stay. The wine and fruit basket on arrival was a lovely touch, he also took time to point out the nearest bakery (fabulous – I could live there!) , supermarket and fruit shop as well as dining with us on our first night and ordering fabulous food at very reasonable prices. He is always available to help with any detail (including airport transfers) which may make your holiday more enjoyable. Thank you Aris for a lovely holiday and making our first visit to Greece memorable!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the house
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
notfromge...
Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful home in Athens, close to it all!”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Our family stayed in this home in November 2013 for a week. We always stay in apartments now, since we have two young children (there was even a baby bed for our 9 month old son). Aris made sure we knew where all of the important local shops were (bakery-a heavenly place; super market, fruit/veggie stand, restaurants). He even took us out our first night and helped us to understand the Greek ways a bit more. He was very helpful with any questions we ever had and was a wonderful host. The house is perfect with 3 rooms, 3 bathrooms, a kitchen, and beautiful patio. It is close to all of the important sites (Acropolis, Acropolis Metro stop, New Acropolis Museum, shopping). Simply by wandering around the area we found all kinds of hidden treasures of Athens. The proximity of the home to the Metro also helped get us to some of those farther out must see stops. If we ever have the chance to stay in Athens again, I know we will stay here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trelina
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beyond perfection!”
Reviewed 14 November 2013 for a stay in March 2013

My husband and I have recently returned from spending 2 wonderful weeks in March in Greece. We spent our first 4 nights in Athens in this spectacular home. It is beyond perfection. The owner has restored this home to such a high standard. It has 10foot ceilings, hardwood floors, beautiful artwork, modern bathrooms with designer fixtures and a fully equipped kitchen. It is so spacious, 3 bedrooms, 2 1/2 bathrooms, a large living area and a huge rooftop terrace with a BBQ grill and new outdoor furniture. TV is great with many English channels and there is also a large movie library. Wifi is easy and fast. The location is also choice being a 5min. walk from the Acropolis metro station. Easy access from the airport.

The owner, Aris, speaks perfect English and is very eager to make your stay perfect. He always responded immediately to my emails and was waiting for us when we arrived even giving us a tour of the neighborhood. You could not ask for a nicer, more personable man.

I also highly recommend Greece in March. We had 2 weeks of temperatures between 50-70 degrees with only 1day of rain. We travelled to Rhodes, Crete and Santorini and we saw very few tourists. The only negative was that some of the sights had shortened hours or were not yet open for the season. The Greek people were amazing, so friendly and helpful.

I highly recommend this home in Athens and would personally love to stay there again. An extraordinary home at a bargain price!
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$246
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing